We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Everyone at the hotel are very attentive. The hot springs are not in the hotel as you would expect although they are not far away. It's about a 15min walk or a free shuttle to get to. I just feel that they make it seem that the springs are right where the guests stay which is not accurate. The hot springs are awesome there are so many that you can pick a secluded one to spend some alone time w your mate if you so chose. They also have an adults only portion called shang hai which was extremely relaxing and had the best club sandwiches & the guacamole was pretty good as well. Expect to pay $150-200 per day on food and drinks. If you decide to go off the property for dinner they have private taxis which run $15 each way, and dinner for 2 with drinks will be about $50, which is way less expensive for dinner at least. Breakfast runs about $18-23, or the buffet which is $30. All in all the rooms are nice and have twinnings tea & cafe britt at no fee. Also they give you plenty of bathroom amenities, including robes, colgate toothpaste, toothbrushes, mouthwash, shaver, etc. which is a nice touch. Also you can see arenal volcano from the hot springs although I couldn't see it from the hotel property. Hope this helped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ShortyLee

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit. At Tabacon we firmly believe that every single detail is important to offer our guests a memorable vacation. A warm greeting, a tropical welcome drink, amenities at your room, an impressive view of the rainforest and our natural hot springs is the perfect combination for relaxation.

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    960
    460
    177
    83
    54
See reviews for
336
886
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Tabacon Resort, Superior rooms. Although you find better reviewed hotels, staying in Tabacon hotel gave you the free pass to the springs which could cost as much as $60 per person by itself. We really made a good use as we used it 3 times. . Staying in the hotel gave the flexibility of walking in and out anytime I wanted. If I had to pay it separately, i would have stayed for at least half a day.

Negative things I wish I knew or researched better before booking:

- Hot springs is in a separate complex from the hotel. You have to take a 2-3 minutes shuttle or walk. But walking involves crossing the main busy street and probably 10 minutes walk, outside the hotel and parts uphill walk coming back.
- The hotel has a pool but was closed when we stayed
- We had 3 superior rooms. One of them had a sewage smell the whole stay. AC / fan or opening doors didnt help. This room was missing the sofa. I could have asked for another I suppose but I thought the smell would go away after leaving the AC cranking for whole day. Came back late and didnt feel like moving everything and also being far from the other 2 rooms. The superior room is clean but dated. Take out the good view and you would think you are in Holiday Inn.
- Food is OK but price is outrageous! room service sandwich $19. You can imagine the price for the restaurant. If you dont have a car, then you are almost stuck.
- Hotel ground is not as extensive and worth any hiking as others in the area.

I have to admit we were coming from staying in the Springs Resort, so it was a huge letdown. But the Tabacon Hot springs made it up for us. The price was faily good considering the included pass.
I dont think we wil stay here next time. We will choose one of the hotels in the Volcano side of the street, not across for even a better view and proximity to the volcano, and pay the entrance fee to the hot springs. If the hot springs value price is not the whole reason you staying here, why stay in a dated average place when you have to take a shuttle to to springs anyways? Without the springs, in a superior room, it is a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear MasterDJ

We appreciate your comments and we are definitively working on them, we have addressed your concerns to management immediately. Tabacon sits on over 872 acres of lush rainforest and all our thermal springs comes from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools through the property, since part of our philosophy is to keep nature as an integrated part of Tabacon experience we do offer the natural pools at the resort. Free shuttle is available for hotel guest and there is also a trail that connect the hotel and the thermal springs area.
In regards to cuisine we offer different options: buffet, a la carte, tandoor and special menus for snacks so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our packages if staying multiple nights. We are glad you enjoyed the hot springs and took advantage of the unlimited access to the thermal spring resort that was include in your room rate.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The service was superb from the front desk, spa staff, concriege and wait staff! We had a two day experience in a lovely, spacious room that was so romantic and special including a chef prepared dinner for two in our own dining space as well as a nearly 2 hour message. The thermal pools, too, are a wonderful retreat expecially the quiet and calm of the Orient area. Every detail was far and above the expectations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Audrey56461

We very much appreciate your review! Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guesst in the middle of the rainforest, the natural beauty of our hot springs and the sounds of nature become part of your vacation experience. We are glad to know we met your expectations. Our signature Gala Dinner invites you to enjoy a very special culinary event among the beauty of our lush gardens in the middle of the rainforest. In a private bungalow, your private server and chef create an evening of culinary magic with a menu pre-selected by you. At The Grand Spa we take relaxation to its maximum level, a massage in an open air bungalow is the highlight of your Costa Rica trip. We would love to receive you soon at the resort.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spent three weeks in Costa Rica in February, each week in a different part of the country. Arenal and the Tabacon hot springs were great...it is well worth a visit here for 1-2 days, but better to go on to the coastal parts of the country after that.

The accommodations were nice and well maintained. Tabacon hot springs resort was a little expensive for Costa Rica but worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear SkyDreamer22

Thank you for your review, we are extremely happy that you spent a marvelous vacation at Costa Rica and you decided to visit Tabacon, we appreciate your preference. Exploring the thermal springs is one of the most enjoyable and relaxing experiences. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations our aim is to offer our guests unforgettable memories. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed there one night to be able to use the hotsprings. Rooms are expensive and you don't get breakfast included like all of the other hotels offered. There were many rules such as you couldn't drive your car to your room yourself. Or we were told to sit down in the lobby and wait to be called to check in (not before 4PM even if a room was ready at 2 PM). When we checked in they handed us a letter saying, oh by the way we are working on the electricity tomorrow and there will be only TV and computer after 8 AM. No airconditioning when it iwas almost 100 degrees and no conpensation offers either. The free warm juice and wet towel did not take away the bad taste of the 2 irritable check-in people we met and the letter but the hot springs were lovely. To be fair, all of the men driving the vans to the rooms and the pool were very friendly and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Look on discount sites for a special and spend one night here and the other nights in a user friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in a brand new suite and it was 5 stars, par with four-seasons experience. the thermals are the highlight of the visit. Take a hike around the volcano and visit the town to see the Volcano up close in a clear day. Food is pricey but everything around is a tourist-milking machine. The place is good for 2-3 day experience (be careful driving there, you share the hilly road with Semis, 18-wheelers and Buses and is a 2 lane road)

Room Tip: Make sure you room is renovated and new, otherwise you are going to feel hosed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear long_horace

Your comments are very much appreciated. Thank you for choosing Tabacon as your resort during your visit to Arenal Region, our aimed is to offer the highest quality service to all our guest who are our reason to be. We are glad to know you enjoyed your suite and the natural hot springs experience that are recognized as one of the best worldwide. In regards to cuisine, we provide different options: buffet dinner, á la carte lunch and a special snack menu in our Pool Bar so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here 1 night because we could get a room for less then paying for a day pass to the hot springs for my family of 4. I stayed here 11 years ago as well and it's changed a lot (gotten bigger, more "resort-y" but the hot springs are beautiful. The room was clean and very nice and the staff is very attentive. If you're looking for a high end resort - this is the one. What I have to call out is my husband left his brand new Go Pro camera laying around the resort not once, but twice (once in a restaurant and once in the lobby) and AMAZINGLY it was returned to us both times. Great attentive staff, thanks for looking out for us.

Room Tip: You won't be in your room much - book the cheapest room you can fit in since you're really s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear kateandevesmom

We appreciate your comments, our aim is to give our guests an attentive and high quality service, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your time at our unique natural thermal mineral spring resort, having direct contact with nature and relax during the day at the hot springs is an amazing experience. We look forward to receive you and your family at our hotel in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.