We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the Arenal Volcano Area! Impressive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the Arenal Volcano Area! Impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just got back from Costa Rica a few days ago and my bf and I are still raving about Tabacon. Besides the spectacular hot springs, beautiful gardens and gorgeous rooms, the service is top notch. All staff members we encountered during our 2-night stay were warm, friendly and very accomodating.

We were upgraded to one of the newly renovated suites when we checked-in and I have to say we were blown away. The bathroom was the nicest we've seen in a long time with marble floors, huge jacuzzi, separate toilet room w/bidets, glass shower with various shower heads & jets...incredible. The room was huge. With a dining table, lounge area, desk and large windows facing a lush private garden with a view of the volcano!

There are shuttles at the lobby always waiting to take you to the hotsprings.. which is literally a 45 sec ride down the road. The hotsprings is paradise. You have to experience it yourself to truly understand the magic of this place. The Shangri-la area (adults only) was secluded, quiet and very romantic.

Food at restaurants were decent.

I look forward to visiting again one day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms closest to main lobby and facing volcano! Ask to be upgraded to newly renovated suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    964
    460
    177
    83
    54
See reviews for
338
887
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We bought a day pass to this resort and it was the highlight of the vacation. The hot springs felt amazing and every spot in the resort was so picturesque. The food was delicious as well. I would go back in a heartbeat. I tell everyone they need to visit this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This spa is amazing. I thought it would be artificial and crowded but when I arrived there I was astonished with everything. Several hot springs. All of them very natural and beautiful. Everything is very clean and amazing. The food was so delicious and I really wanna come back there. Best choice of spa in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Splendid and unforgettable. Magnificent grounds, beautiful and spacious room with excellent appointments and housekeeping. Staff was gracious and accomodating. Good gym; hot springs were a pleasant diversion, but lost interest after two visits.

Room Tip: Check out the Rain forest suites, second floor. Two story views of the rain forest, fabulous appoint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Not only was the hotel wonderful, comfortable, and welcoming, but the reception, service, and food where extraordinary. As a vegetarian I don't find many different menu options. The tabacon food was amazing! The various options they have me, made me feel as though it was modified specially for me. The Mediterranean buffet was so appetizing! I had a great experience in the beautiful hot springs but overall I think the food was what really made it memorable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really unique place. The volcanic hot springs are, of course, hot. Very relaxing. We walked around on a sunday but didn't take in the springs till Monday. It was a lot less crowded on Monday. Wife had an amazing expereince in the spa -- a bit pricey but worth it. The breakfast was outstanding. The buffet down at the springs, while very good, was a bit pricey. So was the breakfast, but it was included in our rate so no complaints. Stuff is more expensive here, but that is not unlike other resorts around the world (i.e. 4 or 5$ for a diet coke at the bar).

But, you are here to see the volcano (not much going on with it now, which was a shame, but still impressive) and to go to the springs. So nice and relaxing. Unlike anything I've seen. Go do it.

Had our 5 y/o with us and he enjoyed too. Turndown service and attention to detail good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here again on our 40th anniversary trip, as we had stayed here several years ago and had enjoyed the experience then. Not much has changed over the years, except the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean with very nice furnishings. The price for the breakfast is robbery, and we chose to eat in town instead. Of course the entry into the hot springs is free with your stay. Even though the price of the room is somewhat on the high side, my only real suggestion, would be to lower the cost of the breakfast. $28 a person for breakfast is totally unreasonable and much higher than any other place that we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.