We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day Trip when visiting Costa Rica! Well worth the drive...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Save Saved
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Day Trip when visiting Costa Rica! Well worth the drive...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Working for a vacation rental company, it is important to know THE BEST day trips and things to do in the area to recommend to clients. Let me tell you, THIS IS IT! The hotel is beautiful and overflowing with lush landscape, great service, and friendly guests. Looking out the window from our hotel room, I felt like I was right in the middle of a tropical forest. The hot springs are truly a “luxurious” experience. Walking in with your robes, you automatically feel like you are in a top of the line VIP spa. Once you get to the hot springs they are absolutely magnificent. They are attached by trails and each one is unique with different temperatures, depth, and design. At night they have lit trails that give it a romantic and intimate feel Not only are you beyond relaxed, but captivated by the beauty. When you are done relaxing you can slide down the slide into the big pool and swim up to the bar and get yourself a cocktail and just enjoy yourself. I was asked to blog for Good Life Retreats about the one day trip I would recommend, and this was hands down the first thing that came to my mind!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear friends form GoodLifeRetreats, thank you so much for your support and assessments. Totally agree with you, it is important to know and experience the product in order to sell it and ensure customers get what they want. Definitely, ¨Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort is located right in the middle of the tropical rain forest. Our hot springs and facilities are great to be experienced during both the night and day time. Tabacon is truly one of kind experience, unique hot springs, magnificent ambiance, pure natural flora and fauna, mixture of unbelievable ingredients that make ones experience unforgettable. We are honored to be approved by your team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,021
    467
    184
    82
    54
See reviews for
356
919
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

great hotel with excellent customer service. The rooms are not bad although I would not consider them to be on par with other 5 star properties. The meals at the various restaurants were some of the best we had in Costa Rica. The hot springs are absolutely amazing and really incredible to enjoy at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear TravelMothDave, we do believe the customer service can make one´s experience even more memorable and provide a plus to the service. We offer several food and beverages choices in order to please all our visitors´ requirements. Regarding our Hot springs, during the Night time they do have their own charm. There are no words to describe how the magical night nature sounds and the unique ambiance make out of this place a real paradise. Tabacon´s hot springs should be experienced both during night and day time, causing different experiences but same effects, providing our visitors tranquility and pure relaxation. The team of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort looks forward to your next visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEENS,NEW YORK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Rooms: We had a superior room which was quite pretty with all the expected amenities. I absolutely loved the bed and ridiculously comfortable bathrobes. The only slight negative was a hair I found on the sink upon arrival. I know that these things can happen, but I am admittedly picky about anything that isn’t perfectly immaculate.
Food: We had breakfast included in our package and it was fantastic! It is a buffet and has everything you could ever want to eat. My waters remembering the freshly cooked waffles, fried plantains and fried yuccas ( which I had never had before). The fresh fruit and huge assortment of pastries was great too. They also have an egg station and tons of lighter fare.
Service: Everyone was polite and professional if lacking that extra personal touch. No complaints though, we were treated very well.
Now, let me get to the absolute highlight of the hotel: the fabulous hot springs! Spending time in the springs was one of the highlights of our trips to Costa Rica. They are incredibly beautiful and so relaxing. There so many different pools and falls that one can spend quite a while exploring. There are numerous 6nooks and crannies to sit and relax it. The main warm water pool is lovely too. It is great to sit in warm water with a cold drink. Also, make sure you go down the slide at least once; it is so much fun! I especially recommend visiting the springs at night when the cooler air makes for an extremely pleasant contrast with the hot water. If the spring weren’t enough, they are surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers. Just amazing !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dear TRAVELINGDEE1217 thanks for your feedback. We apologize the obvious inconvenience you had in your room and took the corrective measures to prevent the same happening again. On the other hand, It is very nice to read that your experience at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort was the real highlight of your trip to Costa Rica. While there are many hot springs destinations around the world, few offer this special balance set in a splendorous natural paradise. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in hopefully the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We arrived close to 10:00 PM after a tiring drive through a torrential rain. The front desk called the restaurant (which closes at 10) to have them wait for us. Once seated, we were treated as if it was the middle of the dinning evening and not closing time. The food was outstanding. This experience set the bar for the rest of the stay, which was flawless. Our room had a beautiful view of the rain forest from the balconi. The romantic dinner in our private hut was magnificent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Mr. Mark R, we are very glad that you were pleased with our staff services. At Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort every guest is special, that is why we try to satisfy all customer’s needs. Our main purposes is to provide a unique experience, offering a very special servce and several special activities such as the Private Romantic Dinner which takes place in a private bungalow in the middle of the forest where your personal chef and server is at your service. Thank s for you reviews; we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach, fla
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

