We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa unbelivable/room average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spa unbelivable/room average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The spa is like something I have never experienced. Had a 'lommi lommi" massage and I think I even fell asleep because I was so relaxed. The staff treat you "royally", and make the experience like one you will never forget. You have a light smoothie before your massage with some cucumbers and then another one after your tx. with fruit accompanying it.
The pools are glorious and there is even a spot just for adults to relax that is quieter then some of the other pools.
The room was very very average!! We asked for a sitting chair to be brought in because there was none and obviously a "huge" spot one could have been placed and the staff stated we would need to "upgrade" to get a chair? Ridiculous when you are already spending over $250/night. Very Very average.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the road. We wanted a view of the volcano and they said they didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    893
    436
    170
    81
    55
See reviews for
312
843
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wow....worth every dollar to stay here. Staff was exceptional, food was good and the grounds lovely. Easy commutes to La Fortuna and surrounding area for tours. The best part was being able to soak in the mineral pools. It's dream like, a slice of heaven.

Stay at sunset and listen to the birds getting ready to bed down for the night in the jungle. Late evening is also lovely under the stars. If I disappear in life this is where you'll find me...

Room Tip: Try to get view of volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear d h,

On behalf of Tabacon team we would like to thank you for sharing with us your valued review. We are really glad to know that your visit was a success, we firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon's experience. The magical setting, the rainforest and soaking in the thermal springs are key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable and turn your vacations into moments of perfect relaxation, we are looking forward to welcome you soon in our Resort in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent three nights at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort and have very positive things to say about the experience. We found the staff to be uniformly friendly and the hotel itself (from the front desk to the rooms to the restaurant) to be clean, attractive and comfortable. The hot springs (which are about a three minute walk from the hotel itself, though there are frequent shuttle buses which run between the two) are absolutely stunning - we never got tired of exploring the multiple pools and streams (hotel guests should note that there is a restricted access area of the hot springs which is reserved especially for hotel guests, with its own separate bar and lounge area and which is serene and secluded).

Tabacon is quite removed from anything nearby - it's at least a 10 minute drive to La Fortuna (the nearest town) - so we would recommend either having your own car (valet parking was included in the cost of our room, and we never waited more than a couple of minutes for our car to be brought around), or being prepared to pay extra for taxis.

A few thoughts on the price and the food. There's no getting around the fact that Tabacon is expensive, but we thought that the quality of the hotel amenities and its surroundings justified the cost. A buffet breakfast costs US$30 per person - though, frankly, given the quality of the food and the pleasant setting, we were comfortable paying that for the convenience of wandering a few seconds from our room for a filling meal sitting by the thermal pool. We had lunch one day at the lobby bar - expensive, but a decent meal. We found that dinner was where the restaurant really shone: again quite pricey (around US$120 (including taxes and tip) for three course dinner for two with a couple of glasses of wine each), but we found the food and service simply outstanding - by far the best meals we enjoyed in Costa Rica were dinner at Tabacon.

We would recommend Tabacon to anyone looking for an upscale location and who is comfortable paying a premium price for the experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear bttravellerToronto,

We appreciate your time for sharing with us your comments. Our aim is always to improve and provide our guests a high quality service. We are glad you enjoyed the hot springs and took advantage of the unlimited access to more than 20 pools and cascades with different temperatures where you can have a getaway and just relax. Shangri-La Gardens is our secluded and exclusive area for hotel guests older than 18 years. Free shuttle is available and there is also a trail that connect the hotel and the thermal springs area. We are happy to know you enjoyed our food options at Los Tucanes Restaurant as well as our traditional buffet breakfast with lots of options to delight your senses. We are sincerely grateful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a 7 hour flight to Costa Rica and a 3.5 hour drive from the airport, we were just about ready to collapse. As we checked in to the hotel we were greeted by multiple friendly faces, we were also offered a welcome drink consisting of fresh juices.
While making reservations made sure to include the reason for our trip which happened to be my boyfriends birthday. I made note of this and received an email almost instantly asking the date. our room was by far the most amazing room I have ever stayed in. We were in a honeymoon suite and had breath taking views. Each morning we were able to enjoy an all inclusive breakfast, I was expecting breakfasts to be simple egg/toast/fresh fruit....boy was I was wrong. We had the option of 6 fresh fruit juices (also able to request a smoothie), a variety of breads and breakfast croissants, a table filled with cold cut meats and cheeses, another table piled high with fresh cut fruits, an omelet bar where the chef is able to prepare an omelet with ANYTHING that you'd like, delicious waffles, pancakes, chiliquiles, a traditional potato dish, bacon, sausage, and the list goes on. We stayed here three nights and each morning I woke up at 7 am looking forward to breakfast.
The staff was very professional and helpful in multiple ways. Each time we left the room to enjoy the hot spring we were welcomed back to a clean room even once including birthday goodies provided by the hotel.
We rented a car and the valet had it waiting for us each time we needed it to take the quick drive into town.
We will definitely be staying at this hotel in the future

