We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is another golden gem of Costa Rica, and their reputation still servers them. The grounds are perfect, the staff is nice, and the rooms are small but kept up. If I had one wish it would be that volcano still erupting! unfortunately, all it does now is steam a little.. but the pools in the spa are still hot, and the different areas of the springs go FOREVER! plenty of privacy and comfort. the massages are expensive, and other than the lava mud, its the same as anywhere in paradise. Mine was fan-tastic, my newlywed didn't appreciate the required nudity for the massage so hers was a little awkward, but I'm sure that could have been avoided--as well as asking for more pressure. I also went home with a couple pieces from the Indian guy outside the spa.. again, expensive, but really nice and something I'll have forever. hand carved and painted- not the same as something found in the World Market around the US.

The food was expensive and not that good. Drinks are a killer at $6+. Other than those optional items, this is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are nice.. skip the food and drinks here. Plenty of good restaurants arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    495
    188
    84
    54
See reviews for
370
962
30
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort. From the second we arrived we received great service, really caring and helpful staff. The resort is surround by the most gorgeous landscaping with views of the volcano. The room was comfortable and clean. The hot springs are awesome with a ton of space for everyone, easy to find little private romantic spots. :)

We went through the hotel to book our tours and everything was well priced and went very smoothly. We loved the zip line your with Sky Trek and I was just amazing with views of the lake on one side and volcano on the other. We also did the waterfall rappelling that was as enjoyable. Highly recommend both!

We took advantage of the Spa at the hot springs and it was perfect. We did a couples massage and the surroundings were beautiful, fresh smoothies upon arrival and fresh fruit to finish.

Truly lovely getaway !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mstockman22,
We deeply appreciate your review, we firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon experience. Check in process, your room, our food and beverage options and the hot springs are key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable. We loved the fact that you enjoyed everything about the hotel, the unlimited access to our natural thermal mineral springs is an add value that we offer to our marvelous hotel guests, we are glad that you also discover the multiple activities in the area for the most adventurous Costa Rica vacation! In regards to our spa, all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows where nature become an important part of the spa experience, we are happy you enjoyed your couples massage!
We llok forward for your next visit!

Best Regards 
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager     
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was a part of a team building group in February 2013 . From check in to check out everything was excellent : friendly staff , large and beautiful rooms , breakfast , dinner , the pools , the thermal springs ( not very hot , but you will enjoy the bath ) . It is a little bit difficult to find nice words to describe what I see in a few days . You really have to go if you have the opportunity

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Laurentiu-Mihai... M,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide unforgettable service, that's why is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a memorable experience during your stay with us, we are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna.
We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent just a day here, relaxing in the beautiful pools, and dining. The pools were not as hot as expected, but at around 40C were certainly warm enough. The Shangri-La gardens were stunning, and although a little out of place perhaps, were the ideal place to recharge our batteries. Just one word for dinner - amazing...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Qambathi,

We appreciate your comments. We are glad you spent a marvelous time at our resort. We offer several pools where you can find completely relaxation in the middle of the rainforest. Every single night at Ave del Paraíso Restaurant we have a international theme buffet with different options blending the most delicious ingredients to satisfy our guests. We look forward for your next visit.

Kindest Regards.
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel back in May 2013 and I have been meaning ever since to write this review. While on vacation in Costa Rica we took the chance to book this hotel based on previous Trip Advisor comments. (I work in the Hospitality Industry and am very skeptical) From the moment we arrived to our check out I experienced nothing but first class hospitality. Our check in was flawless, our room was clean with doors that opened to a beautiful view of Arenal, the hot springs were beautiful and the breakfast the next day was perfect.

Immediately after checking out, we wanted to return. Regretting our decision to check out, we turned around, booked another room on Expedia for that night. We were greeted by Javier and Lider who remembered us, and upgraded us to a huge suite complete with living room, large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, stand up shower, and work space.

I have been fortunate enough to travel a lot recently to various countries in the past year, and this has been by far my most memorable hotel experience. Friendly and genuine hospitality is difficult to come by and this hotel has mastered it. In addition to being situated on impeccable and breath taking grounds. This hotel and its staff are an all time favorite of mine and I plan to return. Stay here if you can you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Chmills,

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we appreciate it. We firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon experience. Attention to details is part of our philosophy trying to offer a memorable experience with a warm welcome, free shuttle transportation to the hot springs and the mystical ambience with the natural surroundings and the thermal mineral springs that emerge from the Arenal Volcano. Our natural environment helps turn vacations into moments of perfect relaxation. We really hope to receive you again at the resort in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been to Arenal many times and Tabacon definitely has the best thermal springs. The grounds are gorgeous and vast so you can usually find a private & serene location to relax. The resort is definitely dated and is not what I would consider 5 stars (more like 3 stars). We booked four rooms and one of the rooms had a very loud air conditioner that rattled all night long. The food and drinks at the springs and the resort are outrageously expensive. If you get a deal then it is worth staying here since the springs are included. If not, I would book elsewhere and buy a day pass directly from the springs. I gave it 4 stars because of the incredible thermal springs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano and a sliding glass door/patio. It was nice to open for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CR
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Tabacon really is worth the splurge! My first visit to Tabacon was with my husband pre-kids. We loved sitting in one of the thermal pools and drinking an adult beverage with a perfect view of Arenal. Now, we enjoy pool hoping with our kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Kristin G,

Thank for sharing with us your experience! We are glad you spend a family vacation at Tabacon, enjoying with your husband and your kids a marvelous time at the rainforest. We would love to have you at our resort soon!

Regards!
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.