We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My family and I spent three nights at Tilajari while exploring the Arenal area of Costa Rica. As a previous reviewer noted, it is a bit far from La Fortuna (around 25 km), but it was an easy drive back and forth. We found the rooms to be quite comfortable and the restaurant food and service to be very good. My wife got some great bird pictures during breakfast when the staff puts out fruit for the birds. There's a nice large clean pool that was very relaxing after a day of adventure. We didn't take advantage of any of the tours offered by the hotel since we had our own car. The distance from La Fortuna is the only reason I didn't rate this as Excellent, but again we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    68
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
77
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Even this hotel is not new, its rooms are still ok. They are spacious, clean and quiet. The hotel is located inside a big property, close to the nice San Carlos River. I stayed there as part of a tennis tournament, being the only hotel with decent tennis courts in the zone. If you are looking for a quiet place to be, this is the one. Food was very good also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it greatly. The hotel rooms are older, but still nice. The scenery is beautiful here, it's very secluded. The breakfast was wonderful! The tours we booked there were great and well worth the money. The one dinner we ate there was very tasty. We used the water provided in the lobby the whole trip, to save on buying new bottles. The pool was clean and well kept. I wish it was closer to La Fortuna, but the 20 minute drive went fast. It's about 30-40 minutes to Arenal and it took us 45 minutes to get to the national park entrance at Arenal for reference.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel rooms are small old fashion, the bathrooms are old . located very far from La Fortuna. There is nothing to do at night. The dining room and the pool are far from the rooms. The dining room is full of flies. you can hear the cars on the road near by

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I have been to Tilajari on two occasions and I loveeee it. The food is awesome although I missed the beacon from Bosque del Mar. I eat the Tilajari hamburger twice and loved it the New York Steak was great as well. I would have liked to watch Nickelodeon in english as opposed to spanish. The butterfly farm is great and very spacious. There are many iguanas I got to see them eating grass and it was a wonderful experience. I can´t wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Junior suites are very big and have great a/c..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Just got back from 10 day vacation booked through Gate 1 travel. This place was the best. Crocodiles in the river outside our room, a free butterfly enclosure, beautful grounds, iguanas, excellent breakfast buffet with many choices, great pool and hot tub and geared towards customer service. Arenal is a bit of a drive, 45 min, but if you want quiet off the beaten path this is the place. Would come back. If you like pizza try Luigis in La Fortuna, free hot springs past Tabacon resort look for yellow gate and take path off to the right as you head towards Arenal. Spend the money and go to the Sky tram/trek zip line-it will stop your heart!! Just near the Arenal volcano park.

Room Tip: Any rooms upstairs overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Tilajari is a little oasis in the hustle and bustle of the Muelle San Carlos region in Costa Rica. There are tennis courts, an inviting swimming pool and an excellent restaurant on the banks of the placid San Carlos river.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the parking lot and towards the river. It is quiet, and you can avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilajari Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.