We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent vacation spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sallisaw, OK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An excellent vacation spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It's been a few years since my wife and I stayed at Tabacon, and we still talk about the great time we had there. The drive from the airport is long and the road through La Tigre is not the best road ever built. I would still recommend driving yourself, and the road is well marked. It would be difficult to get lost if you drove during daylight hours. Reception at check in was quick, and they served us a fruit cocktail drink immediately upon arrival. We had a room with a volcano view, overlooking the gardens. When we visited, they were remodeling the lower level rooms, but this was not a problem as we were busy enough with other activiites to be undisturbed. Local wildlife prowls the gardens in the mornings and evenings, and howler monkey play in the forest trees. Suzanne kind of freaked out when we saw the monkeys watching and howling at us in the trees about 25 yards away. We didn't eat at their restaurant, choosing to visit Fortuna venues instead. We watched Arenal erupt from our patio on several occasion, and at night, we could see the red glow at the summit. The hot springs are incredible. Each pool is enclosed with jungle and breathtaking flower blossoms. We were blessed with an afternoon rain shower while the volcano rumbled in the distance. This was Suzanne's first visit to Tabacon and CR, but I've been several times, and have always visited here. Be careful of outdoor rest areas, as the volcanic ash falls everywhere, and if you're not careful, you will be coated with small slivers of obsidian that settle on flat surfaces. Their gift shop has great souveniers, but you can find exactly the same items in Fortuna for almost a quarter of the cost. The trip to Fortuna is quick and easy. You can find everything you want there with ease (Tico restaurants and eateries, shops, stores, markets, rentals, hotels, churches etc.) It is also any easy trip to other attractions, such at the waterfalls, hanging bridges, lake Arenal, and more. Tabacon is worth the price and is a very luxurious resort. Aside from the cost of on site extras, there isn't really anything bad to say about Tabacon, and we will definitely stay there on our next trip later this year. I would highly recommend this resort for CR visitors.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for spending your vacation time in Costa Rica at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Regarding your reviewed experience, indeed our Costa Rican´ roads are a bit bumpy and crazily build, but it is worthy to drive though, it might also be part of the experience you can life in this beautiful country. Thanks for all your comments regarding Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. We will take your world, and be waiting for you to come on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    596
    222
    91
    61
See reviews for
490
1,137
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Through a booking mistake we were placed in lower level hotel and needed to change after one night there. On little more than a whim we selected Tabacon and it completely saved our visit to the Arenal area.

We we given an amazing upgrade to a Deluxe Premium Room and it was one of the nicest room we've even been in. You can find the details on their website, but it was spacious and luxurious with an in-room jacuzzi and vaulted ceilings. We didn't get to stay in them, but for the price the Superior Premium Room seemed to be a decent value on the upper end of the local scale. You probably won't get a good view of the volcano from any room, but the jungle scenery and night noises were great.

Service throughout the resort was wonderful be it the turn-down service, the front desk, the restaurant waitstaff or the valet. We were pleased with every staff interaction. The food options were varied and very good - the breakfast buffet is actually very good and don't normally care for buffets.

In addition to the room, access to the hot springs is included, which saved $60 per person since we were planning on visiting anyways. We ended up in the hot springs four times during our 2 night stay!

This was the second portion of our honeymoon and our experience at Tabacon was exactly what we had hoped for! If you're looking for an upscale resort, I cannot give this place higher marks.

Room Tip: The upstairs Deluxe Premium Suite is fabulous!! The nighttime noise of the jungle is shockingly loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Loved costumer, thank you so much for sharing your outstanding honeymoon experience; it has been a pleasure to have you experience the romance found at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Your review sounds like the perfect and unforgettable honeymoon experience. Everyone could envy you because you really spend a fantastic time in Costa Rica.
Hope we can be part of your future anniversary trips!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I went to this place after a walk through Arenal. It was such a treat, the hot springs. There is this one part that has a huge waterfall and you can sit behind it, like a steam room, it was amazing. Also the thermal resort has a slide for kids and big kids, which was so much fun. They have nice changing areas for after your swim and showers. After we went in the thermal waters for hours we had a nice dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Totally agree with you “Huge waterfalls”, our pools can definitely satisfy all visitor likes and they also have a gorgeous setting. We have been blessed with this magnificent gift from our mother nature. We have enjoyed reading your assessments regarding your visit to Tabacon Grand spa Thermal Resort, please keep in mind that you will always be welcomed anytime you wish to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We spent 2 nights here as part of our honeymoon - it really was a world class hotel! The room was amazing, the service amazing and we got a free room upgrade with a fruit basket. Loved the luxury gowns and slippers and molton brown treats!

