We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic, full-service resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tilajari Hotel Resort

Save Saved
You added Tilajari Hotel Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tilajari Hotel Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Scenic, full-service resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We felt fortunate to have been upgraded by Gate 1 which had booked the room for us, and then we received a room upgrade upon arrival. Our room, located in building 1, was comfortable, nicely decorated, and had a balcony with a great view of the river. We enjoyed several of the features of the resort -- a lovely outdoor jacuzzi, beautiful butterfly garden, and an herb garden and labeled nature walk. The breakfasts were served buffet-style with a nice selection of dishes. On the second morning, although it was only 8am when we arrived, it appeared that a large group had just departed, and the hot items were cool, the omelet station was closed, and there were flies covering the maple syrup. The resort is located about 20 minutes' drive from La Fortuna which wasn't a problem for us. Both evenings we ate in the restaurant which had a wide selection of interesting, well-prepared entrees. Our only minor complaint was considerable noise from the highway on the other side of the river. All-in-all, we would return if coming to the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    61
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
74
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice, quiet, secluded, relaxing setting. Rooms were nice size w A/C and beds were very comfortable. Food was above average. Pool area was great even though heater for hot tub wasn't working. One free computer at front desk for internet/e-mail. All staff were courteous and helpful. This was the only place we saw Iguanas - and they were everywhere - in the trees and on the ground throughout the resort. We were with Globus Tours and day trip to Ecotermales Hot Springs was the highlight of our tour. Fantastic series of hot-water pools heated by Arenal Volcano. Very beautiful and peaceful setting. Has a nice restaurant, bar, and full changing rooms with keyed lockers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We booked the 'honeymoon' package at this hotel for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it! In our 2 days we took in 2 tours, lots of meals and enjoyed their pool. The package we booked included all of our meals at their restaurant, breakfast was buffet style with quite a few options including an omelette/egg station. Lunch and dinner were a full 3 courses with a good selection. The best part of the restaurant was the staff!! They were all very attentive, friendly and professional. Our 2 tours were led by Pedro who was also fantastic!! He really loved his job, loved nature and animals and his enthusiasm was contageous!
The only improvement I could see would be to update the rooms, they were very spacious but could use a little 'refreshing'! I would reccomend this hotel to any of our friends/family who plan to visit this area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stayed overnight after a long journey. The room was spacious but a little worn and dark. The shower was basic and the bathroom just about adequate. We were at the resort with a tour group and were offered only buffet catering of generous proportions but not of culinary note. The best points here are the grounds running along the river, the iguanas, butterflies, fabulous birds, flowers and generous pool. The staff was friendly too. This is an OK spot to see the Costa Rican rainforest and fauna but the resort is looking tired and in need of maintenance. We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We (me an my girlfriend) booked three nights here. We were given a room on the second floor of the building where the airconditionings are on the roof. They have a noise problem with the aircons on the second floor, they vibrate so loudly that it would be impossible for anyone to sleep there. We explicitly asked for a quiet room before arrival, nonetheless they gave us this horrible room. First they refused to give us another room but eventually we got one in another building. This room was noisy as well. You can hear the traffic from the parking lot and from the road. The room was horrible, outdated, old beds. The food in the restaurant was okay, not excellent. There are busloads of American tourists here, this was annoying. The hotel is far away from La Fortuna, a taxi to La fortuna is expensive (about 25 USD).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was our third hotel in a tour of Costa Rica in a group of 28. I was very impressed - the location was not a problem when you have a coach to take you around but I don't think the hotel was near much else. I had a huge room with a great shower and excellent toiletries supplied. The grounds were pretty and well kept sloping down to the San Carlos river. There were HUGE iguanas in the grounds and a lovely swimming pool. The restaurant was fine, breakfast was good and the drinks (wine) were generous and reasonably priced. Fruit was put out to attract the birds at breakfast time - a nice touch. I loved it, it felt quite classy, very quiet and generally very nice indeed.

Room Tip: All looked good to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DL13 5RQ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

an exceptional holiday. Great rooms,with good views. Sited next to a river with loads of wildlife and crocodiles. They fed the fantastic pretty birds at breakfast ever morning,and there are giant iguanas wandering about everywhere.The food was from an a-la -carte menu,both at lunch and dinner,and the steaks were fantastic.Also lots of very interesting cocktails.The owner lived on the premises and ate his meals in the restaurant, he made sure that no one had any problems. This was my idea of paradise, and a brilliant base to see the rain forest of costa rica

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilajari Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilajari Hotel Resort

Address: 800 oeste Estacion Servicio Muelle | Muelle de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tilajari Hotel Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard rooms and junior suites spread over the San Carlos River Edge at Arenal Volcano Area. Exceptional Katira restaurant offering a selected international and typical menu and the best facilities in our 5 special events halls. Three swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi, private forest, sport facilities and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tilajari Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tilajari Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tilajari Hotel Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilajari Hotel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.