Room Tip: The rooms in the 500 building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello caitlinfc,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. We are extremely happy to know that you decided to visit Tabacon to enjoy your boyfriend's birthday with us, we love to celebrate with our guests. Our main objective is to offer a world-class service and we know that attention to details makes the difference, that's why we customized our guest's experience as the beautiful example you share in regards to the birthdays goodies. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet that as you mention include several and fresh options to choose from. We look forward to serve you again!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at this hotel after our stay in Monteverde. I was expecting great things because this hotel is so highly reviewed and sought after but overall we were left feeling a sense of being ripped off, despite the beautiful grounds and springs. As a preface, when we travel we like to stay in nice places and expect to pay for it, but Tabacon was in another league.

Like many other reviewers will tell you, this hotel has the most breathtakingly beautiful hot springs you will ever see in your life. We booked this hotel largely because of this feature (something that non-guest would have to pay $60 each for), and we definitely made good use of it in the afternoon and at night. They are AMAZING. These springs pretty much made up for everything that faulted the hotel.

Now, the stuff we had some issues with...
Booking wasn't a pleasant experience (this is strictly in my case) with the reservations desk but when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded into a rainforest suite (beautiful room).

The tour desk guy didn't seem to be very helpful. He didn't really provide us much assistance or guidance booking tours and seemed pushy and promoted certain tours over others. We ended up booking tours in town for much better prices in the end.

As a 5* hotel, that prides itself as being a prime hotel for the area, as a courtesy you should offer some daily shuttles into town!!! At least 3 per day would be nice. They have shuttles that will drive you to the hotel springs (5min walk) but a shuttle to town occasionally would have been nice given the rate they charge. Had we have known how far this hotel is from town, we would have rented a car (our mistake). We had to take taxis in and out of town at least once a day (16-18$ each way). Its fine if you are going to stay at the hotel the entire time but if not, either rent a car or be prepared to take costly taxis.

Dining at the hotel is pricey. We knew that breakfast wasn't included in the rate (the only hotel in our 10 night stay in Costa Rica to not offer breakfast, and the most expensive), but they charge $30 per person for breakfast and $36 per person for a lunch buffet including ONE iced tea or guava juice. CMON. For the limited options (one meat, one fish, pasta and salad bar) and the ONE drink maximum, $36 pp is steep in my opinion. Yes, they do have an a la carte menu but don't think that its any better. I had a ceviche and guacamole poolside at the springs and I wasn't at all impressed. Watery ceviche that had been sitting in its lime juice too long. Luckily the drinks at the springs were amazing. For breakfast for the three days we stayed at the hotel, we ended up taking a taxi to town to Rainforest Cafe and having amazing breakfasts and fresh juices before starting our day. All for under $30 for two.

Overall I felt that we had a good stay at this hotel because of the beautiful room and the springs. If you stay here, anticipate high, overly inflated prices, and having to take taxis...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First time in Costa Rica. Tabacon & the hot springs were great. Had a fantastic view of Arenal volcano from our room. Spent a lot of time in the hot springs. All planned thru Puretrek. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Cari S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon. We are pleased that you enjoy the volcano view from your room.Our guests are able to explore more than 20 different cascades, pools and waterfalls all of them of natural thermal water with a high mineral content immerse in a natural location, that provides a romantic and relaxing moment. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tabacon is really beautiful, family friendly, and the hot springs are wonderful. The food at Los Tucanes is excellent, and the included breakfast has a vast selection and is delicious. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodation. My only complaint is the fold-out sofa bed (the room has one king bed and a fold-out sofa bed) is terribly uncomfortable--thin mattress with bumps and downward slope. We ended up asking for a roll away bed--one person slept in the rollaway, and the other three slept in the king-sized bed. For the cost of accommodations, a more comfortable second bed could be provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear cindyp212,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you decided to stay with us and live the Tabacon experience, having the opportunity to relax in natural thermal mineral springs. We are glad you enjoyed the options offered by Los Tucanes Restaurant, all the dishes are prepared with the best ingredients to satisfy our guests tastes, our buffet breakfast offers the most fresh costarican and international products to satisfy our guests tastes. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere, Amex, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.