We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the 2nd best hotel-springs in arenal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Probably the 2nd best hotel-springs in arenal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights of a 9-day vacation around costa rica and this place had the most activities/ things to do. We were bored out of our minds everywhere else even tho the scenary is nice at other locations....
Try the zip lining! So much fun and if your group is small theyll teach you tricks! Also it's worth the short drive to see the waterfall , or you can take a tour there on horseback. My favorite part was the wet bar in the hot springs. We booked this as part of a pre-packaged vaca, but right next door is te Baldi hotel which I would stay next time even tho it is more expensive. We went to Baldi for dinner once bc we weren't impressed with the food at Los Lagos, and Baldi was ah-maz-ing. The breakfast buffet at los Lagos was blah but free so better then nothing. The spa was Beautiful, I highly recommend getting a service! We got a couples massage and body wrap for $140, not too bad for 120min for 2 ppl.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    386
    131
    34
    26
See reviews for
340
301
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the middle of a 2 week stay in Costa Rica last winter. It was by far the worst hotel we stayed in during the entire trip. We should have known when we arrived and it was THE ONLY hotel in Costa Rica that did not welcome us with a glass of choice and wet towels. They continued by giving us arm bands and sending us on our way. It was also the only hotel that seemed to have an unhappy staff--discontent staff is a give away for an unpleasant experience. In checking out our rooms, we discovered coffee pot and no coffee. also, no tissues. Contacted office about this (what we thought was a slipup) and was told that there was a charge for coffee and a charge for tissues (only hotel in Costa Rica where we stayed with such a policy). One day our room was not cleaned at all. We were fortunate that we were gone most of the day but the experience put a pall on our trip. Fortunately there were fabulous places to follow!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

PROS
-Great customer service (Marilu was amazing)
-Great room rates
-Great drink prices
-Awesome water slides in the pools!!!!
-Family friendly (could be a pro or con!)
-Breakfast buffet included (it was good & I'm picky when it comes to what defines "good" food)

CONS
-Rooms are very basic & left a lot to be desired (but the price is right)
-Family friendly (could be a pro or con!)
-The "thermal pools" look like regular pools...there is no rainforest feel whatsoever, but the water is hot & feels good. I was disappointed in that you felt like you were just in a heated pool....not in hot spring water in Costa Rica.

Overall, I had a good experience & would recommend it to someone going during high season for sure ...or for a family with kids or for a family not wanting to spend a lot on drinks. However, since we went in low season we could've found a similar rate at a better hotel (such as Tabacon) and had a 5-star experience and thermal springs to die for!!

Make sure you eat off-site for lunch and dinner as they are lots of great, locally-owned restaurants that are an amazing Costa Rican experience!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A really beautiful property. The thermal springs were amazing, with a water slide and a swim up bar at the lower hot spring, and more secluded hot springs up the property. There are cold springs as well which was very refreshing. This hotel is located about a 5 minuet drive to the town of Fortuna ($10 cab fee each way) and sits at the base of the volcano. My wife and I spent most of the days out on day trips and we did not have a rental car. All of the trips picked us up at the hotel for no extra charge, so the lack of vehicle really did not affect us much. The staff at the front desk was great at setting up excursions for us and booking our transportation to our next destination. The complementary breakfast was really good and the open air dining area was even better. Our table was situated within the tree tops and we could watch birds and iguanas play in the trees as we ate. The dinner was a bit expensive for what it was, but this place is kind of "resort style", so that was not a huge suprise. We had a few issues with our room (including no water one morning and a soaking wet safe upon arrival), but the staff quickly took care of these issues. Over all, it was worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Hotel is gorgeous. I cant find one thing to complain abo.will definitely stay here again
Service was excellent,room huge,hot springs are wonderful addition. Grounds well kept. Breakfast buffet is delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first time to Costa Rica, Los Lagos property is lush with greenery. We had our wedding here which could not have gone any better. There is so much to do on the property that you really don't need or want to leave. We did a couples massage at the Spa that was so refreshing. The hot springs were so relaxing, they have several pools at various temperatures to suit your need. The staff did a great job making all the arrangements, we ended up at the overlook peering at a pretty lake and a fabulous view of the volcano. Our dinner was superb, Marilu arranged for a private dinner outside our room, under the gazebo with intimate ambiance consisting of candlelight, pretty flower arrangents and music playing in the background. The food was great. The staff was incredibly welcoming. We will definitely be back. If you're considering a wedding in Costa Rica do it here and ask for Marilu. She can help in Spanish or excellent English. She will do a great job with ALL the details.

Room Tip: Our room was convenient to the restaurant and pools, the scenery around the property is a photograph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a really beautiful property! Lots of things to do. Overall, really enjoyed our two-night stay. The most memorable things are the bathrooms in the rooms. Very nice hot showers with good pressure. Mini fridges in the rooms. The breakfast was amazing. I can't stop thinking about how pefect the eggs were. I know, they were just eggs, but yum!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.