my wife and i stayed at tabacon two nites in sept . the hotel is modern and upscale. our room looked out to the arenal volcano. the grounds were landscaped w/ flowering plants. hummingbirds, and other brightly colored birds , small iguanas. the hotel has a nice hot spring heated pool that we enjoyed, but the best pools were across the street.(the hotel shuttle will take you and bring you back) a hot thermal river (from the volcano) w/ waterfalls, sitting areas, etc. set in the rain forest. also three conventional thermal heated pools pools each a little different in hotness. it was never crowded.
if you are a guest at the hotel, it is included,( but daytrippers can buy admission.)
the breakfast at the hotel is a very nice buffet. i tried some tropical fruits i had never seen.
because i'm a member of LHW the breakfast was included. as was early check-in. coming back from the pools, we found a very nice fresh fruit platter delivered. later that eve the hotel brought us a bottle of wine, and hor d'ourves. the second nite they sent a tray of chocolate covered strawberries. WOW ! above and beyond. what's not to like at a place like this !!
we loved it !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Mr. Daytonadoug, thanks for expressing your opinion regarding your visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. We are gratefully surrounded by incomparable hot springs and natural backgrounds in the middle of the tropical rain forest. The water from our pools is gotten from hot spring rivers that born at our property, which are mixed with another river with cool water in order to get the different temperatures of the pools.
Our delicious buffet breakfast has always the sweet taste of a variety of fresh fruit from the season, making it the best ingredient for starting a day with lots of positive energy. Since we are always thinking about our clients, everything from the hot springs to the hotel have been set up to please and exceed all our visitors expectations. Your wife and you should come back soon and enjoy another unforgettable romantic getaway in Tabacon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Tabacon for a week on our honeymoon. Travel was a little long getting there but the scenic drive was breathtaking. My husband was skeptical that the resort could be as lovely as the website pictures but he wasn't once we arrived! Our bungalow faced the rainforrest. We work each morning to howler monkeys, tropical birds and misty sunrises. We were terribly fortunate to see the Arenal Volcano our first evening spewing red rock and fireworks. The locals told us were we lucky because it is usually covered by clouds. The resort was spectacular. The staff was warm and friendly and we wanted for nothing. They helped us coordinate all of our outings.... horseback riding, atv'ing, zip lining..... all truly wonderful experiences. I fell in love with Costa Rica and cannot wait 'till our return. The Tabacon is a must..... the hot springs quickly melt away all your worries. And they are so vast privacy is not a worry...... We were there in October and expected mosquitos etc..... not at all. Just lucky I guess. It did rain almost each day but we ignored it and enjoyed the beautiful country anyway. It is definately worth it to take a short taxi ride to La Fortuna to sample the local restaurants. The local fish was outstanding. Staying a week is a little pricey but it was our honeymoon so we didn't want to spend too much time packing and unpacking. Other than a gigantic spider in the bathroom.... I cannot say one negative thing about this lovely resort and beautiful country. The people of Costa Rica were just as warm and inviting as could be..... from the hotel staff to our hiking guide..... Left a little of my heart there!

Room Tip: Our room faced the rainforrest.... ultimate privacy and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Warwick, it is very rewarding to read your reviews. Totally agree with you, no picture would be able to express the reality of this paradise-like place called Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, this is a “must”(as you wrote on the review) to be experienced by everyone.
Wish you the best for the rest of your lives together and hope you can come and relive your honeymoon on your next anniversaries at Tabacon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights with 2 kids, ages 10 and 6. The resort is really amazing and hard to describe with words. You must see for yourself...

The rooms were spacious and very clean with good views even in the more basic rooms. There is transportation to the hot springs that is easy to access and the bus runs about every 5-10 minutes. The springs are more of a natural river vs. large hot pools that are at other local places. The springs have rocks in many of the river so it is best to wear water shoes.

The food was excellent for breakfast, buffet dinners as well as the gourmet restaurant. We ate at the buffet 3 nights and one night ate at the more upscale hotel restaurant. There is something for everyone to eat and it was all very good.

The concierge was very helpful with trip planning, dinner reservations and spa reservations.

I would highly recommend the spa--what an amazing experience! Perhaps the best deep tissue massages ever! Hearing the sounds of nature during the massage was an added benefit. Overall, this was an excellent stay and we loved the resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
You had a very nice vacation as family and enjoying very time around with us. For us is a pleasure to have during your trip in Costa Rica. Hope to have all of you in a future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.