We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just got back from Arenal where we stayed at Tabacon.
We had a "superior room with king bed" and it was great (we asked for a volcano view if possible, and were able to get it-see pics). We were greeted with fresh justice drinks when we checked in and all the staff were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Beautiful landscape throughout the hotel and the pool near our room was also clean and great. We also payed for the breakfast which was a little pricy but it was really worth it. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, both local food and more american/international food.
The only small complaint we would have is the room walls seemed thin, when we were in the room we could hear the tv and the people in the rooms next to us. We weren't in the room much so it was not a major issue for us.
The spa was just down the road (they provide a free shuttle if you dint feel like walking) and was also beautiful and clean. It can get a little busy but it was big enough to still find areas to relax in the pools without a big crowd. Had dinner at the spa the last night, which was okay enough, we would of probably preferred to go into town if we had the time (both for better food and better price).

Overall, great service and would definitely stay there again if we had the choice…and get the breakfast!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a volcano room if possible! And get the breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear R L

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. We focus our efforts to exceed your expectations and create a memorable vacation. Our guests are able to start the day off right with our Breakfast Buffet Special that includes a wide selection of fruit juices, fresh bakery, jams, selection of cheeses, cold meats, yogurt and fruit, egg station, selection of hot main and side dishes, eggs and our traditional Costa Rican tortillas and corn pancakes. We do offer 2 restaurants at the resort, Ave del Paraiso Restaurant that is our casual option and Los Tucanes Restaurant our fine-dining option. Our thermal springs emerges from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools that goes by gravity through the property as a natural river, since part of our philosophy is to keep nature as an integrated part of Tabacon experience the thermal springs area is surrounded by the forest and lush tropical gardens. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future and we really appreciate your preference.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    481
    187
    82
    54
See reviews for
362
937
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were on our honeymoon and this was one of the three hotels we stayed at. Not our favorite. We loved the hot springs. Pool was lovely. Front desk staff was kind but didn't give off an extremely welcoming vibe. The hotel room was adequate- not sure why there is a jacuzzi given the hot springs on premises. The hotel offered an upgrade to a 'honeymoon suite' with 2 full size beds, which we declined. I certainly expected more of the hotel room. I understand the environment, but we couldn't even leave a window open because the screen was unattached and I didn't want any extra wildlife in the room. Food/Drink were extremely expensive in my opinion ($36 per person for the buffet dinner which wasn't even that good) and I live in the NY metro area. I was shocked at NYC drink prices ($11 for a cocktail) in the jungle of Costa Rica. It was the only hotel of the 3 that charged us for non-alcoholic drinks/water from the mini bar (beware of the $4.50 granola bars). All of that being said, I hope to return to Costa Rica but will not be returning to Tabacon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Wonderful stay! The accommodations were top-of-the-line, as was the staff. The jacuzzi inside our room was HUGE, and they offered a mini laptop. The thermal baths were enchanting and relaxing. You won't regret your stay here.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suites are lovely and extremely well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear cognoscenti13

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your room, the in-room Jacuzzi as well as the amenities. Our main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad we met your expectations. The natural hot springs river at the base of Arenal Volcano in the heart of the rainforest creates a unique place to relax. We look forward to the privilege of serving you on a return trip to Tabacón.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

It was a bit of a trek for us to arrive to the Arenal area, but once we did we were super impressed with Tabacon. At check-in, we were greated with specialty cocktails. A bell boy escorted us to our suite via golf cart because everything is spaced out. Our room was lovely! The only downside is that on-site restaurants are quite expensive. We ventured off premises one day where we had breakfast for 3 Colones, and lunch for 6 Colones. The hotel is very overpriced, we realized; however, it is worth it if you plan to spend time at the Tabacon Spa and hot water springs. It's a main tourist attraction. So, as a guest, entry to the springs is included with unlimited access. The spa is fantastic. We each had a private outdoor massage and it was lovely to be laying in the middle of nature, and to hear the animal and insect sounds during the massage treatment. The spa itself is an experience. You can lounge around all day, enjoy their drinks, bath in their hot tubs, get a massage or other treatments, etc.

I would highly recommend Tabacon to anyone who is looking for luxury!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hello SMG0083

We appreciate your comments. Tabacon is located on 872 acres of lush rainforest and our hot spring river emerges from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools that goes through the property by gravity forming in-river pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. We are glad you enjoyed the hot springs and that you took advantage of the unlimited access to the thermal area that was include in your room rate during your stay. The Grand Spa is the perfect complement for a relaxing experience, it has been considered as one of the top eco-spas all over the world, all the treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private Jacuzzis. I look forward to welcome you back for another luxurious stay.

With gratitude
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights....for the area, it's one of the top resorts to stay in. The spa was by far the best experience we've ever had and enjoyed it greatly. The rooms were not "5 Stars" though- more like 'rustic' with charm. The food was expensive and not that great. But the hot springs were amazing and great place to relax and enjoy the rain forest. Wi-Fi was good in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear crm519

Thank you for choosing Tabacon as your thermal resort during your mother-daughter vacation. I am delighted to know that our service and our relaxing hot springs contributed to exceed your expectations during your vacation. We appreciate your opinion about the food options, I forwarded it with our F&B team. We really appreciate your preference and I look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I can not say enough wonderful things about our stay at Tabacon. This was our second visit to the hotel. Our first being our honeymoon. Although we intended to visit for our Anniversary in December, when we were unable to get reservations for Tabacon, we rescheduled our trip for August. Upon arrival, our standard room was upgraded to a suite. This was a wonderful perk when traveling with 2 children. The staff also remembered our Anniversary and sent a cake to our room one night to add to our celebration. We participated in day tours in the area and it was great to have access to the hot springs before and after our outings.

The tour company that operates from the hotel were extremely helpful in setting up day tours and transportation once we arrived.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Cindy A

We very much appreciate your review. Thank you for your preference and for sharing with us this special occasion; our main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest and we are glad we met your expectations. The hot springs and the rainforest create a great option for couples and families. Small details as your anniversary cake is part of Tabacon experience and we are happy to know you enjoyed the surprise, thank you for letting us celebrate those special moments with you. We appreciate your preference and look forward to serve you again at Tabacon in the near future.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Read the review by Deglenye: i expected more from a 5 star resort with 5 star prices. I was not impressed by their service nor food or employees or cleaning, again with 5 stars in mind. We had a good time in the spa, which is top. I paid 300 a night which includes a day pass for the spa for 2. Food excluded. Food is the same every day and 30 for breakfast is too much for me who wants just a coffee and toast.
I will come back for the baths definitly, for the hotel? I am not sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.