We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent honeymoon option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent honeymoon option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The property is exquisite, the service is great (you are greeted with drinks!), the thermal pools are the best... there are over 10 pools, all offering different things (hotter/cooler temperatures, some with slide, etc...). Staff is very professional, food is also good but quite expensive. I suggest leaving the resort for food, and you get a taste of the local environment. Wish breakfast was included...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    970
    459
    177
    83
    54
See reviews for
339
892
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

this place is a top notch! Excellent service, excellent facility, beautiful grounds and springs. Really nothing to complain about. Had a few drinks at the swim bar - they are at $11, which is reasonable. Plus if you get there after 8 p.m. its a happy hour - you get 2 drinks for the price of 1. Overall, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came back from Costa Rica a few days ago I am still raving about Tabacon. Hot springs, beautiful gardens is top notch. Hotel itself is nice nut not superb. The rooms were nice but not spectacular. All staff members we encountered during our 3-night stay were not too warm but rather cold and not very friendly, especially att the lobby.

There are shuttles at the lobby always waiting to take you to the hot springs.. which is literally a 45 sec ride down the road. However ois is about 4-5 minutes short walk so we did not use shuttles. The hot springs are marvelous and piece of paradise. You should to experience it to truly understand the magic of this place. The Shangri-la area (adults only) was secluded, quiet and very romantic, with occasional children roaming around.

Food at restaurants were decent and VERY-VERY expensive, especially for the quality of the food., We ended to go to La Fortuna. There are number of very good local restaurants. It is only 10 minutes drive.

The volcano was shrouded in clouds, but we managed to see it for about 30-40 minutes one day. Volcano is the another reason why this resort is a great spot

When you are there you should visit suspended bridges park, as well as enormous zip line (actually it is 8 zip lines linked one to another)

I look forward to go back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We have been in the building with rooms 200+. This is single story building with excellent view of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent two nights at this resort for our Honeymoon. We were thoroughly impressed with the gorgeous hot springs. The winding pathways lead to pool after pool of naturally heated spring water which is perfect for the cool days and nights near Arenal. Unfortunately, the hotel itself seemed like an afterthought and is separated from the springs down the road. While the shuttles to and from the springs were complimentary, it still felt like planning an all day trip to go there. It is a very popular location amongst tourists and was crowded at times. The food was very expensive because you really had no other option but to eat at the springs or at the hotel. It is expensive to get a cab into La Fortuna if you are interested in eating in town. The rooms were nice but not spectacular. The volcano was shrouded in clouds our whole stay so we missed out on another reason why this resort is a great spot. The springs can make up for a lot of little inconveniences, if you like to sit at the pool all day long.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just got back from Costa Rica a few days ago and my bf and I are still raving about Tabacon. Besides the spectacular hot springs, beautiful gardens and gorgeous rooms, the service is top notch. All staff members we encountered during our 2-night stay were warm, friendly and very accomodating.

We were upgraded to one of the newly renovated suites when we checked-in and I have to say we were blown away. The bathroom was the nicest we've seen in a long time with marble floors, huge jacuzzi, separate toilet room w/bidets, glass shower with various shower heads & jets...incredible. The room was huge. With a dining table, lounge area, desk and large windows facing a lush private garden with a view of the volcano!

There are shuttles at the lobby always waiting to take you to the hotsprings.. which is literally a 45 sec ride down the road. The hotsprings is paradise. You have to experience it yourself to truly understand the magic of this place. The Shangri-la area (adults only) was secluded, quiet and very romantic.

Food at restaurants were decent.

I look forward to visiting again one day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms closest to main lobby and facing volcano! Ask to be upgraded to newly renovated suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We bought a day pass to this resort and it was the highlight of the vacation. The hot springs felt amazing and every spot in the resort was so picturesque. The food was delicious as well. I would go back in a heartbeat. I tell everyone they need to visit this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This spa is amazing. I thought it would be artificial and crowded but when I arrived there I was astonished with everything. Several hot springs. All of them very natural and beautiful. Everything is very clean and amazing. The food was so delicious and I really wanna come back there. Best choice of spa in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.