We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and Hot Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and Hot Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to La Fortuna for 5 nights. Although we stayed at another property we came to Tabacon for the hot springs. We had the buffet dinner that was excellent. It was the best meal we had the entire time we were in Costa Rica. The hot springs were amazing! We spent three and a half hours just soaking in all the different pools and meeting a few new people. We highly recommend Tabacon if you want to go to a great hot springs resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    481
    187
    82
    54
See reviews for
362
937
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, CO
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed two nights at Tabacon. I was with a group of travel professionals touring Costa Rica. I loved the property, the service was good but not over the top great. I stayed in a superior room, which is their lead in room category. Nothing special, the beds were very comfortable and I liked how there was wireless internet in the rooms.

The hot springs are amazing. That is the best part of this hotel, as most of you already know. The gardens are well maintained, and the pools are delightful. I also enjoyed the Shangra La Gardens, the adults only section.

What I didn't really care for was how expensive the food and drinks were. A can of Imperial was $6.00 plus tax and a mandatory 10% service charge. Imperial is the local lager, nothing special just a regular old beer. Also the dinner at the a la carte restaurant was over the top expensive. Not saying that this would change my mind staying here, but I wouldn't eat at the restaurants. I would go to town.

Overall the experience was great, I would come back and stay again.

Room Tip: Rainforest Suites are amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear trvlkid,

We really appreciate all your feedback in regards to your visit, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nature is an important part of Tabacon experience and the thermal mineral springs surrounded by the rainforest provides a unique ambient. As you mentioned all our hotel guest receive complimentary Internet access. We informed our managers team about your comments in regards to our service, we take very seriously all your comments and this help us to improve. We are glad you spent a relaxing time at Tabacon and we look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is one of the most beautiful places. The hot water streams, waterfalls. are some thing every one should try. It is like being lost in the rain forest.
The hotel staff is so nice and goes out of their way to help you. I had a health scare there and the manager was right there to see what needed done and went out of his way to check on me through out our stay. Room are clean and roomy. Food was good. Keep pool very clean. Hope to go back ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Kris F,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide unforgettable experiences, that's why is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a memorable time with us, we are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami,fl
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Tabacon hotel. At first we were given a room located in the 200's cabins, that were surprisingly big and had a direct volcano view. The space was more than I expected and had a good size bathroom, but it was a little bit dark and the bathroom had a bit of an odor problem. Unexpectedly, the staff switched us to a different suite- a tabacon suite- located in the actual hotel lobby area. This suite was massive and had an amazing bathroom with views of the forest.

I didn't have a chance to check out the pool in the actual hotel property, because when we checked in they said it was temporarily closed, but the tabacon springs where the actual hot springs are (it's separate from the hotel property) had a pool too, so it was fine. The gym in the hotel is clean and efficient. The food was good overall and the room service was efficient.

The tabacon springs area is beautiful with a zen like feel and everyday you discover another area to relax in and soak in. I really liked the adult only section. If you have a chance to go, even for a day or night pass, definitely check it out. The area is well maintained, clean, and the facilities blend in nicely with the surrounding nature. The spa is also in the hot springs property. The experience here was really great. There's also a restaurant in the hot springs propety, so you have the option to the stay all day and have a meal or drink there too.

Overall, I really enjoyed it and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear poysoniv,

On behalf of Tabacon team we would like to thank you for taking the time and share with us your valued review. Furthermore, our service is aimed to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality service to all guest, who are our reason to be. We are glad you enjoyed the Tabacon Suite with impressive forest views, with a beautifully designed bathroom and in-room jacuzzi. Our restaurants offer world class cuisine. Our natural setting and the hot springs as well as Shangri-La Gardens our adult-only hideaway offers a relaxing experience giving our guest the opportunity to forget for a while about the world around. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited the Tabacon Spa as part of an Arenal Volcano Hike. This was the perfect end to the tour. We had about 2.5 hours at the Spa to swim in the hot springs and eat a buffet dinner.

It was a beautiful place with many well manicured paths through a jungle setting leading to different pools. Some pools had a natural sandy bottom and others were tiled. The deeper you went, the more private the pools. The most public and largest pool had a swim up bar and a water slide. The water is just about hot tub temperature so I was not able to stay in for more than 15-20 minutes at any given time. They also have a cold pool. The buffet dinner was Mediterranean that night and we were very happy with the options and the desserts. Very good service overall and a very good evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ARG118

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon, we loved to hear you took some time to explore the beautiful sorroundings at Arenal Region. As you mentioned our hot springs are the perfect end for a day full of adventure, exploring and relaxing in our completely natural hot springs, getting a natural massage in our cascade and being in the middle of the rainforest is a magical experience. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our Mediterranean Buffet dinner at Ave del Paraiso Restaurant. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My daughter and I had been staying at Los Lagos but, although the grounds are beautiful, we did not like the food at all nor the fact that we had to call for a ride to go anywhere on the hotel grounds. I found the beds extremely hard, also, waking at night with hip pain. Since we planned to visit the hot pools at Tabacon, I thought I'd just see if I could get a bargain on a room with 2 doubles. We did! $195 for the room, which, deducting the $120 spa fee, comes out to $75/night. We have a perfect view of the volcano (Room 311). The lunch was delicious, mojito refreshing, staff very accommodating, spa beautiful . . . can't wait to see it tonight! I usually don't make a schedule when I travel should I want to spend more time in one place than another, and often get much better rates just walking in "off the street" than any on-line booking site or direct call to hotel. Probably not recommended for Type A personalities, though!

Room Tip: 311 has good view of gardens with volcano in background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear FLAlleycat

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. We love the fact that you enjoyed your room, your lunch with the refreshing mojito as well as our thermal resort which in fact has been recognized as one of the best worldwide, thanks to its exuberant gardens and the natural hot springs river in the middle of the rainforest. As you mention, the entrance to the hot springs is included in the room rate so you can experience the hot springs during the day and also at night where the ambience is really amazing considering the steam and the different temperatures pools and cascades . It will be an honor to receive you as our guest in the near future, we really appreciate your preference.

Kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Tried to cancel hotel reservation over a week in advance due to the pool being closed. The hotel claimed it wasn't the main pool and wanted to charge us one night as a penalty for canceling. Scam artists...don't stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Suzannable,

We are afraid that the information provided before was not accurate. We want to inform that our 872 acres resort, with over 20 pools and cascades of thermal mineral spring water and different temperatures is open and functioning under normal operation, it is only one of the two hotel pools the one that is closed for maintenance. At the resort you will also be able to enjoy our swim-up bar and the water slide. Please contact us at customerservice@tabacon.com, for further information in regards to your cancelation penalty and we will gladly assist you on this matter.

Kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Amex, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.