We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management screws you” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Management screws you”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this in the crappy deluxe double room after the hotel overbooked the Rain Forest Suite and downgraded our room without telling us before we arrived to the hotel. I would have left on the spot and gone to another hotel in the area but everything was completely booked as it is Christmas week. The double room is definitely not redone and considering I am on my honeymoon my wife and I did not want to 2 beds in the room. We have a view of nothing. This is the 2nd hotel we stayed at for our trip and compared to the first the management and service here is truly terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Jonathan M,
As we mentioned to you before, we want to express our deepest apologies for the inconveniences we caused. We are terribly sad,  as we aim to provide memorable occasions to our honeymooners, however, we recognize it was our fault overbooking the Rain forest Suite and perhaps you were forced to take the Superior Room,  all we wish is that the different complimentary services provided somehow compensate you and your wife and twisted the first impression we made at your arrival. We also coordinated the refund, so please let us know immediately to guestservice@tabacon.com, if you need any assistance related to it. Thank you very much for your courteous manners and patience. All Tabacon staff wish you both a long and happy life together. Cordially, Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,024
    471
    185
    82
    54
See reviews for
357
925
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Maybe it's a 3 starr. The front desk check in is confusing & overwhelming. There is no lock on your room's screen so you can't sleep without air conditioning. Our fan didn't work- took 3 phone calls to get a repairman. Dinner at their premier restaurant was ridiculous. Everything is ala carte-that I can understand. BUT if you want sauces on your meat, fish,etc. they charge you for it-anywhere from $8-$10-I'm serious here. It's almost laughable. Waited 10 minutes for a waiter come over. Dont get me wrong. Dont mind paying for a great meal. Deplorable service at outrageous prices means someone is resting on old laurels. Stay for the water-eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Guest Relations Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Oneidaelane, We appreciate your comments and we are definitively working on them. Our Tucanes Restaurant menu was meant to allow our guests to choose their starch sides and sauces, encouraging an interactive experience to upgrade our service with the opportunity of selecting and combining both international and local fresh products prepared with the highest culinary techniques, however, this experience did not reach customers’ expectations if there was a charge for each item selection, so the full menu of Tucanes will be changed as of December 28th, 2012  and although sauces and starch sides would be of our guests choice, prices will include them. We started the menu changes as soon as we received feedback from our guests, but unfortunately we were not be able to host you with the improved menu, so if you are staying near La Fortuna, it will be my pleasure to personally host a complimentary dinner for you and the party you are travelling with, and off course very grateful of hearing feedback over this new value proposition for Los Tucanes Restaurant. It will also be very helpful that you contact me directly to guestservice@tabacon.com, to hear your suggestions related to our check in process, in order to improve it.
Warm regards, Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Tabacon Grand Spa exceeded all of my expectations. I have lived in Costa Rica for several years and visited many hot springs, but Tabacon is above and beyond the rest. The grounds, with their exhuberant botanical gardens, are a feast for the eyes. The river with it's terraced waterfalls looks like something from a movie set of the Garden of Eden, and the hydromassaging waterfall soothed my aches. My children loved the thrill of the water slide, and I enjoyed escaping to Shangri La for a bit of quiet adult-only respite in the peace of luxurious settings. I highly recommend Tabacon to both couples looking for a romantic interlude and families who want to spend a relaxing time together.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Shannon,
We really appreciate all your feedback in regards to your visit, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nature is important part of Tabacon experience and the natural thermal springs surrounded by the rainforest provides a unique ambient. We are glad you spend a relaxing time at Tabacon and we look forward to your visit soon!
Kindest Regards
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallisaw, OK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was our second trip to Tabacon, and the first for my sister and brother-in-law. It was my first trip in the winter season. Got to see the cloud forest area with the clouds in the forest. It sheds a whole different light on the area. The resort is fantastic. The rooms are spacious and clean, with daily cleaning services. The most comfortable beds we found on our whole adventure. Internet, TV, and phone are available. The spa continues to be one of my favorite places. It is just hard to beat sitting under a hot waterfall or in a hot water pool. While landscaped, the owners have done a good job of maintaining the integrity of the forest. It was a little cooler, and wetter, than during the dry season. Couldn't see the volcano during our trip, and the monkeys weren't around either. Los Tucanes restaurant serves a good breakfast buffet, if a little pricey. It is one of my favorite places to visit.

