We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the river” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great place on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a wonderful place, the employees were very nice. The room was very nice great view of the gardens and river. The breakfast buffet was very good. Nice little gift shop. Got to see crocs in the river. They also had a exercise room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    67
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
74
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Hotel Tilajari was a great stay--they have everything at the resort and the food was good (if you need a food escape, try the second floor of the cattle auction about 15-20 min walk...take a left out of the main entrance to the hotel, turn left at light, it is just past the gas station on the right). Staff was friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis area
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tilajari is one of my favorite places in the world! It's not a 'resort' by modern standards, the rooms aren't new and the fixtures aren't shiny. But the entire space is a lovingly tended botanical garden. The outdoor dining pavilion is such a pleasant space, and the tiled pool and hot tub overlooking the river are an oasis of peace. There are iguanas and small lizards all over the property, a butterfly house, and the front desk can arrange a wide assortment of adventure and exploration activities for you, all of which are fantastic. The tourist town of Fortuna and the volcano are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of a tour. The service and the food were great . The rooms very comfortable. There was lots of wildlife in the gardens, sloths, snakes, including a boa constrictor, crocodiles down by the river, butterflies in the garden etc

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet and over looked the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We participated in an Ultimate Frisbee tournament hosted at the Hotel Tilajari. It was a great setting for this type of event. The rooms were very acceptable, for the price. Don't expect the Holiday Inn Express - this is Costa Rica. But the rooms were clean, the sheets acceptable and there were a few room perks (coffee maker, closet space). The included breakfast was better and more than at most hotels - gallo pinto (Costa Rican rice and beans), a meat, lots of fruit, potatoes, omelettes to order. There was a very pretty setting by a river and the birds at the feeders were fun to watch. Finally, the tennis courts, basketball court, soccer field, and pool were all very nice. The hotel obviously had good adventure tour services as we saw ATVs and mountain bikes picking up guests each morning.

Room Tip: The rooms are on two floors. Top floor is on front of building, close to the parking area. Bottom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Room 104 faces the river and has two double beds in a nice large room. Shower worked well and we always had hot water. A/C worked like a charm. Coffee pot had a small issue but that was resolved. Any issue is quickly resolved.

I thought the staff was particularly outstanding. The front desk staff helped us figure out excursions and they didn't put any sales pressure on us. I really enjoyed bouncing ideas off them because they are local and deal with a lot of tourist so they understand the whole picture. They gave us the courage to drive into LaFortuna at night and to drive ourselves to Venado Cave. Saved us a bundle of money and was lots of fun.

The included breakfast was exceptional. There was a lot of variety and of course the birds were such a treat to observe. We ate dinner one night and shared a huge burger and the best pappas fritas you will ever put in your mouth. We wish we had ordered another plate of fries.
We had a Imperial beer each and the whole dinner was less than $15. Prices of meals were reasonable. The wait staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Take a stroll and enjoy finding the iguana, the birds, the fruit trees and fabulous flora. A peresoso (sloth) is legend to live in the tree by the front reception but we never saw him/her. Enjoy the butterfly house at no extra charge. We did not use but saw tennis courts in use, sauna, and pool. We also saw the horses. This is a true resort. We could have spent a few more days there if we had the time.

If you have children with you, this is the place to be. The rooms are huge and the kids have a patio and plenty of room to play, supervised, of course.

Room Tip: Room 104 is a ground floor, end unit facing the river. Order the pappas fritas...you will thank m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our "luxury" tour stopped here for two nights. We were terribly disappointed. Had we known about this hotel, we would have not booked the tour. For us, there were two major problems: first, the bathroom was outdated and in disrepair. The shower drained very slowly and the shower door would not close. Several photos are attached showing the condition of the bathroom. The second problem was that the dining room has no air conditioning. It was extremely hot and humid in the dining room, which is an open large patio. Although the food was good, we could not enjoy our meals due to the heat. There is no comfortable, air conditioned lobby. It was so warm outside that we had no option but to sit in our room to take advantage of the AC.

The room was clean, the beds comfortable. The garden of the hotel is very nice, but to us, not worth the uncomfortable few days we were there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente M, Owner at Tilajari Hotel Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear client,
We thank you for taking few minutes to write this review, your opinion is important and we want to inform you that we started the renovation of all our bathrooms as soon as the low season begun last May. Clients can find now pictures of the new bathrooms here in this profile so can compare the improvement.
Regarding weather, it is hot and humid (around 29- 32C max) during the months of March and April, the rest of the year is around 25-29C. As our property is full of gardens and trees and the restaurant is located at the San Carlos river edge, we prefer to keep it open air to offer our guests a real tropical forest experience and the closest contact with nature.
Thanks to that humidity (because we have several months of rainy season, we are a tropical area and are next to a river), we have such a wonderful nature always green and many animals around. We are sure you saw at least many birds and some iguanas!
During more than 20 years, Tilajari has offered this same combination and most clients enjoy their experience in a country resort. Besides, A/C units consume a lot of energy and due our sustainable practices we rather not to use them in public areas.
We hope you visit Costa Rica and our property sometime again, we know some people are not used to tropical weather or have an special sensibility to this weather conditions, so our recommendation would be planning their vacations in a another season that the hotter of the year.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilajari Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.