We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tabacon is amazingly beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Tabacon is amazingly beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel and the adjacent hot springs will take your breath away. It's a little pricey but the springs themselves are so worth it. It's one of the most romantic places I've ever been and perfect for our honeymoon!

Room Tip: While there are amazing honeymoon suites that you can see Arenal volcano from, the regular rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    942
    456
    177
    82
    54
See reviews for
329
881
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful hotel with a romantic atmosphere. This is definitely a place for couples but still good for more mature families. The service was very good and offers activities such as zip-lining and canoeing to observe the tropical canopy. In addition, the hot springs are amazing! They have a multitude of water basins with various temperatures and depth. They even have a zen area reserved for adults with a bar and lounge area, all with relaxing music. Overall a wonderful experience. Plus, the restaurant at the thermal springs was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Amazing Hot Spring Resort in La Fortuna. Exceptional Service and grounds. Private adult only area with private bar and hot springs. Couples Spa Massage package was amazing. Would definitely visit the property again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we did use the hot springs....and I'm really glad we did :)
We almost didn't go in because of the $60 entrance fee, but I convinced my husband and off we went. The hot springs are AMAZING!!! The water is the perfect temperature and there are plenty of pools to choose from. There is also a regular pool on the property, with a swim up bar! We spent about 5 hours here just lounging and drinking and watching World Cup soccer! A great day :)
They also have showers and towel service...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed one night on June 27, 2014. Outstanding service, responsive to needs/requests, and we had a great view of the volcano in the 300 building.

Hot Springs are a nice respite from the drive from airport.

No restaurant experience other than hot springs swim-up bar....which was simple and good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel staff very attentive. Had an excellent room 201, a one story building with sitting area and sliding doors to a beautiful garden. Rooms 203-206 have Arenal view when not cloudy. Gurarded entrance with very comfortable open-air lobby and 3 station computers with many relaxing chairs amid the incredible flowered landscape.Ever-ready shuttle bus to the thermals about 200 yards next door. Nice open air restaurant overlooking the large, thermal- heated hotel pool. The thermal pools are incredible, with secluded waterfalls, flowered paths, hidden pools, an adult-only area for hotel guests, nice large pool with slide and swim up bar. Couple of cold pools to cool off before hitting the thermals again. Had my 17 year old son, who really enjoyed it. Can't wait to go back with my girlfriend for an incredible romantic experience. Springs are open 9am - 10pm. Walking trails. Bring a camera to the thermals.

Room Tip: Arenal is usually shrouded in clouds, but ask to check out the room first to see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So this is star rating is a little off - I'll break it down below

HOT SPRINGS = 5 stars
Ummm, amazing. The whole place is brimming with natural hot spring rivers that pool in areas and you walk around dipping in and out of said pools as you wish. Some are natural (leaves, dirt etc) and some are clean, chlorinated (or something) fully manmade areas. All of them are nestled amongst trees, ferns, waterfalls. Seriously amazing. They also have one big classic hot pool with a bar that did the best Pina Colada's we had in Costa Rica. I highly recommend the hot springs.

HOT SPRINGS RESTAURANT = 0 stars
DO NOT EAT HERE. Awful. It is a buffet and we had Chinese night and all we could taste is salt.

HOTEL = depends how you rate things...
Personally it was a 1-2 star experience for us. It wasn't clear when looking on their site or when booking the hot springs are a 15 minute walk down the road. The hotel itself is made up of building blocks with fancy rooms racked and stacked in them. The staff were sweet and helpful, but it felt like a big old waste of money form our perspective. I like a bit of decadence, the rooms were clean and plush, but this just felt soulless. We didn't eat here or use the pool on the property but based on the food at the hot springs I definitely didn't feel like we were missing out... We splashed out on a night here and (if it wasn't for the distance) would have preferred to stay at Mystica Lodge where we had been.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.