We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delightful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had only 2 days here but it was perfect. We wish we could have stayed more!
Hot bath are so cool especially at night. Not far from Skytrek wich was really fun!
Breakfast is awesome!!
Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melania L, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Haughin,

Thank you for your comments. Tabacón's main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest and we are glad to know we met your expectations. Our thermal springs resort are open until 10 pm so our guest are able to explore and enjoy them at different day times. We look forward to your next visit.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    475
    187
    82
    54
See reviews for
361
932
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great experience at Tabacon. Perfect location with use of the hot springs. We received a room upgrade immediately upon check in. Bartenders at the hot springs were great. Food at the restaurants, not so great and the restaurant and buffet are a bit overpriced. You will do better at local restaurants. Convenient location to the national park where this plenty to explore and good zip lining. The spa at Tabacon was wonderful. We did the volcanic mud couple massage. The ambience of being out in the middle of the rain forest in the gazebo and outdoor shower was fabulous. Convenient shuttle to hot springs and the springs are open, day & night, rain or shine. Diverse crowd, efficient staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melania L, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Denimgir1

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our natural thermal mineral springs, which are one of the main attractions not only in the resort but also in Arenal Region since this is a natural river with a perfect combination of volume, temperature and mineral content; all our hotel guests have free access to the hot springs . In regards to our spa, all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows where nature become an important part of the spa experience, we are glad you enjoyed your volcanic mud couple massage. In regards to the food and beverage options, we are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, at this moment, our chefs are working in the annual menu updating, so if you do not mind, we will really appreciate if you contact us directly to customerservice@tabacon.com, it will be very helpful to receive your feedback.
We appreciate your preference and we look forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is an outstanding place to stay. We received a upgraded room (rainforest view) and it was extremely nice and spacious. The springs are unbelievable and extremely relaxing...they are also great just to walk around the garden areas. We loved the slide and the swim-up bar is nice and has great drinks. Thought the restaurant (Los Tucanes) was fair. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melania L, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Robin T

We appreciate your comments, we are glad to know that you enjoy your vacation at Tabacón, having the opportunity to relax in natural thermal mineral springs surrounded by tropical gardens and exploring the rainforest. Los Tucanes Restaurant is our fine dining option and as you already mention we also have two bars where our guest are able to enjoy snacks and great cocktails. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed one night the Best part is the spa. The hot springs combined with the relaxing massage was fantastic. It was pricy but the experience is worth it. The Food was very good. The hot springs have several pools. Specially good for copules. It is almost 3 hours from San José By Car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Ricardo S

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Our Resort offers more than 20 thermal springs pools and cascades surrounded by tropical gardens, as a perfect complement for a relaxing experience we have The Grand Spa one of the best eco-spas in Latin America where all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all with private Jacuzzi. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

awesome place to relax .the staff made me feel like a queen . the food is so good and have a very good view of the arenal volcano . they have many types of pool with different temperatures . one big swimming pool with a bar .. the garder with many types of tropical plant . i saw for the first time a green and big lizard called iguana iguana or somethimes called jesus crist .. not exactly a iguana . this is a five star hotel..

Room Tip: it will be best to call for reservation on go on line .. i just walked in and the hotel was full .S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, General Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Galvezm39

We really appreciate your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service exceed your expectation. The thermal spring resort as you mentioned is a perfect place to relax and have direct contact with nature. The lizard you saw is known as the Jesus Lizard, Jesus Christ Lizard or Lagarto de Jesus Cristo for its ability to run on the water surface. We look forward to your next visit where you will have the opportunity to enjoy the rainforest and the amazing flora and fauna we have in the area.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Arenal is not a place you stay very long when visiting Costa Rica. There is far too much to do and see. My friend and I stayed two nights at Tabacon. The beds were soft, comfortable and pure first class. The springs are the best in Arenal/Fortuna. When you are a guest there are no surcharges for use of the springs. You can climb them, swim them, wade in them or just sit. There are showers and lockers for convenience. swim up bar and water slide made my trip. The restaurant is pricey but room service is a dollar or two more reasonable. Book your stay way in advance as prices skyrocket closer to the day booked. We paid $195 per night, obscured view of top of volcano. You will not see lava but smoke still rises from the volcano. Climate was gorgeous in January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Paddy T,

We are thankful for your comments. We are glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed a wonderful time at Tabacon, we appreciate the way our valuable guests share their experiences, we are glad to know you enjoyed our natural thermal mineral spring resort and that you have fun with our water slide. As you mentioned we have a special beverages and snacks menu available in our Arenal Pool Bar and our guest can enjoy a delicious cocktail while they relax in our thermal water pool. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights here
All they care about charge 4 night in advance.
Never heard of such a thing in USA.
You get charged in advanced when you check in for whole stay.
Maybe they do that, in case people refused to paid because so many unhappy guest.
It is very hard to believe this is 5 star Hotel
Service is worth than Holiday inn !!
Service is just horrible like a lot of other people say in site site.
Wake up call was 20 min late.
It's not automatic, human was calling you over the phone.
We could missed the tour that day.
All the front desk people were unfriendly and some of them are very rude !!
We asked to send post card at front desk and she said "No"
They don't have post stamps
and She told us to send it at Airport !!
Service in Restaurant was so slow.
It took over 1 hr to order and finish Hamburger at casual Res.
And it was only 2 tables including me.
Even service in formal restaurant was slow, Waiter will forget to bring staff, we have to ask so many times to bring staff.
Some of the waiter doesn't even understand English well enough to bring Hot coffee
They only give you towel for exactly of people who stay at room
only 2 bath towel and 2 wash cloths and one beat up towel as floor mat.
You can't get in Spa unless you pay for service.
Such as massage or yoga or etc
Even Ritz Carlton and Four Season Hotel does not charge to get into Spa to use sauna or Jaccuzi.
Only good thing about this Hotel is Hot Springs but you have to take shuttle to get there.
If no hot springs in this Hotel, this Hotel is not worth anything !!!
Go different Hotel and only use Hot Springs here.

PS: I never write anything for comment but this Hotel need a lot of change.
I will fire most of the employee if I am a manager here.

No body seems happy working here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sushi L

We appreciate your comments and we are definitively working on them, we have addressed your concerns to management immediately.

Our food and beverage department seeks to always offer the best service to our guests, the director of this specific area was already informed about your comments. Tabacon philosophy is focus on customer service and we do our best to accommodate to our guest needs and preferences, in regards to room amenities our housekeeping department is glad to assist with special requirements including additional towels.

Our approach to spa life at Tabacon is bring nature into the spa experience, rather than immersing our guests in an environment surrounded by four walls, we provide a spa experience with the outdoors in full view in open-air bungalows set among our lush gardens, with the tropical rainforest, hot springs and volcano as background; The Grand Spa seeks always to offer services of relaxation and serenity, that's why our aim is always to retain for our guests their privacy and stillness by leaving only joining those wishing to use the service.

It will also be very helpful that you contact me directly to customerservice@tabacon.com, to hear your suggestions related to our check in process, in order to improve it.

If you want to communicate with us regarding to your complaints do not hesitate to contact us via e-mail customerservice@tabacon.com

Regards,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.