We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night time hot springs were amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Night time hot springs were amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We visited the hot springs one evening on a night pass. The thermal pools are amazing and I would definitely recommend, even tho a little expensive.

Italian buffet in the restaurant was great, but again a little pricey.

Only slight downside is some areas of the paths between springs could be a little better lit as you are walking round bare foot in the dark in places!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,076
    501
    189
    84
    55
See reviews for
374
973
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The grounds are INSANELY beautiful - the thermal spa is so amazing! Its more beautiful than the pictures made it seem - it's really been one of my favorite experiences.

The rooms are nice and the hotel staff are accomodating - no complaints there. If you're going to be going to the thermal spa, you might as well stay in the rooms, from a cost perspective.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tabacon is one of those places that you can enjoy regardless what kind of weather the area is under. Going to the Tabacon Resort is a great experience at any time of the day, you will have a blast if it is sunny and warm same as if it rains and get somehow cold. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Arenal volcano on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Tabacon is in a beautiful area of Costa Rica, the hot springs are a must if you are in the area. These can be visited on a day pass though which is plenty to see the beauty of these natural springs. The resort itself is little more than a hotel with tropical scenery. There is really very little there in the way of a bar or any atmosphere to speak of. To experience any of that you have to go to the hot springs which is just a short drive or a long walk down the road. EVERYTHING was over-priced, buffet supper was over $40/person and it certainly wasn't worth the money. Drinks were also very expensive and it made it hard to just enjoy it and relax without thinking about how fast your bar tab was adding up. They really have no concept of value there and the hot springs, while beautiful are not worth the stay, especially when day passes are available. We spent 4 nights there and 4 at Nayara and I wish we had spent our entire vacation at Nayara!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

An amazing hotel and spa located by the Hot Thermal Springs of the Arenal Volcano. Beautiful rooms with plush amenities. We even had a jacuzzi to soak in after a day of zip lining and horseback riding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This place is beautiful and the spa really was first class all the way. Massages are given next to the raging hot springs (I Swedish massage and volcanic mud wrap). The masseurs are very talented and made sure we were comfortable at all times.
Dinner was not bad, but not superb. We happen to be there for Italian night. Chef was a little annoyed that night, I think. And I should mention that a glass of house wine was $11 each.
This place isn't cheap, but it's quite an experience and I'm looking forward to going back for the deep tissue massage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have been to Tabacon 4 times before (at the moment we live in Costa Rica), and we always enjoyed beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms and excellent service.
On 5 June we took a trip to this thermal resort with my husband (it was his first time there). I told him about this wonderful place and amazing service. So, he was looking forward to see it as well.
The start was great: after 4 hour drive they checked us in earlier and upgraded us to a beautiful suite!
We went to the thermal part of the resort (you need to drive to it if you have a car or take a hotel shuttle). They did a good job here. The upper part of the springs which was under the construction before was now open. It was really beautiful and includes the area only for adults.
We had really good time this day and in the evening went to the best restaurant in La Fortuna (8 min. drive from the resort).
Next morning I told my husband that the breakfast in the resort's restaurant is very expensive (around 35 American dollars per person and it is never included in the room rate), but from my previous experience it was always excellent and the service was consistently perfect.
When we came I was shocked by variety (it was almost nothing to choose from). They reduced dramatically both quality and quantity. Before they were offering fresh squeezed juices of different kind. Now you have to ask (and if you don't know you will end up with the bottled orange juice). I asked for the nice tropical mix, but was served the same diluted orange juice. Hot dishes were simply tasteless and uneatable. The waiters tried to avoid the eye contact with the clients and are not helpful. Before they had a very good selection of tropical fruits. Now it was just a few sad green fruits, even papaya and mango were uneatable.
To be honest. At the end of the breakfast I was still hungry (never happened before and I'm not a big eater), and even had to eat a piece of bread.
We went to the reception after breakfast and asked whether it is possible to have extension until 2.00 pm (normal check out time is 12.00). It was never a problem before. This time the lady at the reception was not friendly and at last allowed us to stay 30 min. longer (?!).
We went back to our room only to find out that at 11.30 am (before official check out time) they switched off our Internet and tv as if telling us - it is time to pack and get out - why are you still here?
We felt bad and unwelcome.
No doubt, Tabacon is a beautiful property, the springs area is great, but without adequate service it cannot work at least for us. I'm not sure now whether I'll be coming back or recommend it to my friends. Before I was coming here a lot with my friends and members of my family.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.