We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for families with young children...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
South Pasadena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place for families with young children...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Los Lagos Hotel & Resort is a great place for families with young children and those looking for a taste of Costa Rica in a controlled safe, themed environment. The staff is extremely professional & friendly. The amenities are clean & inviting. The restaurant is in a beautiful tropical terrace setting and the bar flows!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    319
    107
    23
    22
See reviews for
288
239
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were a little concerned when we say exactly how large the resort is---and we seemed to have room at the point farthest from the pools and activity. But, the hotel's promise about prompt transportation was completely fulfilled. The van was there and waiting each time we needed it. My 9-year old sons loved the pools and the slides. We ziplined and road horses up the side of the volcano. The restaurant could offer a Kids Menu, but we got by. In all, a great choice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Amazing place, staff very helpful and willing to please, they do not wait for tips. The entire area of La Fortuna is populated with very nice, honest people. The hot springs were a big attraction for all of us (13 people total). THe food served at the restaurant was excellent. The rooms are big and they cleaned them every day in the morning. THEY RECYCLE !!! THey have a shuttle going from the rooms to the reception and back. They are there for you all the time, if you call them from the room, you don't even have time to close the door after, that fast they are. Overall, super stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed for a morning in the pools, nothing authentic, just warm water. Kids happy but your wallet won't be. First offered in town at 25 dollars a person. At the door 15 dollar and kids half price.
The ants, butterfly, croc, fish displays are a no go-er
The bar serves horrible sugar based sirop 'fruit' juices, at 5 dollars a piece.

Room Tip: Buy you ticket at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We only had 1 night in Arenal and were overwhelmed by hotel choices so at the last minute, we ended up booking here for no particular reason. It was cheesy, but very well maintained and we enjoyed our stay. We went in the hot springs a couple of times, and at night there was hardly anyone else around. The breakfast buffet was good and there were lots of choices. The room was a little bit of a splurge, but we did not opt for any of the optional additional services (dinners, massages, spa services). We did enjoy walking through the animal exhibits (frogs, butterflies, crocs), which had no additional cost.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This would be a good choice for families. (There were other "kid groups" there when we were there who were loud & kid-like which made the place noisy during the day but in the evenings it was fine.) The room we stayed in was large & had roll-out beds that could easily sleep 6. Nothing fancy but clean and perfectly acceptable. Not cheap but reasonable. There's a nice pool with water slides and various "hot springs" tubs. The grounds were pretty & there were fun (but small) crocodile, butterfly & frog gardens.
The grounds are also very hilly & it was not an insignificant hike to the lobby, pool, etc. from our room. We are young & fit but this could be problematic for some.
We didn't eat anything but their breakfast buffet that came as part of our "package." The breakfast buffet was good, not great. The menu prices were expensive, leave the grounds and try one of the many delicious & cheaper restaurants in town for dinner.
Not overly friendly but certainly not rude or pushy.
Internet in lobby was free & fast. Nothing in the rooms.
We spent a lot of our time off site, hiking & exploring the area. We did not do any of their tours & if you have a car I recommend you do the same. Many things offer tours but if you have a car & are willing & able you can do much of them yourself. If you don't have a car or are looking for special service then they do hook you up with a number of options.
If I were to go back with just my husband I'd go somewhere else. If we were traveling in a group I'd consider staying here again if I could get a value on the booking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had room at the top of hill and had to get a shuttle to the reception area but never had a problem. Ate dinner at the restaurant twice and the food was good and service was very friendly. Wish the resort was closer to town because it was an $8 one way by taxi. Enjoyed the pools and crocodile exhibit.

Did have an unpleasant experience that was resolved after our tour company spoke to management..

Room Tip: Superior rooms are at the top of the hill that require a car or shuttle service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort

Address: 6 km from Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volcano Resort with 1050 acres of tropical forest and wide landscapes, clear, safe and spectacular view to Arenal Volcano, wide tropical gardens with butterflies, frogs, crocodiles and leave cutter ants. An exclusive resort with its own 13 platform Canopy Tours, Horseback Riding Tours, and spectacular observation point at the property, other facilities is an exclusive Spa facing a primary forest and surroundings of water and their signature Arenal Volcano Clay Wrap. At Los Lagos Resort we offer 7 different pools, 4 with natural hot springs and 3 regular water pools available. We offer 98 rooms, International restaurant, souvenir shop, tours, web bar and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Lagos Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa And Resort
Hotel Los Lagos
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.