We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couples experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“couples experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

hubby and i were traveling to costa rica for a work related trip and took a side trip to Tabacon - great decision. Service was excellent all around - particularly at breakfast. Hot springs were definitely busy in peak hours but we went early one morning and practically had the whole place to ourselves. you need to walk a decent distance back into the springs in order to find the more beautiful, less traveled areas. our room had view of volcano. i wouldn't spend the money to take kids but we enjoyed as a couple. concierge very helpful to arrange a rain forest tour as well

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    557
    204
    85
    58
See reviews for
428
1,054
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We really debated booking at the Tabacon because of some of the negative reviews. But because it received 5 stars overall and because it was part of the Leading Hotels of the World, we figured it would probably be a nice resort and decided to give it a try. While the location, grounds and hot springs were great, this is definitely not a 5 star hotel. The rooms are spacious but need updating. The tiles in the bathroom were cracked, the grout was dirty and broken, lighting was so dim, you could barely see, especially in the bathroom. There was a sitting area with a small desk and chair but no other furniture. We didn't even have a clock. It was very sparse and gave the appearance that furniture was missing. We had booked two adjacent rooms and we had to call for 4 nights to get hand towels and bath mats as the housekeeper never left any. We complained to the front desk, to no avail. In fact, the service was quite indifferent. The walls are so thin you could hear people moving desk chairs, talking etc. We complained about very rude guests upstairs who were unbelievably loud, we complained about the lack of towels, we complained about the poor valet service as we would call for our car and inevitably it was never there. The service didn't improve and in fact, they didn't really seem to care as they were not apologetic at all. When we have stayed at 5 star hotels, the service has been much better and the staff usually bend over backwards to make sure everything is satisfactory. This was not the case. The breakfast buffet was ridiculously expensive and they provided very few other options. One day we had an early tour so had to eat at the hotel restaurant and ordered a continental breakfast. We received a huge pile of stale pastries. Definitely not a 5 star breakfast. We ended up going into town for breakfast the rest of the time. On the plus side, the hot springs were great and the grounds were well maintained. The property has the potential of being a 5 star with some updating, better training for staff and more amenities but I would definitely not give it a 5 star or even a 4 star now.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our first of three stops in Costa Rica a couple of weeks ago. The room price was a little higher than I thought it was worth. We had a rain forest suite with an indoor jacuzzi that was huge. The hot springs were wonderful. Room quests have a private area which separates you from the daily spa only users which was nice. We had a private tour of the Arenal arranged by Anywhere Costa Rica and the concierge arrange for zip lining which was a treat for two 65 year olds married for 43 years. The food on site was average but limited. I understand going into Fortuna would have been a better option but we did not take advantage of it. Tabacon would have provided transportation there but you have to find a taxi to return. In all a great visit. Enjoy the 102 degree hot springs.

Room Tip: Our room was great. Spend a little more to upgrade to a room with the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Tabacon was the first stop on our Costa Rica trip. Staff was very friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Rooms are nothing special but you really want to stay at this resort for the beauty of the grounds and thermal hot springs. The hot springs were amazing. We spent a whole afternoon up in the adult only area and had a great time. The couples massage was fantastic. The food was a little over priced, especially the breakfast buffet for 30 bucks. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Tabacon!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The food quality left a lot to be desired and was overpriced. The only meal I enjoyed was a filet mignon ($34), which I'm pretty sure is a foolproof option anywhere.

The rooms, hotel grounds and hot springs were absolutely amazing. The hot springs are a "must see" attraction, so get a day pass if you're not going to rent a room at the hotel. But my advice would be to rent a room for one night minimum (since the hot springs are included).

4⭐️, but would be a 5⭐️ hotel if the improved the food (I expected high prices).

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our suite was gorgeous, and the hot springs AMAZING. The breakfast buffet at Toucanes was excellent, but lunch at the restaurant down at the springs was average. Service was sporadic ... sometimes poor, other times ok, but never as "Costa Rica friendly" as when we were on the Pacific Coast earlier in the week. The view from our room was amazing though - clear view of the volcano, and the hot springs, truly -- worth every penny. Definitely go into Fortuna for dinner and explore. Surprisingly good pizza found in town. suite was large and well appointed, large bathroom with humongous jacuzzi tub.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I visited this property for a couple days. Service was great from the moment we arrived at the property. Definitely worth staying here for the direct access to the thermal springs. The concierge was helpful booking reservations for us each night for dinner. Overall a wonderful experience and would come here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.