We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, romantic, beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Relaxing, romantic, beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

These thermal springs are beautiful and very relaxing. We saw lots of couples like us but also families too. The atmosphere was overall relaxing. I would suggest to bring water shoes to protect your feet in the natural springs. We purchased a dinner pass 6pm to 10pm through there online wesite which cost 70 per person. $50 Locker and $20 towel rental deposit are quite expensive as of 8-5-14 but it was returned if you don't lose their items. The food at the buffet and the drinks at the bar were delicious. I can't comment on the hotel because we didn't stay at their hotel.

Room Tip: Wear water shoes in thermal spas
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,013
    466
    183
    82
    54
See reviews for
352
916
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel itself was ok but the resort/spa/hotspring was exceptional. Nothing else in the world like it. but you can just pay $65 to visit the hot springs for the day pass. The room was ok. The staff was pretty nice. View was pretty nice aswell but when i went it was cloudy so we couldnt really see the volcano too much. The hotels resturants and drinks are crazy expensive and taxed!!! But overall my boyfriend and i had a really good experience, not our favorite tho.
BTW be ready to walk or wait for a golf cart to get from your room to anywhere in the hotel. Also you need to catch a shuttle to get to the hotsprings/spa area. Kinda a mission but it was fine. I would stay somewhere else next time....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Please keep in mind, this review is of a 5-star resort, not a Hampton Inn. Reception, fine. Room, OK, although bathroom needs update. View, spectacular. Food, acceptable. Hot springs area, really without equal, incredible. What was lacking? Two major issues: dining options. No snack bar or other less than full meal option. At $40 and up per meal, this is a problem. #2, laundry. The local activities involve a lot of water and dirt, but laundry prices start at $2.50 for underwear (!!??!!). This resort should have complementary washers and dryers, or at least coin laundry available. Note, you are somewhat captive here as it is $20 each way cab fare to town for cheaper dining options also. Kind of felt nickel and dimed to death by the time we left. Oh, wifi was excellent.

Room Tip: Top floor of whatever building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from Arenal where we stayed at Tabacon.
We had a "superior room with king bed" and it was great (we asked for a volcano view if possible, and were able to get it-see pics). We were greeted with fresh justice drinks when we checked in and all the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Beautiful landscape throughout the hotel and the pool near our room was also clean and great. We also payed for the breakfast which was a little pricy but it was really worth it. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, both local food and more american/international food.
The only small complaint we would have is the room walls seemed thin, when we were in the room we could hear the tv and the people in the rooms next to us. We weren't in the room much so it was not a major issue for us.
The spa was just down the road (they provide a free shuttle if you dint feel like walking) and was also beautiful and clean. It can get a little busy but it was big enough to still find areas to relax in the pools without a big crowd. Had dinner at the spa the last night, which was okay enough, we would of probably preferred to go into town if we had the time (both for better food and better price).

Overall, great service and would definitely stay there again if we had the choice…and get the breakfast!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a volcano room if possible! And get the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were on our honeymoon and this was one of the three hotels we stayed at. Not our favorite. We loved the hot springs. Pool was lovely. Front desk staff was kind but didn't give off an extremely welcoming vibe. The hotel room was adequate- not sure why there is a jacuzzi given the hot springs on premises. The hotel offered an upgrade to a 'honeymoon suite' with 2 full size beds, which we declined. I certainly expected more of the hotel room. I understand the environment, but we couldn't even leave a window open because the screen was unattached and I didn't want any extra wildlife in the room. Food/Drink were extremely expensive in my opinion ($36 per person for the buffet dinner which wasn't even that good) and I live in the NY metro area. I was shocked at NYC drink prices ($11 for a cocktail) in the jungle of Costa Rica. It was the only hotel of the 3 that charged us for non-alcoholic drinks/water from the mini bar (beware of the $4.50 granola bars). All of that being said, I hope to return to Costa Rica but will not be returning to Tabacon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Wonderful stay! The accommodations were top-of-the-line, as was the staff. The jacuzzi inside our room was HUGE, and they offered a mini laptop. The thermal baths were enchanting and relaxing. You won't regret your stay here.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suites are lovely and extremely well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It was a bit of a trek for us to arrive to the Arenal area, but once we did we were super impressed with Tabacon. At check-in, we were greated with specialty cocktails. A bell boy escorted us to our suite via golf cart because everything is spaced out. Our room was lovely! The only downside is that on-site restaurants are quite expensive. We ventured off premises one day where we had breakfast for 3 Colones, and lunch for 6 Colones. The hotel is very overpriced, we realized; however, it is worth it if you plan to spend time at the Tabacon Spa and hot water springs. It's a main tourist attraction. So, as a guest, entry to the springs is included with unlimited access. The spa is fantastic. We each had a private outdoor massage and it was lovely to be laying in the middle of nature, and to hear the animal and insect sounds during the massage treatment. The spa itself is an experience. You can lounge around all day, enjoy their drinks, bath in their hot tubs, get a massage or other treatments, etc.

I would highly recommend Tabacon to anyone who is looking for luxury!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.