We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Family Vacation in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed at Los Lagos for 2 nights with my family of 5 (3 teenagers) and loved our stay here. Nice having everything in one spot. The frog, butterfly and crocodile activities were nice extras for the kids. We stayed in a suite and had plenty of room. Although it is a walk to the pool and activites, we enjoyed it. Pool and slide were fun and the hot springs felt great. It can get a little crowded with visitors over the weekend but we were busy going to La Fortuna waterfall and Hanging Bridges (recommended), and we did an outside zip line tour with Arenal Mundo (also recommended). Breakfast was included and was good. I only wish there was coffee in the rooms!

Room Tip: We were in a suite to sleep 5 which was at the top of the property. Although a longer walk, we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    375
    130
    30
    26
See reviews for
331
294
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with our two sons, ages 4 and 6. They claim it is the best hotel they have ever stayed at. They enjoyed discovering the butterflies, frogs, ants, crocodiles and birds on site, but of course, the highlight for them was the amazing pools and waterslides. The grounds are beautiful and the view from our room was gorgeous. The reason I give it only 4 stars is our room, though clean with clean linens, was old and tired. The sink was chipped and leaked and the tub was chipped too. I asked if there were better rooms available for next time and she told me that we had a superior room so they are usually the best. That being said, we would still come back, knowing what to expect. The value was amazing. It included a good breakfast buffet. The restaurant was decent but far overpriced compared to the value and quality we found in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My wife and I have been to Los Lagos twice. The first time for our Honeymoon, the second time with our children and my mother. Both times were wonderful. The grounds are immaculate, they bring out the flora,wildlife, and Volcan Aeranal very well. The hot spring pools were wonderful, there are so many you can find one that's pretty secluded with out a problem which is very romantic. The water for the hot springs is 100% natural so it is great for you skin. They also have multiple swimming pools and a pool bar as well with great Pina Colados. We had a great honeymoon there.

When we came back with the whole family it was great as well. Everybody loved it and wanted to return. They have fun watersides for the kids, zip lining, and a little wildlife refuge on site. It was great, and a very good value as well. I highly recommend Los Lagos for your stay in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a clear view of the Volcano, it is cloudy over the peak most of the time so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We didn't stay at Los Lagos, so cannot comment on the rooms. The pools were great, though, and we enjoyed the butterflies and flowers. The first time, the kids wanted to go ziplining again, and while it wasn't very high or long, it was fun for them. The second time we visited, there was a group of high school kids who pretty much took over the place and it was not pleasant, but that wasn't the fault of the management. The food was good, service excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen CO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

A friend and I were staying at a working farm about a half-hour away, but our host made sure we knew that Los Lagos was the best recreational value in the La Fortuna area. Great package for zip lining, spa, pool, and the zoo features here. Great staff. We stayed all day - much longer than we planned. A really great all-in-one stop.

The zip line (or Canopy) was a lot of fun, in a small group, and very attentive guides. About a dozen runs in all, ending back at the pool. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We traveled with our 13 year old son here and he had a blast with all of the great water slides and the pools. This place is like a spa with all different temp pools to hang in. In the afternoon when it rained, we would hang out in the swim up bar in the warm pool and sip cool drinks until the clouds cleared. The grounds are pretty and there is plenty to do. The rooms are very adequate - just clean hotel rooms but with nice views.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is the perfect hot springs hotel to stay at if looking for something nice and reasonably priced. Many of the hot springs hotels in the area are quite expensive, and Los Lagos is fairly priced with a beautiful resort feel. The room was basic, but exactly what we needed. The shower was luke warm - not hot, and the wi fi does not work in the room. The grounds have a small "zoo" with crocodiles, iguanas and butterfly conservatory. I traveled with two other friends - all in our twenties - and we loved it. The hot springs were amazing. One had a wet bar, and this same bar had delicious food for lunch or dinner and good drinks. The hotel has one restaurant, which was also good and had a large breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.