We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place. Very nice. Hot springs were the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Antioch, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing place. Very nice. Hot springs were the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really unique place. The volcanic hot springs are, of course, hot. Very relaxing. We walked around on a sunday but didn't take in the springs till Monday. It was a lot less crowded on Monday. Wife had an amazing expereince in the spa -- a bit pricey but worth it. The breakfast was outstanding. The buffet down at the springs, while very good, was a bit pricey. So was the breakfast, but it was included in our rate so no complaints. Stuff is more expensive here, but that is not unlike other resorts around the world (i.e. 4 or 5$ for a diet coke at the bar).

But, you are here to see the volcano (not much going on with it now, which was a shame, but still impressive) and to go to the springs. So nice and relaxing. Unlike anything I've seen. Go do it.

Had our 5 y/o with us and he enjoyed too. Turndown service and attention to detail good too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    888
    432
    168
    81
    55
See reviews for
308
838
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here again on our 40th anniversary trip, as we had stayed here several years ago and had enjoyed the experience then. Not much has changed over the years, except the price. The rooms are comfortable and clean with very nice furnishings. The price for the breakfast is robbery, and we chose to eat in town instead. Of course the entry into the hot springs is free with your stay. Even though the price of the room is somewhat on the high side, my only real suggestion, would be to lower the cost of the breakfast. $28 a person for breakfast is totally unreasonable and much higher than any other place that we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just returned from a couples trip with my sister and her husband and El Tabacon was recommended to us as the best. The best falls way short! El Tabacon is like nothing you will ever experience! We landed at San Jose and requested the hotel transportation, was a bit pricey but the hotel is 3 hours from the resort. Our driver Manuel was excellent. Made us feel very comfortable, had pillows and reclining seats in van (very comfortable). Midway he stopped in order for us to grab abite, we were starving, and we ate at a local restaurant called El Ranchito. Order the casada which is thier typical meal of rice, beans, picadillo (vegetable), patacones (plantains) and meat of coice and salad. DELICIOUS!!! After that we napped for an hour and when we woke we have the most AMAZING view of the Arenal Volcano. I have never seen anything so beautiful! We were lucky and the day was clear so we had a beautiful view of the complate volcano with a cloud like of mist at the very top. About 45 minutes later we were at the hotel. The reception is pretty and the staff was very informative and friendly. Tropicl drink served at welcome. Once arrived at the room we were blown away. Had a King Superior Suite and it was huge. Bathroom was extremely comfortable with 2 sinks, shower and jacuzzi with seperate toilet and bidei. View was looking out to the rain forest. Had 2 sofa beds in the living room area as well as dining room table with a large king bed. We changed and took a 8 seater golf cart to the thermal springs. What can I say, I was speechless with the beauty surrounding me. It was the most romantic, amazing, inspiring , breath taking view of all of those thermal water springs within the most BEAUTIFUL rain forest!!!!! The Shangri La is the adults only area which, at night, gives for privacy and romance!! There is a bar and ultiple areas to sit and relax with tables and cabanas which are first come first serve. On the last day we did the couples Idyllic Massage at the Grand Spa. It has been by far the most romantic spa we have EVER had. I won't spoil it by giving details but trust me, the price is WORTH it..do NOT think twice! Overall the experience is a MUST!! For dinner, you can go to La Fortuna which is a $15 cab ride (15-20min) and you can eat at Lava Lounge. Greta food and lively but the area is truly for RELAXATION!! In all El Tabacom is well worth the money and trip! Costa Rica was absolutely a country we will be returning to...Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

First off a friend of mine from Costa Rica told me not to stay at this hotel. However Im very stubborn and didn't listen to her. After seeing the pictures and the reviews I just had to stay here. Please dont get me wrong if you are looking for a 5 star experience look no further but it will cost you. Right away they upgraded my husband and I to the honeymoon suite which was gorgeous! I was hoping for veiws of the volcano but we didn't have any. We went to dinner that night at the hotel since we arrived late. Just 2 meals and a $32 bottle of cheap wine and we were signing a $148.00 dinner tab. The food was delicious but we didn't even have any apps or dessert. I can go to Capital Grill back home for that price and we are in Costa Rica. The next night we asked where the locals go and were able to have plenty of drinks and appitizer and dinner for less than $40.00 and it was amazing! The Tabacon Hot Springs were to die for! What a spectacular place. Although you dont have to stay in the hotel to enjoy them. The location was ok. Its about half way between La Fortuna and the Volcano. 15 minutes to both. I probably would have rather stayed closer to the town.
So was it a great trip and a wonderful place tp stay? Yes.
Would I stay there again or recommend it? Unfortunatly not.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites were gorgeous. We stayed in room 501
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very beautiful, postcard looking hot springs near Vulcano. Beautiful resort with excellent food. Day pass is also available and great place to spend a day or days. Restaurant serves great buffet that is worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We finished off a honeymoon of travel throughout Costa Rica with two days at Tabacon. It was the perfect way to prepare for returning to the U.S., with the hot springs and pools providing enough relaxation to get ready for travel. Recommend getting a massage scheduled early as the Spa was full when we arrived, but there were plenty of hideaways and nooks in the Springs to enjoy away from crowds. Definitely go to the Springs at night, and visit the Shangri-La Gardens for more privacy. We went during low season, so it felt like we had many of the areas to ourselves. Rooms were clean, and the service was professional. While the food was a little overpriced, it was much better than all-inclusive resorts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food at the restaurant at Tabacon was definitely not 5 star quality and was overpriced for the quality and service they provided. The staff could not communicate well in English so there were several miscommunications. The staff was not friendly. That was all the restaurant. In the rooms, we had too many problems with internet, water pressure (one day we had no water for 6 hours and other times there was very little water pressure, they would send someone to fix a/c when it was working fine, had multiple problems with keys not working.I understand that things go wrong but to pay for a 5 star there should not be SO many problems. The hot springs were excellent! I like to give credit where it is due. I would suggest you stay somewhere else and get a day pass for the hot springs - that would be worth paying for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Amex, Venere, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.