We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing New Year's Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Relaxing New Year's Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

2nd stop on my NYE vacation to Costa Rica. The shuttle service scheduled through Tabacon was on time, friendly and affordable. Arrived at Tabacon to a refreshing welcome drink and cold towel. Room wasn't ready as we arrived early, so we relaxed in the lobby and talked to the concierge about excursions. Once rooms were available we were loaded on a golf cart with our luggage and whisked away. The room decor was a bit outdated and the bathroom needed a rehaul, but the size of the bedroom was very large with a sitting area and King size bed. We had the breakfast buffet which had something for everyone. Though I did notice the cost of breakfast on my bill was not consistent. The shuttle to the springs is very convenient and saves you a lengthy walk. White water rafting trip booked through the hotel was extremely fun and I would very much recommend. They picked us up on time and were super excited and friendly. All 6 of us enjoyed the trip, no one fell out the raft and all felt safe. The spa was phenomenal beyond words. Booking process was extremely easy and they had great communication confirming and reconfirming services and prices. I loved the open area spa service bungalows, for a minute i felt like I was a contestant on naked and afraid, but also found it relaxing. The service providers were friendly, soft spoken and extremely talented. My husband said that was the best massage he ever had. There is a great restaurant right down the road, can't remember the name but it has a large cow statue in front. We liked it so much we ate there twice. Check out process was smooth but I was sad to leave Tabacon.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    526
    192
    85
    57
See reviews for
397
1,010
32
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I came here for the first half of our honeymoon and we were very happy with our stay. Upon arrival we were greeted kindly and given a warm welcome. The bell boys were so kind and the front desk was very professional.

We stayed in one of the rainforest suites and our room was beautiful. Upon arrival we were given a fruit platter and a bottle of Prosecco. The rest of our stay we had great service from housekeeping and we had a small issue with our soaking tub and we had someone from maintenance at our room within minutes.

The hot springs were wonderful. We found the evening to be the best time to go as far as crowds. We never felt like it was over crowded and we loved relaxing in the hot water. The bathhouses were always so clean.

It is a very expensive place to stay and our only deductions would be to request for there to be a little more of an incentive to be a guest at Tabacon. With so many tours and the ability for people to buy day passes to the springs, it would be nice for there to be more offers for guests like a complimentary continental breakfast or drink specials at the bar (guests get $2 off maybe?). We also were not completely happy with the offerings for meals at the hotel but we went into La Fortuna for most of our meals. We had rented a car so we were not paying cab fees. It was easy to go into town and park!

Overall, we loved staying at Tabacon and felt like it was an amazing way to kick off our honeymoon.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Tabacon Grand Thermal Spa! Wow what a place. The hot springs did not disappoint. Absolutely wonderful. Now for the resort review.
Check-in:
Check-in was seamless.
Our Room:
We stayed in the Ambassador Suite. Gorgeous room. Did I say gorgeous room, just wanted to make sure I mention it (smile).The view from our room was breathtaking. We ignored the sock that we found that was left behind from the previous guests when first checked in and deemed overall it was clean. The Ambassador Suite has one master bedroom and a second bedroom that is enormous (not complaining at all) with two queen size beds. We were blown away by the Master Bedroom that is pure luxury. I do not want to downplay this room. Just stunning. We were comfortable with lots of space. The second bedroom is not shabby by no stretch. The only critique is that some of the space used for the second bedroom should be used for a second bathroom. The reason I mentioned this “minor” critique is because I traveled with a group of friends for a 40th birthday celebration and there was some bathroom congestion from time-to-time. I must mention one more time that the suite is gorgeous and the best that I have ever stayed in.
Staff:
The staff did a very good job. Rides are provided to and from the Thermal Spa/Hot Springs all day and evening with no problem. The wait staff did an outstanding job. There was only one waiter (I do not know his name) who was very “short” with us boarding on the line of being rude. We brushed him off because everyone else was very accommodating, kind and professional.
Dining:
There is two restaurants on the property (Los Tucanes and I cannot remember the name of the second one because we did not dine there). The food was good, not blown away by it. The best meal was breakfast (I really enjoyed the breakfast buffet) everything that you can think of and choose from. The coffee is delicious.
Activities/Adventures/Entertainment:
The lobby has a bar and some live entertainment (we did not spend much time there). We did the Sky Walk and Sky Tram tour. The hike through the Rain Forest (jungle) was amazing. Some in the group did the White Water Rafting. They reported an awesome experience. The “real” adventure is the ride to the resort and to any of the activities that you may take part in. As our driver “Goose” (that is the name he go by) described it as a “Costa Rican Massage”. If you are not in the habit of wearing a seatbelt…you will wear it when you are there.
The highlight (for me the reason for staying at Tabacon) is the Hot Springs! It should be mandatory for guests to experience it. Exceptional, Amazing, Magnificent, Rejuvenating etc. You get the picture.
Con:
Phone calls back to the USA is NOT included with the room. We were told it was and made some calls home. The “issue” was resolved after going back and forth with the front desk.
Would I recommend this resort? Absolutely! Would I return? Absolutely!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Decided to stay here because it looked beautiful, and for access to hot springs. Everything was perfect! Great grounds with mature tropical flowers. Dinner and breakfast were fabulous at restaurant by pool- delicious fresh fish and fruits. Amazing that Springs are naturally so hot. We went at night after a long day of sight seeing, and it was charming!!!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for three nights, the hot springs were spectacular.. the rooms , specifically room 419 smelled like mildew. ... The food is extremely overpriced. But the service is good. It's better to eat in the town La fortuna but Transportation is $20 USC each way so it can get costly. It's cheaper to eat in the town of la fortuna.

Room Tip: Room 419, the ceiling fans make a lot of noise. The bed squeaks if you toss & turn. Smell of mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If you love the water and the heat of thermals, this is like the Disneyland of thermals ( minus the crowds and kids)! We started out near the hotel enjoying the poolside springs. Then we ventured out on the various paths that meandered through the foliage. We found one spring after another that got progressively warmer and less crowded. Then we hit the furthest thermal that had a bar and was more romantic for couples and adult atmosphere! Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We only came for the springs and the dinner buffet, and did not stay here. There was so much variety, but I would have liked more variety in local, traditional foods.
Being in the springs was like being in a jungle. We went at night in the middle of the week and it was very quiet, and because the place was quite large, lots of people were able to have their own private space. We were on our adventure honeymoon and this was a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.