We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel is very good in itself, and excellent because of the hot springs, where one could spend hours and hours relaxing in the beautiful surroundings. Service was good, room was clean with a gorgeous view to the Volcan Arenal.

The only minus were the prices of the breakfast, which are ridiculously high; 17 USD for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    503
    190
    84
    55
See reviews for
375
984
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

There has to be 2 different ratings for this hotel because i felt that the hot springs and hotel were seperate. The hot springs are fabulous and truly a wonderful experience. We enjoyed them the most at night after busy days. Know that they are open to the public, are across the street and slightly down the road from hotel. The hotel does provide a shuttle service to and from so this is why I consider these seperate in my review. The hotel felt very motel when you park your car directly in front of your door. The rooms have a patio but no seating to enjoy the outdoors from your room There is also no view to the volcano from this property, the pool on property was closed for remodeling so no outdoor space to hang out in at hotel. I will add the people are very nice and helpful. We only ate sandwiches and snacks from the bar and were very good. I reco having a car to get to the town of la fortunate close by for breakfasts and dinners. Overall a great stay .

Room Tip: We had a handicap room which we did not request? Ask for rooms on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hot springs are simply amazing and make this resort worth it. The rooms are adequate, but nothing fancy. The restaurants are over-priced. We opted to travel into town and get some authentic Costa Rican food in La Fortuna for a small fraction of the price. Not only did we save money but it was better food. But, as I said, this resort is about the hot springs. Check out the photos and you'll see for yourself. We will definitely return to Tabacon one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights on our Costa Rican honeymoon at the Tabacon Resort, and loved it.

At checkin we upgraded to one of their honeymoon suites ($50 more per night than our original package), and loved our second floor room.

All of the staff were courteous, welcoming and warm. We enjoyed the breakfast buffets and two dinners at their "formal" restaurant (Tucaran?), and adored the intimate scale of the resort and the adjacent hot springs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

we only stayed for 3 nights, and i wish we could´ve stayed longer.
the good: we stayed in one of the suites and it was amazing; you could´ve fit and entire football team in one room! theres a tv in the bathroom area, for those who like that, nice shower, really nice tub so you can relax...... the beds are super comfortable, and a complete mini bar with all sorts of goodies, including a toaster and coffee maker.
the staff is super friendly and very accomodating! the hotel itself has one pool, which is really nice. the food is really good: dont miss the nachos and the asian buffet.
although i didnt use the spa myself, someone in our party did, and they couldnt say enough about it!
the awesome: the hot springs are either 5 minutes away walking , or you can take the shuttle; they are just around the corner! there are endless little trails you walk on, and each one leads to a different hot spring and each one is at a different temperature. there´s even a section for adults only, where it is super quiet, there´s nice music, and you find people just taking it easy! the main pool has a slide for the kids to enjoy, and the bar tenders at the wet bar are so friendly, it makes you want to sit there all day!
we met so many different people from all corners of the world.... it´s just a happy place!!
the ugly: my daughter did not like the hot springs at all, so my time under the water falls and some of the other springs was very limited. remember this is in the middle of a rainforest, so you run into all sort of crickets, butterflies, lizards, etc...... pretty!

suggestions: dont miss the springs late in the afternoon or as the sun sets; as the temperature drops, the hot springs become unbelievably delicious!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My friend and I traveled here in June of 2013. I'll address some of the things we noticed in list form so that you can skip to what you'd like to know about.

Room/bathroom:
We stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds. The beds were very comfortable except they squeaked when one would toss and turn through the night. That was annoying. The bathrooms were fine. There was a little mold/mildew around the caulking of the bathtub and calcium deposits on the showerhead, which should’ve been taken care of. It has to be noted that the toilet paper IS scented because that can be an irritant for some. We read this ahead of time and brought our own unscented TP with us, so that wasn’t a problem.

Restaurant:
Dinner: We ate at the restaurant on the property several times. Never ate at the buffet at the springs. The restaurant on the property had great food. It is a bit expensive, but no more so than you would pay for a great meal in the states…about $30 each. For that we had dinner and dessert as well as some tasty samples the staff brought around. We were very pleased with dinner. However, we did choose to eat in town on the other nights for variety. The price was not that much cheaper. We averaged about $20 - $25 each for dinner in town. We had a rental car so access was simple, but I’d imagine if one had to add in the cost of a cab it might be worth it to stay at the hotel and eat.

Breakfast: We had the buffet breakfast every day and thoroughly enjoyed it. We filled ourselves at breakfast so that we were able to skip lunch daily and we were completely satisfied. Breakfast had some staple items (waffles, corn tortillas, fantastic coffee and freshly made juices, fresh fruits, plantains, cereal, yogurt, omelets…) along with some different items each day for a bit of variety. It was well worth the $30.

Hot Springs and Spa:
This part of the hotel made the stay a 5 star experience!!!!! I cannot express enough how incredible the spa and hot springs are. I have had spa treatments all over the world (from the U. S. to the Mediterranean) and none have compared to the experience at Tabacon. We were lucky enough to go during the low season so it wasn’t crowded at all, and even when it rained (once while I was in the hot springs and once while I was having spa services) it added to the delight of the entire experience. The springs are free to guests of the hotel, which is a great savings. The spa is costly ($120 - $250), but worth every penny! Do splurge on a treatment if you can. I must say that the rainy, cooler weather during this season was perfect for the hot springs. Hotter weather may have made the springs too hot to stand. We took the short walk to the springs each day and took the shuttle back. The shuttle never took more than 5 min to pick us up. The distance from the hotel to the springs is the equivalent of the distance from one's room to the beach on an expansive resort in the Caribbean.

Getting to Tabacon:
We rented a car and drove to the resort. If you are up for an adventure, this is the drive for you. Be sure to rent a navigation system and be ready to drive on 2 lane mountain roads (one lane coming and one lane going), which go up beyond the clouds. You are literally looking down on the clouds at some points during the drive. Also be prepared for winding roads (where you can't see past the curves), fast drivers, and sharing the 2 lanes with tractor-trailers, busses, bicycles, and pedestrians. It’s a tricky drive, but unforgettable! If you're a bit shaken by adventure on the road, hire transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I highly recomment this resort if traveling to Costa Rica. The place in general is very nice, the views are amazing, and the staff is incredibly sweet. I was stunned by the many pools of hot/warm/cold springs; there is something for every taste. My husband and I enjoyed the "adult only" area because of the quietness and romantic setting. If you're going on a honeymoon this is definitely the place; although, if you have a large family, like us, this will be most exciting. I enjoyed seeing my 5 and 6yr old niece and nephew have a blast. I have nothing but good memories about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, and I'm looking very forward to going again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.