Breakfast was too good to be true, fresh juice made to order, so you could combine whatever fruits you wanted. Pastires to die for, good coffee .... I could go on and on!!

The springs were 'SIMPLY WOW' - it was paradise! We had dinner at the springs too and the food was lush!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Gratefully Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort has become the perfect place for spending the honeymoon or a romantic getaway, nature is simply the best ingredient plus the romantic atmosphere that surrounds us. Tabacon has all the natural ingredients for being relaxed and spending an unforgettable trip to Costa Rica. We hope to receive you at Tabacon on your next anniversaries, by the way congratulations for your recent marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and stayed at this resort for three nights. The first night, we were in a basic room and the air conditioner was broken. We called a couple times and they send someone over th fix it, but the repair man didnt say what the problem was, didnt fix it and ended up saying "he will be back" but never came back. We didnt get much sleep the first night given it was very humid in the room. After telling the front desk the next morning that the air was still not working and no one fixed it, they ended up moving us to the Honeymoon suite for the next two nights for free. This was a nice gesture given our first night was not great. The Suite was fantastic other than the tub/shower lever was broken, so we needed to call again to have that fixed before we could shower. It took the repair man 10 minutes and it was fixed. The breakfast that was included was the best we had in Costa Rica. Fresh fruit, pressed coffee, and overall selection was outstanding. The use of the hot springs for free was also a huge plus. We spent our entire first day in the hot springs and they were fantastic. Even though we had some bumps with the repairs, the resort made sure we had a good experience and overall, I would stay here again if I went back to Arenal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear customer, we would like to thank you for visiting Tabacon during your last vacations in Costa Rica. We just came across your comment and noticed, that unfortunately you faced some displeases during your stay. In addition, we certainly appreciate your remarks and apologize for any inconvenient that you have faced. I would like to let you know that the entire Tabacon team is always at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I cannot express how AMAZING my experience was at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. I had seen the pictures on TripAdvisor and was excited to go, but the pictures cannot do the resort or the Hot Springs justice. The service was very attentive, the food was amazing. It was a fusion of asian and Indian spices. The breakfast buffet was the most amazing spread I've ever seen. Where do I begin with the Hot Springs? WOW! I was in dire need of a relaxing vacation and it does not get more relaxing than the thermal waters of Tabacon. It was therapeutic just sitting in the springs and in the waterfalls. I decided to get a massage and that was an incredible experience. It was outdoors in the rainforest, and you could hear all the natural sounds of the wildlife. It was so amazing I felt I was in a trance. Definitely one of the highlights of my experience! I would certainly go back and visit Tabacon. One of the most memorable vacations I've had!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Tabacon`s Customers are the number ONE for us. All our entire efforts of improvement are because of you, our loved Customers. In addition, we have a variety of food selection, the best ambiance for relaxation and the best ingredients for a perfect vacation or romantic getaway, Exactly what our customers deserve! This amazing paradise is all for our customers to enjoy and experience an unforgettable time. Hope to welcome you soon again here in Tabacon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This place is amazing. The location/view can not be described with words ---- you are looking out onto a Volcano. The resturants area bit pricey, but the food is very good and the atmosphere justifies the price. The Hot Springs and Spa are one of a kind. I had one of the best massages ever here, and it is easy to see why the Spa is rate one of the to in the world. This place is a "no brainer" if you are going to Arenal --- just a bit pricey, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,463 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.