We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was one of the most memorable hotels I have ever been to. Our room was in great condition. The staff was very friendly and the hot springs were breathtaking. Quality food and freshness. Would definitely go back whenever possible.

The only thing was it was very hard to navigate to from the San Jose airport on our own even with a GPS. Roads are small and very scary going up the mountain (no guard rails!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ashley0202

Thank you for your valuable comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation in Costa Rica and specially your stay at Tabacon, our aim is to offer a memorable experience to our guests in the middle of the rainforest.
We would love to welcome you in our resort very soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    977
    460
    178
    83
    54
See reviews for
344
895
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Let me start off by say the setting was wonderful. Complementary drink and towel upon check-in. We were then driven by golf cart to our room. The room was the nicest on our trip. Very spacious. The Springs are located maybe 3 block from the hotel but upon a call to the front desk a van is there to take you in minutes. By the second day they knew my name. Really no complaints here! Also the springs were awesome. The further back you went the more private they seemed. I never felt it was too crowded albiet I went at strange times. Anyway put this one on your to visit list!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Remphish1

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide customized service, we are glad to know you enjoyed our special details as the complementary welcome drink and fresh towel during your check in process. We are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had only 2 days here but it was perfect. We wish we could have stayed more!
Hot bath are so cool especially at night. Not far from Skytrek wich was really fun!
Breakfast is awesome!!
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melania L, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Haughin,

Thank you for your comments. Tabacón's main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest and we are glad to know we met your expectations. Our thermal springs resort are open until 10 pm so our guest are able to explore and enjoy them at different day times. We look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great experience at Tabacon. Perfect location with use of the hot springs. We received a room upgrade immediately upon check in. Bartenders at the hot springs were great. Food at the restaurants, not so great and the restaurant and buffet are a bit overpriced. You will do better at local restaurants. Convenient location to the national park where this plenty to explore and good zip lining. The spa at Tabacon was wonderful. We did the volcanic mud couple massage. The ambience of being out in the middle of the rain forest in the gazebo and outdoor shower was fabulous. Convenient shuttle to hot springs and the springs are open, day & night, rain or shine. Diverse crowd, efficient staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melania L, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Denimgir1

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our natural thermal mineral springs, which are one of the main attractions not only in the resort but also in Arenal Region since this is a natural river with a perfect combination of volume, temperature and mineral content; all our hotel guests have free access to the hot springs . In regards to our spa, all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows where nature become an important part of the spa experience, we are glad you enjoyed your volcanic mud couple massage. In regards to the food and beverage options, we are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, at this moment, our chefs are working in the annual menu updating, so if you do not mind, we will really appreciate if you contact us directly to customerservice@tabacon.com, it will be very helpful to receive your feedback.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is an outstanding place to stay. We received a upgraded room (rainforest view) and it was extremely nice and spacious. The springs are unbelievable and extremely relaxing...they are also great just to walk around the garden areas. We loved the slide and the swim-up bar is nice and has great drinks. Thought the restaurant (Los Tucanes) was fair. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melania L, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Robin T

We appreciate your comments, we are glad to know that you enjoy your vacation at Tabacón, having the opportunity to relax in natural thermal mineral springs surrounded by tropical gardens and exploring the rainforest. Los Tucanes Restaurant is our fine dining option and as you already mention we also have two bars where our guest are able to enjoy snacks and great cocktails. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed one night the Best part is the spa. The hot springs combined with the relaxing massage was fantastic. It was pricy but the experience is worth it. The Food was very good. The hot springs have several pools. Specially good for copules. It is almost 3 hours from San José By Car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Ricardo S

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Our Resort offers more than 20 thermal springs pools and cascades surrounded by tropical gardens, as a perfect complement for a relaxing experience we have The Grand Spa one of the best eco-spas in Latin America where all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all with private Jacuzzi. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

awesome place to relax .the staff made me feel like a queen . the food is so good and have a very good view of the arenal volcano . they have many types of pool with different temperatures . one big swimming pool with a bar .. the garder with many types of tropical plant . i saw for the first time a green and big lizard called iguana iguana or somethimes called jesus crist .. not exactly a iguana . this is a five star hotel..

Room Tip: it will be best to call for reservation on go on line .. i just walked in and the hotel was full .S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, General Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Galvezm39

We really appreciate your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service exceed your expectation. The thermal spring resort as you mentioned is a perfect place to relax and have direct contact with nature. The lizard you saw is known as the Jesus Lizard, Jesus Christ Lizard or Lagarto de Jesus Cristo for its ability to run on the water surface. We look forward to your next visit where you will have the opportunity to enjoy the rainforest and the amazing flora and fauna we have in the area.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.