We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Courteous staff, great amenities and hot springs-this resort was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The standard room was okay, nothing too special but just to have access to the hot springs made it an excellent stay. The bed was slightly uncomfortable for me, I found the mattress very stiff.

Breakfast buffet was decent, had a pretty good selection. We also went there for dinner once, but mostly ate out in the town. My only recommendation is to arrange your own taxi instead of asking the concierge because the cab fares was almost double if you book it through the hotel. The hot springs were always busy, but you can walk around and find spots with fewer people. The spa was beautiful, and we found the prices of the spa services very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    433
    169
    81
    55
See reviews for
309
838
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a very nice time here. Our rooms were adequate. There was only luke warm showers but it was pretty warm out so it was only slightly unpleasant. The hot spring pools were awsome. The hotel only pool was not crowded and very big. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The reason I would not stay again was the expensive "extras". It was $32 dollars round trip just to get downtown. There were only on site restaraunts which were very expensive (breakfast for 2 adults, 2 children $100, dinner $140). A can of diet Coke was $4. Make sure you consider this when booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is no finer remedy for travel weariness than a leisurely soak in hot springs followed by open air spa services. All this in the shadow of a gently smoking, mostly dormant volcano. Three friends and I started our Costa Rican adventure with a stay at Tabacon. The rooms were nice enough with very comfortable beds and pleasant semi-private gardens outside the sliding glass doors. Our rooms faced Arenal so the view was marvelous. The bathrooms were poorly lit with single sinks which made sharing a bit challenging. Both the hot springs and the spa were excellent. Hotel guests get access to an exclusive area - Shangri La - with private hot springs, plush lounge furniture and very kind staff who will bring drinks to you as you recline. In fact, all of the staff were very attentive and service oriented. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will visit again.

Room Tip: We were in building 8 on the ground floor which gave us access to our little gardens, complete with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in the honeymoon suite. The room was muggy, wet, and smelled like mold. We had the air conditioning on full blast and it was not helping at all. My husband got sick from the fruit plate that was left in our room to greet us upon our arrival. We took a closer look at the fruit after he got sick and we found mold all over the strawberries. After 2 days of being sick, we decided to leave a day early. We spoke to management about the situation and he only offered to have a doctor come and examine my husband for free. We asked him to kindly visit the room to see for himself the horrible smell. After much debate, he went to the room and came back and claimed it was perfectly fine! The room was unhealthy and so much like mold, he clearly was lying. He offered to move us to another room but we explained that my husband was throwing for 2 days and we just wanted to leave. We asked for him to help us out with the last night. He said that he would charge us "something" for the cancelation and printed the bill as if he was doing us a favor. The bill had the third night at full price. We said I thought you were going to penalize for cancelation? He said yes the full night. He was not willing to work with is at all even though they gave us moldy fruit and a disgustingly smelly room. The service at this hotel is also terrible. People are not very friendly. It is not worth the price at all! Go to a nearby hotel and use the hot springs which are open to the public. Don't the mistake of spending a fortune on a place with terrible service and food and horrible management.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, General Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Greetings. As always, we extend our gratitude for the time you invested in writing your review. As you may remember Ms.Kougemitros, we spent considerable time attempting to address all your needs and requests while you visited our Hotel. We offered you a change of rooms, upgrades and Room Service.

Our Manager on Duty, the person you refer as "he", visited with you and made a determination based on his observations, which we support. We understand you are upset as we could not waive our cancellation policy for early check-out.

While we normally make every effort to accommodate our guests' requests, when the Hotel enjoys full occupancy as it did during your stay, we are unable to waive such policies.

Thank you for your attention. You are welcome to contact me, if there is anything at all I can do from this end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, the hot springs themselves are wonderful and the spa one of the best spa experiences I have ever had. Everyone working at the resort was friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and well kept, although nothing special. Given the price of a day pass to the hot springs it quickly becomes a pretty good value and easy choice to stay here. The food, on the other hand, is overpriced and average at the very best. There are only a couple of choices for eating if you don't want to venture out on the roads at night. The main restaurant tries to be fancy, but the food does not get close to living up to the prices or setting. It isn't bad exactly, just terribly bland. Given the price it should have been better. The food at the hot springs is not good and is not much more affordable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel and it's hot springs are amazing. It is truly impossible to describe it in words and the pictures we saw on line do not do it justice. I cannot imagine that heave could be more beautiful than the Shangri-la area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi Marie W,

We appreciate your valuable comments. We are happy that you decided to stay with us and you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and our unique natural thermal springs that emerges from the Arenal Volcano. Shangri La Gardens is our private area just for hotel guests where you can have the most unique and relaxing experience. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is by far the best resort I ever visited. Everyone here has been extremely polite and helpful. The hot springs are amazing after a long day of activities. Reyner who works at Jacamar ( the front desk ) tours has been very helpful planning my family's tours. ( night walk, sky tram and trek, white water rafting class 2 @ 3, horseback riding to Fortuna waterfall and sky river drift ). I would skip the night walk ( my kids like enjoyed it, my wife and I thought it was just ok ). The food here is very pricey. You can take a taxi to town ( $18 ) and back ( $15 ) just to eat. A better option is walking about ten minutes down the road to Cascajo's del Arenal. It's the best food we found in Arenal. The view is amazing and the staff working there are very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear David T,

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them.
It was an honor to receive you and your family as our guests at Tabacon. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our thermal resort where the exuberant gardens and the natural hot springs river let our guests enjoy in the heart of the rainforest. Additionally, for adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours to discover Costa Rica's magical setting. In regards to cuisine we offer different options: buffet, a la carte, and special snacks menus so you can choose between different options depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our packages if staying multiple nights. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Amex, Venere, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list