We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful jungle resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Hamilton, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful jungle resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Unlimited access to the fabulous tabacon springs was great, we made lots of use of them. Classy resort, spotlessly clean everywhere. Elegant rooms with lovely wood furnuitre. We had lowest price room and it was big, bright and airy with jungle view.

We did a zip lining tour and booked it through the hotel on the sky tram trek. We were in a small group which was better, more personal and no waiting between the lines.

We totally recommend this hotel, especially with the unlimited spa access.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Val12345,                                                                                                                                                   We deeply appreciate your review, we loved the fact that you enjoyed every single detail about the hotel, the unlimited access to our natural thermal mineral springs is an add value that we offer to our marvelous hotel guests, we are glad that you also discover the multiple activities in the area for the most adventurous Costa Rica vacation!                                                                    
Best Regards                                                                              
Maricela Durán   
Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    485
    187
    83
    54
See reviews for
365
952
30
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We were glad that Tabacon seemed to be the nicest hotel in the area after seeing others in our van getting dropped off at questionable places.

We stayed two nights in room 411 which was spacious and clean with a king bed but nothing extraordinary in terms of the decor. We were welcomed with a fruit plate and letter congratulating us on our honeymoon, nice gesture.

The main highlight of our stay was using the natural hot springs (a 4min walk from the hotel) which was an amazing/unique experience. It felt like soaking in the middle of Disneyland's jungle cruise. At times it was crowded but you can find secluded pools here and there if you're patient.

My husband got a 60min Swedish massage at the spa which he enjoyed.

The tours the hotel offered seemed pricey so we took a taxi and hiked along the volcano ourselves. We were a bit surprised that it cost $20 for the approx 2mile drive but they charge starting from when they leave the main town.

In another review someone mentioned the hotel has bikes we could borrow which wasn't mentioned to us which was a bit disappointing since we would have taken advantage of them.

The meals in the restaurants where mediocre and overpriced. However there aren't any other options nearby so we had no choice for our meals. The first night we had a Mexican buffet at the restaurant by the hot springs. But the selection was small and the bill ended up being $80.

For our second dinner, we ate at the 'fancier' restaurant by the main pool of the hotel. The atmosphere was dated with colored tableclothes and a musician playing songs from the 90s. Breakfast offers either a buffet for $30 or a la carte. For both our breakfasts we ended up going with a la carte after the less than satisfying buffet the first night.

Overall I would still recommend this hotel because of the proximity to the hot springs and cleanliness.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Grace,
We appreciate your comments. First of all let us congratulate you for your wedding and for taking the decision of enjoying your honeymoon in Costa Rica and Tabacon, we are glad to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. We are happy that your husband enjoyed the spa treatment and that you experience the magic of our natural thermal mineral springs. In regards to cuisine, everyday at Ave del Paraíso Restaurant you can find a different international buffet as our casual dining option, at Los Tucanes Restaurant you can find fine dining selections with the combination of both international and national dishes which uses the best products with the best culinary techniques, since we take seriously all our guest feedback I am glad to inform that we update our full menu at Los Tucanes as of December 28th, 2012 including as well changes in prices and preparations, unfortunately we were not be able to host you with the improved menu, so if you are staying near La Fortuna, it will be my pleasure to personally host a complimentary dinner for you and off course we would love to receive your feedback over this new value proposition.
We also thank you your family for their recommendation and preference and look forward to receive you all in the near future at Tabacon.

Cordially,
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in a honeymoon suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. The spa is awesome too. Lots of places to eat, the food is okay and the beds are reasonably comfortable. The customer service is fantastic!!!!!!! A definite must when you visit Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Randee B,                                                                                                                                                  We appreciate your comments! Our staff is always working to provide high quality service and pay attention to every detail in order to provide memorable experiences to our valuable guests, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the resort facilities and we wish you a wonderful life together full of peace, happiness and relaxation!,
Warm Regards
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Tabacon for 3 nights the week before Christmas. The hotel was very nice as expected though it turns out that most rooms do not have a volcano view except the upper floor in the 300 building.

It is a short walk down hill to the hot springs which we tremendously enjoyed during our stay. If you don't want to walk, the hotel shuttle comes about every 5 minutes so no big deal. The springs are about the closest thing I could imagine to the Garden of Eden. Sitting under a 100 degree natural waterfall felt great and the grounds are simply beautiful with many quiet areas to relax.

The food at the hot springs restaurant was excellent for lunch as well as the dinner buffet and price was reasonable for a hotel restaurant.

