We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic, full-service resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Scenic, full-service resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We felt fortunate to have been upgraded by Gate 1 which had booked the room for us, and then we received a room upgrade upon arrival. Our room, located in building 1, was comfortable, nicely decorated, and had a balcony with a great view of the river. We enjoyed several of the features of the resort -- a lovely outdoor jacuzzi, beautiful butterfly garden, and an herb garden and labeled nature walk. The breakfasts were served buffet-style with a nice selection of dishes. On the second morning, although it was only 8am when we arrived, it appeared that a large group had just departed, and the hot items were cool, the omelet station was closed, and there were flies covering the maple syrup. The resort is located about 20 minutes' drive from La Fortuna which wasn't a problem for us. Both evenings we ate in the restaurant which had a wide selection of interesting, well-prepared entrees. Our only minor complaint was considerable noise from the highway on the other side of the river. All-in-all, we would return if coming to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escambian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice, quiet, secluded, relaxing setting. Rooms were nice size w A/C and beds were very comfortable. Food was above average. Pool area was great even though heater for hot tub wasn't working. One free computer at front desk for internet/e-mail. All staff were courteous and helpful. This was the only place we saw Iguanas - and they were everywhere - in the trees and on the ground throughout the resort. We were with Globus Tours and day trip to Ecotermales Hot Springs was the highlight of our tour. Fantastic series of hot-water pools heated by Arenal Volcano. Very beautiful and peaceful setting. Has a nice restaurant, bar, and full changing rooms with keyed lockers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELDJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked the 'honeymoon' package at this hotel for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it! In our 2 days we took in 2 tours, lots of meals and enjoyed their pool. The package we booked included all of our meals at their restaurant, breakfast was buffet style with quite a few options including an omelette/egg station. Lunch and dinner were a full 3 courses with a good selection. The best part of the restaurant was the staff!! They were all very attentive, friendly and professional. Our 2 tours were led by Pedro who was also fantastic!! He really loved his job, loved nature and animals and his enthusiasm was contageous!
The only improvement I could see would be to update the rooms, they were very spacious but could use a little 'refreshing'! I would reccomend this hotel to any of our friends/family who plan to visit this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrabb322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed overnight after a long journey. The room was spacious but a little worn and dark. The shower was basic and the bathroom just about adequate. We were at the resort with a tour group and were offered only buffet catering of generous proportions but not of culinary note. The best points here are the grounds running along the river, the iguanas, butterflies, fabulous birds, flowers and generous pool. The staff was friendly too. This is an OK spot to see the Costa Rican rainforest and fauna but the resort is looking tired and in need of maintenance. We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We (me an my girlfriend) booked three nights here. We were given a room on the second floor of the building where the airconditionings are on the roof. They have a noise problem with the aircons on the second floor, they vibrate so loudly that it would be impossible for anyone to sleep there. We explicitly asked for a quiet room before arrival, nonetheless they gave us this horrible room. First they refused to give us another room but eventually we got one in another building. This room was noisy as well. You can hear the traffic from the parking lot and from the road. The room was horrible, outdated, old beds. The food in the restaurant was okay, not excellent. There are busloads of American tourists here, this was annoying. The hotel is far away from La Fortuna, a taxi to La fortuna is expensive (about 25 USD).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefanamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was our third hotel in a tour of Costa Rica in a group of 28. I was very impressed - the location was not a problem when you have a coach to take you around but I don't think the hotel was near much else. I had a huge room with a great shower and excellent toiletries supplied. The grounds were pretty and well kept sloping down to the San Carlos river. There were HUGE iguanas in the grounds and a lovely swimming pool. The restaurant was fine, breakfast was good and the drinks (wine) were generous and reasonably priced. Fruit was put out to attract the birds at breakfast time - a nice touch. I loved it, it felt quite classy, very quiet and generally very nice indeed.

Room Tip: All looked good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

an exceptional holiday. Great rooms,with good views. Sited next to a river with loads of wildlife and crocodiles. They fed the fantastic pretty birds at breakfast ever morning,and there are giant iguanas wandering about everywhere.The food was from an a-la -carte menu,both at lunch and dinner,and the steaks were fantastic.Also lots of very interesting cocktails.The owner lived on the premises and ate his meals in the restaurant, he made sure that no one had any problems. This was my idea of paradise, and a brilliant base to see the rain forest of costa rica

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
15.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#19 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
15.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
12.3 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#31 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Arenal Kioro
Arenal Kioro
#14 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 28 Km East Of La Fortuna Po Box 81-440, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing