We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Playa potreero
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had the most spectacular time at Tabacon, the service was truely amazing , they make you feel so important . We ate dinner at the restaurant and it was great, being from Alberta we know our beef we each had a steak and it was great. We live most of our months in Costa Rica and as a rule we stay away from beef but we were so pleased to finally enjoy a tender piece of beef....the staff were also so quick to help with what ever you need. If you want a special time in the Rainforest I seriously recommend you Stay at Tabacon. The Rainforest rooms are where you want to be and I say it is worth very penny, you will walk in the room and your mouth will drop......thank you Tabacon for a fabulous stay we will be back

Room Tip: We stayed in any rooms and I think the Rainforest rooms are the best 700's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    502
    190
    84
    55
See reviews for
374
982
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed 4 nights in Tabacon, service was great, ambience was fantastic, and thermal water was soothing. Breakfast buffet was excellent but dinner buffet was just OK. Concierge was also very helpful in arranging activities. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Face the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montclair, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

In short, I was not nearly as happy with my stay at Tabacon as the plethora of reviews would have your believe. This is NOT and I repeat NOT.....NOT a 5 star facility.....not even close. This was the biggest let down actually; it's a 3+ star at best. The grounds are small, narrow, dense and uninspired. The facility is tired..it's nice...clean and perfectly fine.....but it's a far cry from 5 stars. The rooms are boring typical perfectly nice rooms.....they are 3-star+ rooms they are 100% not 5-star rooms. The coffee machine and amenities at Tabacon are exactly the same as they would be at a $125.00 Marriott. Not 5 star. The pool area was clean and nice but small and uninspired.....sensing the trend here. The food was quite nice, fruits were divine and coffee is served in a french press. But that doesn't earn you 5 stars. The staff were more or less nice....but not warm.....they were appropriate....but not authentic. Maybe its Costa Rican culture, maybe its training I don't know but they are very reserved and courteous they love following the rules and answering questions...but they don't seem to be able to connect beyond the immediate.

And they love rules.....lots of rules!

No smoking its federal law in Costa Rica and they will call the cops on you. For real. So to help serve their smoking guests they have set up a 4 x 8 (feet) shack beside the road out front (where the diesel coughing trucks belch past) where you can sit and enjoy a smoke. It's a shame actually, it's a small ugly disappointment...and it's NOT in the spirit of a 5 star facility. It's OK, I took my cigars sat outside my little patio area and brazenly broke federal law. I didn't make a fuss and enjoyed the hell outta those bad boys and had a magnificent view of Volcan Arenal.

And finally for the hot springs....they are magnificent truly a special experience. They are an ornate collection of resting pools within which one can lounge and relax. The water is naturally heated to "hot tub" temperature, the grounds are beautiful lush and inspired...the hot springs are, in fact, a 5-star experience. I had a lunch buffet one day $30.00 pp and was quite pleased.

This is an appropriate place for a couple, only a couple. We were a group and Tabacon can't seem to service a group at all. They don't have the space or willingness to do so. So in short I'd say Arenal/La Fortuna were a memorable experience, but Tabacon just didn't live up to the hype.

Room Tip: Ask for a Volcano view. You're not guaranteed to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of Bays, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The last time we were here was 3 years ago and we have noted wonderful improvement in the thermal pools. If you are staying at the hotel, not only do you have access to the Spa before it is open to the public, but the upper area (Shangri-la) has been redesigned with beautiful lounge areas and thermal pools and is only for hotel guests over the age of 18. Also, the room was beautifol and in good condition and service throughout the resort was excellent and staff very friendly! We do wonder about the need for valet service.

The Spa gardens are still incredibly beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good hotel. Rooms are big but plain for a 5 star. Not luxury, but adequate. View from room(401) was not exciting but merely some foliage blocking a fence around parking lot. Included breakfast was excellent -nice buffet with eggs to order. Great fruit bar.
The hot springs saves the overall experience. Beautiful grounds, rain forest(with lots of rain) but kind of neat in 90 degree plus water. Tremendous variety of plants. Plan on plenty of time for spa. Did not take excursions due to the rain.

Room Tip: See other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at Tabacon for our honeymoon during the first week of December. From the moment we pulled up to the resort, we knew we were in excellent hands. As soon as we stepped out of our rental car, which the staff unloaded and parked, we were greeted with delicious tropical fruit juice drinks. We were upgraded to the deluxe honeymoon suite, which was gorgeous. We walked into our suite to find champagne on ice, a generous plate of fruit, and a lovely welcome note. The entire resort is beautiful, the grounds are impeccable, the hot springs are a dream, the food is delicious, and the service is the best we have experienced at any resort (and we have traveled a lot). The staff was always available to take guests from the main restaurant to their rooms in their golf carts; although the resort is very walkable, we called for a ride a couple of times (when we were checking out and when it was raining), and we didn't have to wait more than a minute. Similarly, there was never a long wait for the shuttle that transports guests to and from the hot springs/spa, which are just a 7-minute walk from the guest rooms. We could go on and on about Tabacon, as we were blown away by the resort and especially by the service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Tabacón Grand Spa is the perfect resort for rest and relaxation. The resort is beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful; however, the restaurants and room service are mediocre at best. Most of the resort closes by 10pm so, be prepared! Otherwise, everything was spectacular! Tabacón was phenomenal.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.