We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most amazing and peaceful places I have ever been too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing and peaceful places I have ever been too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Well, I can't find the words to even describe how beautiful the Tabacon Thermal springs were...Honestly just amazing, such incredible natural beauty... You have to be kind of picky when choosing a room as one may be much nicer than another... Open air hallways which I love. The breakfast was really good especially if you arrived early... We had a bit of an issue with our room which was an Inconvenience but I mean its bound to happen eventually... Just not when your paying over $250 a night for a room... However, the service was overall impressive and they did do their best to make us happy... PS you MUST try the romantic couples dinner private for 2 with your own personal chef... Aaaaaaaaamaaaaazinngggggg!!!!!!!! I've traveled the world, had over 300 massages and I have to say the Swedish massage at the Tabacon spa was the most amazing thing I have ever experienced in my entire life....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear BeachBummyO
We very much appreciate your review! Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest in the middle of the rainforest, the natural beauty of our hot springs and the sounds of nature become part of your vacation experience. We are glad to know we met your expectations. Our signature Gala Dinner invites you to enjoy a very special culinary event among the beauty of our lush gardens in the middle of the rainforest. In a private bungalow, your private server and chef create an evening of culinary magic with a menu pre-selected by you. Rose petals or tropical flowers on and around your table create an aura of romance as the two of you enjoy a candlelight setting like no other. At The Grand Spa we take relaxation to its maximum level, a massage in an open air bungalow is the highlight of your Costa Rica trip. We would love to receive you soon at the resort.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    485
    187
    83
    54
See reviews for
365
952
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough about our stay at Tabacon. My husband and I started our anniversary trip at this hotel as it had been a long time dream of mine to stay there. I was not dissappointed! Tabacon surpassed my expectations. We had a stressful start to our trip but the courteous staff, magnificent room, delicious food, and unbelievable hot spring experience more than made up for it! We will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ashep3

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to know that you had a great time at Tabacon during your anniversary trip, we love to hear about your marvelous experience from the courteous staff, our restaurants, our rooms to our unique natural hot springs resort. It will be an honor to receive you in the near future. Congratulations on your anniversary! We wish you love, happiness and total relaxation…

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

First, we were welcomed with smiles and a pleasant staff. Our room, one of the rainforest suites was exceptional, and the view just outside our room was incredible. The Spa was the best we've ever experienced, and the hot springs are absolutely beautiful and surprisingly not crowded, perhaps because it is so spread out. This may appear to be a lot of hyperbole, but it isn't. Can't miss if you decide to stay here.
We stayed for 2 nights in Feb 2013.

Room Tip: Rainforest suite if you're willing to pay somewhat more. Beautiful, clean and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Izers

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. Our aim is to provide world-class service to our beloved guests, and our staff is always happy to serve you. We are glad to know you enjoyed the wonderful rainforest view you had in your suite. As a perfect complement for a relaxing experience we have The Grand Spa located in the middle of tropical gardens and hot springs where all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows, we are really happy to know you enjoy direct contact with nature during your spa experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Cordially Yendry Espinoza Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights Jan 2013. This is a luxury hotel with all the trappings you would expect. Great room, upscale bathroom with beautiful appointments, good food, and attractive public areas. What sets this hotel apart is the flowing spa of thermally heated volcanic water that runs into numerous pools and over waterfalls that we were able to luxuriat in and thoroughly enjoy. A $70 day fee is charged to those not staying at the hotel for entry to the spa. Considering spa entry is included, the hotel rates are very reasonable.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mitch H
Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding for us be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay at Tabacon. Our unique thermal springs flows directly from the volcano to revitalize and relax our beloved guest and give them the opportunity to experience relaxation to its maximum level. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Just went for day with family. Kids 6 & 8. Great day. The natural hot RIVER was amazing. Supposedly hotels recommend against Tabacon b/c they don't pay spiffs to the other hotels. I can only say it was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear wdl_traveller
We appreciate your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our unique natural thermal mineral springs resort with your family, having direct contact with nature and relax during the day in our hot springs is an amazing experience. We look forward to receive you and your family at our hotel soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Tabacon four years ago. This year we returned to Costa Rica with friends. We felt going to Tabacon was a must do. Our friends also loved it. It is still as beautiful as we remembered. They added a new, over 18, area at the top since our last visit. We went to the springs two days and never found it crowded. Great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Happy Travelers09

Thank you for your preference, it was an honor to receive you at the resort on your second trip to Tabacon. We appreciate that you recommended our resort to your friends and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. On a daily basis we improve and renew our services to offer new experiences to our valued guests, that's why we feel extremely happy that you enjoyed Shangri-La Gardens, our new adults-only hideaway for total relaxation… We would love to receive you at Tabacon in the near future!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was one of the most memorable hotels I have ever been to. Our room was in great condition. The staff was very friendly and the hot springs were breathtaking. Quality food and freshness. Would definitely go back whenever possible.

The only thing was it was very hard to navigate to from the San Jose airport on our own even with a GPS. Roads are small and very scary going up the mountain (no guard rails!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ashley0202

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation in Costa Rica and specially your stay at Tabacon, our aim is to offer a memorable experience to our guests in the middle of the rainforest.
We would love to welcome you in our resort very soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.