We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rundown, out dated, out of town. This was possibly s beautiful place years ago but hasn't been kept up at all.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rundown, out dated, out of town. This was possibly s beautiful place years ago but hasn't been kept up at all.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We arrived at Tilajari resort at night. The place looked nice then. We ate and the food was great, the owner was very friendly and even talked with us. Our room however was run down. We were with a group and some people found roaches and mouse turds in their bedding. I wouldnot recommend this place at all. Stay closer to town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente M, Owner at Tilajari Hotel Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Client,
We have read and analyzed your comments, it was important for us to get this feed-back due it make us work even harder in all the details our clients may pointed out. So thank you for expressing yourself.
It is true Tilajari is open since 1989, as we started as a Country Club that was turned or complemented to hotel a couple of years later. Since then, we have had several renovation or expansion projects in order to satisfy the market necessities. That and the warm service, is part of the success and popularity our property have with thousands of clients around the World.
When foreign people decide to visit a tropical country, they are normally aware of some conditions that they may found in the places they are going to visit, for example keeping such an extensive grounds and gardens as natural as possible for environmental reasons, makes us to strongly deal with some also nature creatures as gekos (little lizards all around Central America) and other bugs. These gekos are probably in every house in Costa Rica, and as a part of the balance they control other insects as spiders and small roaches. Gekos are normally harmless to humans and as they are around buildings is almost impossible to exterminate them all without killing other animals and breaking nature balance as well. What your travel friends though as waste probably was from Gekos due it looks almost the same that mouses waste, anyhow there is no excuse to find this on a room and we have strengthened our supervision in Housekeeping department trying to avoid this.
We have an extermination program running all year around, specially during low season which is in the same time than rainy season, where nature animals are changing their behavior to adjust to the new weather conditions.
During all 2013, we have been renovating bathrooms, furniture, bed linen and other details regarding rooms, besides other services and facilities. As we luckily have a high occupancy all year, this project is running slowly but constant to avoid disturbing clients with maintenance duties. We expect to end the room’s renovation in few months, moving to other areas to improve.
Please receive our sincere apollogies for all the inconveniences, and we encourage you to visit us again sometime to check on the changes we are working on now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
57
91
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A nice place to relax halfway through a tour of Costa Rica.
Nice adequate rooms. If you have a room facing the river you can probably see crocodiles, in the gardens there are lots of iguana's and at breakfast they feed the birds and what a wonderful colourful display it is to see.
In the surrounding area there is Arenal volcano, a rain forest walk ,a man made trail over bridges and it is very good.
The hotel has a good restaurant with a buffet breakfast of good quality.The evening dinner is also good .

Room Tip: A river view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Quesada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We live close enough, so, we only visited the restaurant for a date. It was absolutaly fantastic. The staff was incredibly attentive and the food was just perfect. The place is beatiful and charming, we plan to visit this place many more times!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This a really nice resort with wildlife abound. Close to the hot Springs, zip lining, hanging bridges and the Volcano. The resort had lots to offer with a river, pool, hot tub, butterfly house,
sports venues, all housed in a very nicely landscaped setting.

WE enjoyed sitting on our veranda, watching the birds, monkeys and other wildlife. Don't forget to bring your camera to breakfast, the birds eat with you, very charming!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

If you love peace and quiet, this place is for you. A former Country Club that was bought and adapted to your personal needs. Located on a river bank in which I saw a crocodile on my first visit there. There are indoor and outdoor tennis courts. I believe that there were about 10 courts. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Close to La Fortuna and Arenal. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights on our recent vacation to Costa Rica. We stayed in a junior suite with a river view and it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable with all your basic necessities but the real reason to stay here is the beautiful grounds. The hotel is on acres and acres (and acres) of property with a river running through it so the wild life you see on a daily basis is really amazing. The dining room is the open air type typical to Costa Rica and every morning we were able to watch the birds, iguanas and butterflies with our breakfast. We had an all inclusive package so we ate all our meals in the restaurant which had a nice variety of dishes to choose from. The food was pretty tasty and the portions are enormous. I ended up ordering half portions the whole time. We did a "safari float" and horseback riding with a guide named Pedro who was fabulous. He's super knowledgeable about the wild life and plants and can spot animals from a mile away. All the hotel staff were SO nice, it really made us sorry to leave when our stay was up. Tilajari is a beautiful, quiet place to enjoy nature and relax. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, OR
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights during a work trip. Rooms were good size, a/c worked well when needed. It is located right on a river. There is a nice short walk through some tropical fruit trees. I didn't get to see the medicinal garden or butterfly garden but would be interesting. Food was fine and there is an abundance of iguanas around the restaurant in the morning (look in the trees on on the roofs). It appeared as though it was mainly tourist groups passing through.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilajari Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.