We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Loveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was a great relaxing end to our Costa Rican getaway. The rooms were nice, but the hot springs was what made this place top notch. There is a lot to do in the area as well, and the people (both in the hotel and in the town itself) were so genuinely nice that I want everyone to go experience this! The view of Arenal Volcano from our room was spectacular - just like a postcard! We got 2 servings of room service for breakfast and there was more food than 6 of us could eat. The coffee was especially good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
What a great way to end your vacation time in Costa Rica, as you said there is a lot to do in the area.
In addition, we do as much as possible in order to satisfy all our guest food requirements. We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again at Tabacón Grand Spa Thermal Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    547
    200
    85
    58
See reviews for
417
1,044
32
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Coming from the most beautiful hotel we've ever stayed (the Nayara which is about five minutes away)...our expectations were high. We booked a one-night stay in order to have access to the Tabacon hot springs that we had heard were awesome. Upon arrival we were told that we received an upgraded room with a garden view. LOL...apparently a few plants camouflaging a metal fence with a major road on the other side is an upgraded garden view room ;-) The room itself was ok, nothing special and there was not any type of porch/chairs to enjoy the "garden" view. HOWEVER, taking the quick shuttle across the street to the hot springs made up for the ho-hum room. We had a fun-filled day there and enjoyed every minute of it. There is a swim-up pool bar but be warned that they are proud of their food/drinks and prices reflect that. There is also an open-air restaurant that serves dinner buffet style with a different theme each night. It was good...but again...very pricey. I recommend staying at Nayara as your main hotel in the Arenal area and then move over for one night at Tabacon ;-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladenburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

this is a great place to relax!! the hot springs are amazing and the standards of the hotel are very high!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Mother Nature creates this spot in the Northen Region of Costa Rica to share it with all visitors. It is the perfect place to relax and get in touch with nature. In fact, our customers encourage us to keep on working hard in order to improve ourselves and provide the best service. Thank you for being with us and we hope to have you again with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

So it's was great but not that much for having a fun time. One they close at 10 for everything no dancing no music to lounge to even. If your not on a budget but still don't want to blow ur self a new one well you will. It sucks to think of every time u order a drinks that
It so expensive ahhh should we get one more. We had just as good service cleaness great food ect... In a 40$ night hotel in quepos.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for being with us during your visit to Costa Rica and for sharing your comments, throughout feedback like yours we can improve and get better every day.
Your priceless support, comments and suggestions are always more than appreciated.
Hope to have you as a guest in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Reception - Very good, professional but not brilliant
Rooms - Good amenities but rather dark, the building being surrounded by trees which is acceptable in a tropical forrest, but the light in the rooms is rather poor.
WIFI is not free but if you have a laptop you can connect to the net by cable for free.
Rooms are very clean and well taken care of.
The bathroom is somewhat weathered and could do with some refurbishing.
We did not eat at the restaurant but had breakfast a couple of times (same place). The restaurant is well placed, next to the swimming pool (the opening hours of the pool make that you can enjoy a quiet breakfast or dinner). The buffet is fabulous and although more than enough you can still order your pancake or eggs from the cook.
And then comes the best thing about the hotel being the Hot Springs. Free of charge for guest and only some 400 meters away from the hotel (shuttle available). A superb amount of pools, cascades and rivers has been created, fed by the hot water from the Arenal Volcano. A restaurant (good Indian foor but a limited card) and a pool bar (in the water) make the experience an onfurgetable one. I had to reschedule our second days trips in order for the family to be back on time to re-enjoy the hot springs.
Don't get me wrong, I am not a beach or pool junkey but this was too good to pass on.

Views; From our room (Superior Room) we had a nice view of the Arenal Volcano (clouds permiting) but make sure you take a room on the second floor. On the ground floor your want see a thing.

Room Tip: Make sur you have a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
It has been a real having you as a guest at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Your thoughts and opinions regarding our service are more than appreciated. Thank you for your advice and feedback, we will take care of your suggestions. However, Internet is currently free for our guests, since the first week of November 2010, we do have a free business center for people who do not bring their own laptop and there is also FREE WI-FI in our property.
Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Amazing hotel in the Arenal area, very beautiful. A perfect place if you need to relax and scape from daily stress.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort is definitely the ideal setting for getting away from your daily stress and worries. The ambiance really connects you with the nature sounds which do renovate your souls.
We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Tabacon for the first leg of our Costa Rica honeymoon on the reccommendation of 2 other couples. The hotel is very nice, probably the nicest in Arenal. We stayed in a Deluxe room that was very nice, had luxurious ammenities and didn't feel like we were "roughing it." The drive to Arenal from the San Jose airport is not easy; we hired Oddessy Tours to drive us there and back, and they were great and affordable - I highly reccommend using this service. The hot springs are great; we visited during the low tourist season so they were not crowded, although I have heard that they get very crowded at times. The Grand Spa is great and affordable - I would highly reccommend it. Food and drinks at the Tabacon are very expensive, and the food is not worth the money - we went into La Fortuna a few nights for dinner and the food was much better and more affordable at the restaurants in town. Also, think twice before booking the Gala dinner at the Tabacon - it is very expensive, the food is just ok and is sitting out in the heat for who knows how long before it is cooked (my husband was actually up all night vomiting after our dinner), and because you eat in an open-air hut, there are bugs that are attacking and distracting you the entire dinner. Also, the service at this hotel, for the ratings and price of the hotel, is sub par. The concierge is not very knowledgeable, and the staff is not very willing to help you. The hotel overbooked the private huts the night we originally reserved for our Gala dinner, and was less than apologetic even though it was their mistake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear Guest, we are absolutely glad and thankful for becoming part of your Honeymoon experience in Costa Rica. Thank you so much for your feedback, this would help us improve ourselves and look for our strengths and weaknesses in order to work hard with them, so next time you visit us you will notice a positive change in our services. Hope you visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.