We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick one night stay at Tabacon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quick one night stay at Tabacon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently spent one night as a family at the Tabacon Resort. Our plans and their tight availability made spending another night impossible, which ended up being fine.

We had heard that the Tabacon was perhaps the nicest property in the Arenal area, and I suspect that it belongs in that conversation. The Springs Resort, however, blew Tabacon away, in my opinion.

Still, the Tabacon is nice. It gives one free access to the hot springs, which were nice and unique. That's pretty much how we spent our time during our short visit.

We had asked for adjoining rooms, which wasn't accommodated. That wasn't a big deal, though. I'd still say that the front desk was professional and very competent.

Meal prices were way too high, with a sense that "we got you" to them. So we drove into town for dinner.

Finally, the grounds are quite pretty, and the rooms were very nice, clean, and quiet.

All in, it was a nice experience. I'm not angling to return, but I certainly would if the circumstances came up!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    549
    200
    85
    58
See reviews for
420
1,045
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Exuma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I recently got married and decided that we wanted to go to Costa Rica for our honeymoon. We figured it would be the right amount of romance, excursions, and pampering. The first hotel that we stayed in was the Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. We spent four days here and it was everything that we hoped and dreamed for it to be.

We were greeted with drinks as soon as we checked in and that level of service was carried out throughout the duration of our stay. We had booked the honeymoon package and it was worth it! Our room was very spacious and the bathroom had a modern feel with a window that opened from the bedroom so you can see straight into the large tub and shower.

We spent the first day at the hot springs enjoying the hot natural streams and waterfalls. There are a lot of private areas to go to, you just need to take some time to explore. There is also the Shangai gardens and that is adults and guests of the hotel only. Just walking around the garden brings you closer to nature. This is a place to unwind and reflect in a place with out judgement. We took a trip into the La Fortuna area but found that we just loved the hot springs and our hotel so we stayed local to those two areas. The hot springs and spa is located just down the road, about a half a mile walk.

The following day we went white water rafting (level 2-3) which was a blast. We didn't see too much wildlife on the river but at times the rapids really moving us along. If you're interested in doing an excursion for animal and bird spotting I would suggest the safari floats versus the rafting. We then had our couple massages in a private bungalow that had a private jacuzzi to soak in once we were finished with our pampering. We slept like babies that night.

On our last night we had our private dinner in the middle of the rain forest with our own chef and server. They went out of their way to make this very special for our honeymoon. There were candles everywhere and rose petals on the table and floor. The food was great and it was a wonderful celebration to close out our stay with them. We were very pleased with the level of service at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a very nice place. The room was nice and clean with a wonderful view of the volcano. Customer service was very good, the staff were friendly and helpful.
We picked two places to stay on our trip to enjoy the hot springs, here and Rio Perdido. The springs at Tabacon were very nicely done and have a natural look to them. However, if you want real natural springs, not manicured, that are even more beautiful and much more serene, I would recommend Rio Perdido.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently spent three nights at Tabaon. Loved the hotel and property ! Staff were very friendly and eager to please. Lovely buffet breakfast in the mornings. Ate two nights in the restaurant on premises and meal on th first night was one of the best of our whole trip!
Spa was fabulous ... Indulge in a Swedish massage ( it is fabulous and done outside in a bungalow overlooking the water ) ! Went to the springs twice .. Once in the evening and once in the afternoon. Delightful and not crowded when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the resort and spa for a part of our honeymoon. The grounds were spectacular, the view of the volcano from our room was unmatched. The only problem we had was that the facilities are a bit off the beaten path which means you must rely on taxis to get around. Unfortunately the tour desk at our hotel would only call us to taxi through their company that was always way more expensive than the taxis we found on our own. It left a bad taste in our mouths getting ripped off like that. But don't be discouraged. It is a beautiful place. Just be aware of price gouging.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at the Tabacon. The Arneal region has lots of hotels to choose from & it can be very confusing to pick - Tabacon suited our needs & exceeded our expectations.
We had an issue with noise above & the guest services were very hesitant to move us. With incidence we were finally moved to an upper floor room.
Our remaining time was excellent with great service - the dinner in the main restaurant was one of the best meals we had in Costa Rica.
Hot Springs at Tabacon are very natural with lush greenery/landscaping. Spent hour enjoying!

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room if you want it to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I expected a 5 star hotel for the 5 star price. The service was fine, the restaurant was good. What was disappointing was the room. It was spacious, however the bed was very uncomfortable. You needed to use your room key to have the electric/air conditioner work. The room was very plain and seemed out of date. The $300 price tag was not worth it.

We did enjoy the hot springs and spa. View of the volcano was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.