We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm volcanic mud wrap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm volcanic mud wrap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

There is no finer remedy for travel weariness than a leisurely soak in hot springs followed by open air spa services. All this in the shadow of a gently smoking, mostly dormant volcano. Three friends and I started our Costa Rican adventure with a stay at Tabacon. The rooms were nice enough with very comfortable beds and pleasant semi-private gardens outside the sliding glass doors. Our rooms faced Arenal so the view was marvelous. The bathrooms were poorly lit with single sinks which made sharing a bit challenging. Both the hot springs and the spa were excellent. Hotel guests get access to an exclusive area - Shangri La - with private hot springs, plush lounge furniture and very kind staff who will bring drinks to you as you recline. In fact, all of the staff were very attentive and service oriented. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will visit again.

Room Tip: We were in building 8 on the ground floor which gave us access to our little gardens, complete with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear jmh8846,

Thank you for your time writting this review, Costa Rica is a country full of surprises we are glad you got to see Tabacon as part of your Costa Rica Trip. Our natural thermal springs coming from Arenal Volcano offer a relaxing experience to our guests and we are glad you enjoy them. Our setting helps turn vacations into moments of perfect relaxation, as you mention our guests are able to extend the thermal experience at Shangri-La Gardens our exclusive area for hotel guest older than 18 years old. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future at Tabacon!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    565
    207
    85
    58
See reviews for
431
1,064
34
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in the honeymoon suite. The room was muggy, wet, and smelled like mold. We had the air conditioning on full blast and it was not helping at all. My husband got sick from the fruit plate that was left in our room to greet us upon our arrival. We took a closer look at the fruit after he got sick and we found mold all over the strawberries. After 2 days of being sick, we decided to leave a day early. We spoke to management about the situation and he only offered to have a doctor come and examine my husband for free. We asked him to kindly visit the room to see for himself the horrible smell. After much debate, he went to the room and came back and claimed it was perfectly fine! The room was unhealthy and so much like mold, he clearly was lying. He offered to move us to another room but we explained that my husband was throwing for 2 days and we just wanted to leave. We asked for him to help us out with the last night. He said that he would charge us "something" for the cancelation and printed the bill as if he was doing us a favor. The bill had the third night at full price. We said I thought you were going to penalize for cancelation? He said yes the full night. He was not willing to work with is at all even though they gave us moldy fruit and a disgustingly smelly room. The service at this hotel is also terrible. People are not very friendly. It is not worth the price at all! Go to a nearby hotel and use the hot springs which are open to the public. Don't the mistake of spending a fortune on a place with terrible service and food and horrible management.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, General Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Greetings. As always, we extend our gratitude for the time you invested in writing your review. As you may remember Ms.Kougemitros, we spent considerable time attempting to address all your needs and requests while you visited our Hotel. We offered you a change of rooms, upgrades and Room Service.

Our Manager on Duty, the person you refer as "he", visited with you and made a determination based on his observations, which we support. We understand you are upset as we could not waive our cancellation policy for early check-out.

While we normally make every effort to accommodate our guests' requests, when the Hotel enjoys full occupancy as it did during your stay, we are unable to waive such policies.

Thank you for your attention. You are welcome to contact me, if there is anything at all I can do from this end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

First, the hot springs themselves are wonderful and the spa one of the best spa experiences I have ever had. Everyone working at the resort was friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and well kept, although nothing special. Given the price of a day pass to the hot springs it quickly becomes a pretty good value and easy choice to stay here. The food, on the other hand, is overpriced and average at the very best. There are only a couple of choices for eating if you don't want to venture out on the roads at night. The main restaurant tries to be fancy, but the food does not get close to living up to the prices or setting. It isn't bad exactly, just terribly bland. Given the price it should have been better. The food at the hot springs is not good and is not much more affordable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel and it's hot springs are amazing. It is truly impossible to describe it in words and the pictures we saw on line do not do it justice. I cannot imagine that heave could be more beautiful than the Shangri-la area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hi Marie W,

We appreciate your valuable comments. We are happy that you decided to stay with us and you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and our unique natural thermal springs that emerges from the Arenal Volcano. Shangri La Gardens is our private area just for hotel guests where you can have the most unique and relaxing experience. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is by far the best resort I ever visited. Everyone here has been extremely polite and helpful. The hot springs are amazing after a long day of activities. Reyner who works at Jacamar ( the front desk ) tours has been very helpful planning my family's tours. ( night walk, sky tram and trek, white water rafting class 2 @ 3, horseback riding to Fortuna waterfall and sky river drift ). I would skip the night walk ( my kids like enjoyed it, my wife and I thought it was just ok ). The food here is very pricey. You can take a taxi to town ( $18 ) and back ( $15 ) just to eat. A better option is walking about ten minutes down the road to Cascajo's del Arenal. It's the best food we found in Arenal. The view is amazing and the staff working there are very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear David T,

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate them.
It was an honor to receive you and your family as our guests at Tabacon. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our thermal resort where the exuberant gardens and the natural hot springs river let our guests enjoy in the heart of the rainforest. Additionally, for adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours to discover Costa Rica's magical setting. In regards to cuisine we offer different options: buffet, a la carte, and special snacks menus so you can choose between different options depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our packages if staying multiple nights. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have stayed at various resorts throughout Costa Rica, but I must say my visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Resort was by far the most amazing experience yet! From the breathtakingly beautiful waterfalls and hot springs, to the resort's gorgeous suites, Tabacon definitely left their mark on my boyfriend and I... in a great way I might add! We were greeted by the staff with a welcoming smile every morning, and they were very caring and accommodating to every need. The massages at the Grand Spa in the open bungalows are a MUST, by far the most relaxing spa experience I have ever had! Between the beautiful hot springs, gorgeous suites and amazing views of the volcano, Tabacon Resort is a hidden gem in the jungle that you need to discover. I can't wait to come back, 5 stars all the way!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Ashley G,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide customized service, we are glad to know you enjoyed every single detail at Tabacon from a smile to our awarded thermal resort. We are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. Our Resort offers more than 20 thermal springs pools and cascades surrounded by tropical gardens, as a perfect complement for a relaxing experience we have The Grand Spa one of the best eco-spas in Latin America where all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all with private Jacuzzi. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The resort is a treat after rugged activities. Beautiful and serene. Front desk seems a bit "off" at times, but always trying to accommodate. Meal are pretty good and very pricey! $30 for breakfast buffet. If I was in Arenal I'd likely stay here again. But you can stay elsewhere and pay for access to their tiers and tiers and waterfalls of hot springs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear BJM47,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we appreciate it. All our hotel guest has unlimited access to the hot springs resort during their stay so you are able to enjoy different natural pools, ponds and waterfalls also the private area Shangri La Gardens just for hotel guests. We offer 2 different restaurants one located at the hotel that is our fine dining restaurant and a second one located at the hot springs area where you can get snacks, buffet options with a range of prices. We really hope to receive you again at the resort.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.