My son and I were thinking about doing a local mountain bike tour for $90/pp but then found out that the hotel as it's own decent bikes that you can use for free. We took a nice though hilly ride down to the lake and around an off-road loop that was scenic and a great workout but you need to be in decent shape.

Overall, we were very satisfied as the hotel was fine, service excellent and the hot springs which we visited twice every day were amazing. Would definitely stay there again if coming back to Arenal area.

Room Tip: Stay in top floor bldg 300 if you want to see volcano from view but not critical as plenty of chance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Djoseph1,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it. We are glad to know you had a great time at Tabacon, we love to hear you took some time with your son to explore the beautiful sorroundings, Arenal is a beautiful area with a lot of attractions that you are able to visit during your stay with us. We do have different buildings with volcano view, but also you can get beautiful views of Arenal Volcano from common areas as the hotel swimming pool or the resort main pool as well. It will be an honor to receive you as our guest in the near future, please feel free to contact us directly at guestservice@tabacon.com if you would like to share additional feedback.
Kindest regards Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this in the crappy deluxe double room after the hotel overbooked the Rain Forest Suite and downgraded our room without telling us before we arrived to the hotel. I would have left on the spot and gone to another hotel in the area but everything was completely booked as it is Christmas week. The double room is definitely not redone and considering I am on my honeymoon my wife and I did not want to 2 beds in the room. We have a view of nothing. This is the 2nd hotel we stayed at for our trip and compared to the first the management and service here is truly terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Jonathan M,
As we mentioned to you before, we want to express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences we caused. We are terribly sad,  as we aim to provide memorable occasions to our honeymooners, however, we recognize it was our fault overbooking the Rain forest Suite and perhaps you were forced to take the Superior Room,  all we wish is that the different complimentary services provided somehow compensate you and your wife and twisted the first impression we made at your arrival. We also coordinated the refund, so please let us know immediately to guestservice@tabacon.com, if you need any assistance related to it. Thank you very much for your courteous manners and patience. All Tabacon staff wish you both a long and happy life together. Cordially, Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Maybe it's a 3 starr. The front desk check in is confusing & overwhelming. There is no lock on your room's screen so you can't sleep without air conditioning. Our fan didn't work- took 3 phone calls to get a repairman. Dinner at their premier restaurant was ridiculous. Everything is ala carte-that I can understand. BUT if you want sauces on your meat, fish,etc. they charge you for it-anywhere from $8-$10-I'm serious here. It's almost laughable. Waited 10 minutes for a waiter come over. Dont get me wrong. Dont mind paying for a great meal. Deplorable service at outrageous prices means someone is resting on old laurels. Stay for the water-eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Oneidaelane, We appreciate your comments and we are definitively working on them. Our Tucanes Restaurant menu was meant to allow our guests to choose their starch sides and sauces, encouraging an interactive experience to upgrade our service with the opportunity of selecting and combining both international and local fresh products prepared with the highest culinary techniques, however, this experience did not reach customers’ expectations if there was a charge for each item selection, so the full menu of Tucanes will be changed as of December 28th, 2012  and although sauces and starch sides would be of our guests choice, prices will include them. We started the menu changes as soon as we received feedback from our guests, but unfortunately we were not be able to host you with the improved menu, so if you are staying near La Fortuna, it will be my pleasure to personally host a complimentary dinner for you and the party you are travelling with, and off course very grateful of hearing feedback over this new value proposition for Los Tucanes Restaurant. It will also be very helpful that you contact me directly to guestservice@tabacon.com, to hear your suggestions related to our check in process, in order to improve it.
Warm regards, Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tabacon Grand Spa exceeded all of my expectations. I have lived in Costa Rica for several years and visited many hot springs, but Tabacon is above and beyond the rest. The grounds, with their exhuberant botanical gardens, are a feast for the eyes. The river with it's terraced waterfalls looks like something from a movie set of the Garden of Eden, and the hydromassaging waterfall soothed my aches. My children loved the thrill of the water slide, and I enjoyed escaping to Shangri La for a bit of quiet adult-only respite in the peace of luxurious settings. I highly recommend Tabacon to both couples looking for a romantic interlude and families who want to spend a relaxing time together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Shannon,
We really appreciate all your feedback in regards to your visit, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nature is important part of Tabacon experience and the natural thermal springs surrounded by the rainforest provides a unique ambient. We are glad you spend a relaxing time at Tabacon and we look forward to your visit soon!
Kindest Regards
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Amex, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.