We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Service is ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Place is amazing and beautiful but the service staff is ok. Front desk was rude to my girlfriend and the workers in the bit spring seem like they never seen a woman in their lives. Service maid walked in our room without knocking on the door first. Service needs to improve.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear gdiaz1010

We really appreciate your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you had during your vacation. Since we take very seriously your comments we have sent immediately your information to our operations management. Our daily work includes high service standards, it will be of great help to receive more details about your visit so I will appreciate if you contact us at customerservice@tabacon.com since I would like to follow up directly your case.
Cordially

Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,022
    469
    185
    82
    54
See reviews for
356
922
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and the hot springs were delightful. Service at the front desk and restaurants was mostly indifferent. We waited almost all day to get a room and we waited forever to get served a late lunch while we were waiting for our rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for 1 night so we can enjoy the hot spring experience every body is talking about.
The room itself was amazing, great view to the volcano, a private garden, and equipped with everything that is expected from a 5 star hotel.
The springs were AWSOME, planty of pools with a great selection of depth, temp, and location, it even includes an "adult area" which is destined for 18+ which is actually nice.
The entire complex is supported by a nice pool bar, lockers, restaurant(overpriced), and a taxi service back and forth from the hotel.

As for the service, at the booking the front desk lady was impolite, but when we checked in later and in every aspect afterwards including the drivers, bartender, towel lady, everybody was extremely pleasent and professional

Bottom line: a must for everybody visiting Arenal

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ygmd

We very much appreciate your review.
Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a relaxing experience in a natural setting to all our guests and we are glad to know you spend a wonderful time with your wife. Our Shangri-La Gardens are is an adults only hideaway to let our guest experience relaxation in mystic and romantic atmosphere. We already informed our management about the situation you experienced at front desk to take any necessary action. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The Tabacon Lodge is expensive for what it is. The service was good. The food is fair & rooms are clean but not fancy. We had rooms 101 & 102. They are private but have road noise & both showers flood the rooms. The hot springs are a close walk or shuttle ride. You can pay by the day to hang out at the hot springs I think $60pp. If you can find a nice place to stay or inexpensive place I would pay for one day at the springs. The water is very warm to hot. There are many pools to choose from but the best area is Shangra La, the adult area. It is serene & beautiful. You can have food & drinks delivered to you and there is a lot of shady areas in Shangra La. The rest of the hot springs areas is very limited on chairs. The only places to sit outside the water are at the main pool with the swim up bar. Wear water socks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marci M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We have already address your concerns to our management. Our hotel guests has unlimited access to the thermal springs resort where they can relax in the middle of the rainforest meanwhile they soak on the thermal waters.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Loved our stay! Beautiful, lush grounds and friendly staff. I misplaced my credit card and the nice man at the front desk called the credit card company for me so I could cancel the card. We went to the hot springs A LOT. We were given a band to wear around our wrist that enabled us unlimited use, free towels and a free locker...this alone was worth staying at the resort! The shuttle actually picks you up and drops you off at your room. It's little touches like this that set Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort a part. The food was pricey, but you'll find that at most luxury resorts. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was delicious...succulent shrimp over fresh pasta with a creamy coconut sauce and a decadent chocolate dessert. It was our best meal there.
The room was spacious and clean. Any of our requests (like asking for clean robes..a lot) were promptly met with a smile.
Stay here, you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear bucketlistingit

We appreciate your review. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed a pleasant experience at Tabacon, relaxing at the hot springs is included in your room rate as an add value. In our restaurants and bars our chefs prepare the dishes with the most succulent ingredients and you enjoy them in the middle of the rainforest. It was our pleasure to support you with your request, this is part of our service philosophy all our staff is there for you.... We are grateful for your visit and we hope to receive you soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights at Tabacon. We arrived early in the day from San Jose and had to wait several hours for our room to be cleaned. We spent the time having lunch in the Cafe and walking around the beautiful grounds taking photos. Our room was spacious and had a nice view of the Arenal Volcano. Luckily, the clouds lifted and we were able to get a good photo of the volcano. We walked around the Hot Springs that evening and returned to have dinner at the main restaurant on the hotel property. The food was delicious and the waiters very friendly. They seemed to be going out of their way to ensure that you enjoyed your meal. The breakfast offered each morning was a buffet that was the most enjoyable meal of our entire trip. The waiters were patient and allowed me to practice my Spanish with them and I learned many new words. On our second day we went on the lava flow hike and later had another memorable dinner at the restaurant, this time at a table that overlooked the pool. On our final day we went on the hanging bridges tour and had a great time. We then headed to Tabacon Hot Springs to enjoy sitting close to the small waterfalls,in the volcano heated river. We stayed for a Costa Rican Buffet that was later served at the Hot Springs. The food was arranged beautifully and we got to try many new foods. We only encountered two problems during our stay at Tabacon. One was that our tub was slow to drain and the water would come up to your ankles. This problem was taken care of by the staff on our second day there, due to someone else alerting them to the situation. Secondly, as we had to leave very early the final morning we asked a young lady, at the front desk the night before we left, if we could use our free buffet credit towards room service. She said that it couldn't be done and we would have to forfeit it. Later, while reading the room service menu, we noticed that we could order what we wanted from room service for an extra $5 charge, if we were unable to attend the breakfast buffet. That solved our problem. Overall we loved the friendliness of Tabacon's employees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Anne33011

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Tabacón is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all customers expectations. The completely natural setting of our property let our visitors enjoy the Tabacon relaxing experience to its maximum level. We apologize for the inconveniences with your room we will inform our management about the issues. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.


Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at Tabacon for three nights with our two teenage boys. The resort is very beautiful,lush and tropical. When we first arrived, it was early and our room was not yet ready so we had a most delicious meal in the cafe in the lobby and went to the Hot Springs until our room was ready. We had two rooms, 507 and 508, both honeymoon suites. Both were beautiful, but 508, being a corner room was spectacular. Lots of windows, huge walk in closet area with window. If you are looking for a honeymoon suite, I'd definitely ask for Room 508. Only weird thing is the shower set up. These honeymoon suites had HUGE whirlpool tubs and the shower was in the middle. To get in and out of the shower you have to literally climb over the tub. Once in, the shower was good. Clearly, the resort chose style over substance. The bathroom, like the room itself,is extremely good looking. The concierge was very helpful as were all of the desk people and others around the resort. The on site restaurant Los Tucanes was very good, a bit expensive, but nicely situated and very nice ambiance. Also, our rooms each came supplied with a lap top. Kind of cool.

Room Tip: If you want a Honeymoon Suite, ask for Room 508. See, above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Amy C

We appreciate your time for sharing with us your comments. Our aim is always to improve and provide our guests a high quality service, we are glad you and your family enjoyed every detail of our property. Our Honeymoons Suites have a unique design with incredible forest and volcano view. Los Tucanes Restaurant is our option for fine dining in the rainforest. Our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens. We look forward for your next family vacation!

Regards,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.