We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Costa Rican Getaway...Pura Vida!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore
1 review
“Superb Costa Rican Getaway...Pura Vida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My wife and I take a trip for our anniversary every year and stay in B&B's. This year we decided to try something different and go abroad to Costa Rica. We were looking for something that would offer the same personal touch and attention that you get in a B&B...Tilajari was a most excellent choice! The staff was superb and the rooms were excellent. We can't speak highly enough for their guides...they REALLY made our excursions and adventures 10 times better than they otherwise would have been.

The location is pretty good for accessing La Fortuna (about 20-30 mins away) and most of the area attractions but grounds at Tilajari are what set it apart from the other places you might consider staying at. Most hotels and resorts in CR have a very small and restricted campus...not so for Tilajari. The place is ENORMOUS: they have soccer fields, fitness center, picnic areas, many beautiful garden areas, basketball courts, tennis courts (both indoor and outdoor), a 5-star restaurant (more on that below), a HUGE pool and jacuzzi, private stables, their own butterfly garden, private jungle access...the list goes on and on. You could literally stay there and not go anywhere else.

If you do want to explore, however, the resort offers pretty much every excursion you can do in the area and the ones they offer are top notch. We are pretty active travelers and love to explore local areas, see nature, and go on hikes and stuff. The Tilajari excursions fit the bill to a "T". We did every one of them except for the caves and the canyoning (really wanted to do that one but ran out of time!). The Sky Trek (Zip line!) and the Rio Celeste hike (a quite excellent and strenuous hike!) were probably our two favorites on our 9 day stay...sometimes we even did two a day. The guides, Pedro and Marcello, were so great! We would not have seen 1/10 of the wildlife had it not been for Pedro's excellent knowledge...the guy is really amazing.

If we have any complaints at all, it would be that the restaurant, while offering excellent food, was a bit on the expensive side...and I am being kind by saying "a bit" (how's $10 for a plate of french fries sound...or $12 for a bowl of soup!). While we DO recommend the restaurant (great tasting food and superb service), other places are within a short drive and offer food at much cheaper prices...plus you get to experience more of the local culture that way.

All-in-all our stay was a huge success and one of the best we have ever done...as the locals say: PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    62
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
74
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Like so many other reviews on this resort we stayed 2 nights as part of a Gate 1 tour. This truly is a nice place. We were very happy about everything. They helped us with a whitewater rafting trip that was great. Most of the other tours you can do by yourself if you are driving. We went into La Fortuna for dinner both nights and were very happy with that choice (not a slam on their restaurant at all). The breakfast was very good in a cool open air building The wild life is really cool! This is truly a good one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

From the moment we got there, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was deluxe (they upgraded us with no charge). We had a balcony overlooking the river, wonderful view. Nice to sit out there in the evening, and at sunrise. Breakfast was great, but the birds and iguanas that visited there were great fun. The pool and hot tub were first class. The butterfly exhibit was free and great fun to walk around in. Wish I played tennis, the outside and inside courts were very nice. Our entire family loved it there and wished that we had longer than two nights to enjoy it. Would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Tilajari was so great -- the grounds are beautiful and feature tons of wildlife. Our room was gorgeous and offered a nice view of the river out back. The food at the restaurant was very good, and the service was fantastic. They also offer many great tours with fantastic tour guides. The only drawback is that it's pretty far from town, so if you want to do any exploring on your own, you need your own car.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We traveled to Costa Rica through Gate 1 Travel and they booked this resort on our behalf when we were visiting the area of La Fortuna and Arenal Volcano. This was our favourite resort from our entire trip! :)

The resort was very calming, the staff were pleasant, the room was clean and the scenery was beautiful. They even offered complimentary Internet access which was great for us since we needed it.

We were in a room that overlooked the river. It was very clean and we didn't have any issues with it. We had a patio outside of our room and we spent a great deal of time sitting on the patio eating fresh fruit and looking for Costa Rican wildlife. We saw so many different lizards and bird species. It was great!

They even had organized tours of the local attractions although we recommend that you go on your own if you are on a budget like we were. We saved a lot of money this way but you would need a rental car. For instance, they were charging $60 US to see Arenal Volcano and we paid $10 US to go on our own.

The restaurant ambiance of the restaurant was incredible. It was open concept so you can feel the breeze and see all the wildlife. We had dinner there one night and it was just okay. We ordered the cheapest items on the menu and they did not have much taste but that is to be expected when you order the cheapest items. The complimentary breakfast that we had each morning was delightful though.

Oh yeah! The pool was great too. Nice and warm! We went for a late night swim and no one was there. They also have a great little hot tub.

If you would like some pictures, feel free to visit the blog that we made about our trip to Costa Rica: http://visitingcostarica.wordpress.com/

Enjoy your trip! You will love it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We traveled with Gate 1 and spent two nights at this destination. We got such a good deal on the package that we were somewhat skeptical of what the hotel's quality would end up being (too good to be true, right?), but were more than pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Tilajari. There was a gated entrance so our cars were always safe. An AMAZING pool area complete with kids pool, baby pool, and hot tub area. There's 6 tennis courts with equipment rental at the bar. One of the courts is covered in case of rain. Our rooms were great and the staff was so nice and accomodating. At 10:30ish every sunny day, there's a path that all the iguanas (all 100 of them, no joke) walk down every day to a hill where they all bask in the sun. There was a restaurant on site with great food and service, and La Fortuna is only a short drive away. We went on a couple of guided tours with the hotel, but I would recommend just doing them on your own so you're not constrained to a time or limit. We watched lava flow from the volcano at night (bring bug spray) and visited some of the hot springs in the area. The resort is the bomb.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

The resort was absolutely beautiful, quiet, and adventuresome....

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilajari Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;