Room Tip: This is not your typical Costa Rican location. Its very upscale.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Chafraho,
We appreciate your review and we thank you for your preference. It is really nice to know you had the opportunity to visit us again with your sister and brother-in-law to get a relaxing experience at Tabacon. What makes Tabacon so unique is nature so we appreciate your comment about our conservation efforts, this is part of Tabacon Green activities and we are glad to share this with all our valued guest.
Warm regards Maricela Duran Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe room. We decided to stay here for the free entry to the springs, as we had planned to visit them anyway, and the cost of accommodation elsewhere in a similar standard of resort was comparable.

The rooms are well appointed and clean, and maintenance in good order. Like any good five star hotel, any extras were charged at high profit margins. Our room had a fantastic view of the volcano, and there was a sense of privacy and seclusion which was delightful.

The food at the in-house restaurant was of an excellent standard, and the staff at the restaurant paid great attention to small details. For instance, our dessert on the last night, the wait staff noticed that it was our last evening there, and they wrote a brief farewell message on the dessert place in chocolate sauce. It's this kind of attention to detail that separates a great service from a good service. Prices, however, were very much on the high side.

The major failing of this resort is that it's located well away from town. It's too far to walk, and the cost of taxis and the charge for the hotel's shuttle discourages you from leaving their premises. This is great if you want a resort to spend time at, not so great if you want to explore the town under your own steam.

I concur with the dominant view of the springs - somewhat priced on the high side, but good for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Nerdag
Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we appreciate it. As you mention all our hotel guest has unlimited access to the hot spings resort during their stay so you are able to enjoy different natural pools, ponds and waterfalls sorrounded by lush tropical gardens that makes the experience so unique. Tabacon`s main objective is to offer a world class service and attention to details makes the difference so we constantly customize our guest experience as the beautiful example you share in regards to the dessert. We do offer 2 different restaurants one located at the hotel that is our fine dining restaurant and a second one located at the hot spirngs area where you can get snacks, buffet options with a range of prices. We really hope to receive you again at the resort in the near future.
Cordially Maricela Durán Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The one drawback we had (which wasn't much to complain about) was that the hot springs weren't right outside our door.

Tabacon was our stop on the first leg of our Costa Rica Adventure. We got a deal on the room through Expedia. The resort was nice, the staff was pleasant and well, uh oh... the AC didn't work in our room & the Fan was broken. We called to complain and maintenance came right out to check it out and could not figure out the problem. We then asked for a new room, unfortunately there were no more rooms like ours available so they did the only decent thing they could do - UPGRADE. We were brought to a super duper deluxe suite and were floored. It was a beautiful room with a patio, rain shower, his & hers sinks, jacuzzi & bubble bath. Also, this was by far the most comfortable bed we slept in - in Costa Rica.

Next to the hot springs. There was something like 17 springs and you can get lost trekking through the maze trying to find them all. They are beautiful, hot and so relaxing to sit in and let a waterfall batter your shoulders like a great massage. It wasn't too crowded (could be because it was a slow time of year). The springs are down the road a bit. you can walk there - no big deal, not a long walk, you can drive if you have a car or they have a shuttle that can bring you down there. If you are staying with the hotel, you have unlimited access to all of the springs, spring fed pool and swim up bar - don't forget to try the waterslide. :-)

overall, if you want a nice relaxing, adult experience and want to splurge a bit, you must check this place out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Briguy We appreciate your time for sharing your comments with us. We apologize for the inconvenient you had with your air conditioner during your stay we already pass this information to our operation manager to follow out and avoid this situation in the future. We are glad to know you enjoyed the upgrade, as you could notice we do our best to offer a pleasant experience to our guest. In regards to the hot springs area, as you notice this is a natural river that goes through the property by gravity, this makes Tabacon so unique and I totally agree with you that all our guest must try the waterslide, it will be a lot of fun. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is an amazing property! I can't say enough good things about this site. The rooms were beautiful and clean, the staff was extremely attentive. The food on the grounds was good. Everything at the hotel was expensive however, this is a tourist area. I would highly recommend this property, especially for a honeymoon destination. I would not recommend this for children though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Travel12US We very much appreciate your review. Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a great place for honeymooners as you mention and we love to share with the couples this important ocassion. We also have special packages for families as well some children love the hot springs. We really look forward to receive you as our guest again in the near future.
With kindest regards
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.