We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwickshire UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was the third of three hotels we stayed in on our tour of Costa Rica and probably the best. The grounds are amazing, well maintained and host a great deal of wildlife. From our balcony we looked down towards the river and all around were trees and bushes housing fabulous birds, basking iguanas, squirrels, tree frogs and one or two spider monkeys. The rooms were spacious and well maintained with an ample sized bathroom housing a powerful shower. At first we couldn't work out how to turn it off, then realised we had to turn hot and cold together quickly.
The food was fine and although we were all inclusive, we were able to order from the a la carte menu which had plenty of choice. The dining room was windowless allowing easy photography of the birds that came to the feeders which were spiked with fruit throughout the day.
The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and extensive and so much wild life can be seen if you walk quietly as many do throughout the day. It's even possible to find the very shy agouti, which scampers away on sight.
The staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The reception area has wi fi and also free internet access.
The Tilajari Resort Hotel is lovely and well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    63
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
74
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights during our 3 week visit to Costa Rica and it was the best if the four hotels.

We stayed on an all-inclusive basis and had nothing but praise for the food, drink and service. Even when the dining room was quite crowded, the quality of food and service were maintained.

The pool was clean and of a decent size although, due the activities we took part in, we could only enjoy it on a limited number of occasions.

The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Surplus fruit is put out for the birds during breakfast so take your camera.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were unable to get back to NY due to a snow storm so added this hotel and a quick trip to Arenal at the last minute. Looked so corporate that we were first disappointed but the views of the river and the lovely pool and the jacuzzi were great for relaxing.

Our guided tour with Pedro (with Macho driving) was excellent -- so knowledgable and competent and gracious. Walked us, talked to us, took us to a great hot springs, ate a great lunch together (we chose to add that on ) - we felt very well cared for and very well informed.

Most amazing part of our stay involved the restaurant area. The staff places old fruit on stakes just outside the protected roofed outdoor area where folks eat. Birds are there, flying all around -- just an amazingly rich display of beauty. Then the second morning, a boa constrictor came off the roof and grabbed a bird - strangled and ate -- as a huge iguana watched from a tree close by. It was incredible - not scary just amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Tilajari is a member's Club and Conference Centre, as well as operating as a hotel. At the weekend holiday time there were more members present than during the week, but the place never seemed crowded. The grounds are well maintained, although the "medicinal garden" and "butterfly house" areas seemed sadly neglected. The site is good for wild-life. Bird feeders outside the restaurant give close views of several species of tanager, together with some very large iguanas. Sloths inhabit many of the trees, and armadillos are said to frequent the football pitch (although I didn't see any). It was also very pleasant to sit by the pool, sipping one of their excellent cocktails, whlist watching vultures soar overhead. The rooms are comfortable and well serviced, and the large walk-in showers have plenty of room for two. Free WiFi is available (notionally only near reception but in reality over much of the central area) There is a large but unchanging menu at both lunch and dinner, and a well-stocked bar. Many local excursions can be arranged, but the area is also good just for walking locally by the river. The resort is a half hour walk (along a fairly busy road) from the settlement of Muelle, which hosts a Rodeo and Fair twice a year.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the river - the only difference beteen them is that those on the upper story have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Tilajari was a great place to stay. The rooms were great, the pool and hot tub were wonderful! We had rooms overlooking the river and that was very nice! Food was very good. Highly recommend! Saw large iguanas and armadillo and butterflies in the butterfly tent.

Room Tip: overlooking the river the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Tilajari is a ten in jungle/river resort experiences. The rooms on the river are the best for having your night -cap on the patio. Or, take a cobblestone path to an indoor/outdoor dining experience. The food is great.. A short walk takes you to a jungle pool site. And, don't forget the river cruise and the rainforrest horseback ride a few hundred yards away. We've been to Tilajari three times ,and, yes, we will return.
P.S.
Bright plummage birds are sited everywhere on the propertl. It's a birders ' paradise.
Our room was very clean and everything functioned properly.

Room Tip: riverside with patio, near banyan and bamboo grove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The rooms are not maintained, especially the showers. We were unable to turn our shower off completely and it ran hot water all night. When we got to the room the diverter was on shelf, it was fixed but then we could not turn the water off completely. Friends had showers that only sprayed on the edges, like a circle of water. Then there is breakfast. Only hot food is covered. The fruit and bread are not and they attract small black flies and lots of them. There is a butterfly garden that is enclosed and had not been attendened to for a very long tome. It once had exhibits. They have fallen to pieces. I don't know why this hotel is busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilajari Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.