We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Tabacon is a wonderful hotel with truly great service and people. My husband and I stayed at Tabacon for three nights and from the moment we checked in we were greeted with smiling faces and helpful people. The room itself is pretty much a standard hotel room. However, we stayed in a junior suite which had a large backyard in which we saw numerous squatees (racoon type animals) and which had a nice hottub.

The hot springs are really fabulous and included in the price of a Tabacon stay. Moreover, although people who are not staying at Tabacon
can come for the day to the hot springs, they do have to pay for the privilege and are not given robes or extra time in the hot springs. We
did not find the hot springs to be overcrowded, but did find them to be extremely relaxing. Also, as a guest at Tabacon you are provided with quick door-to-door shuttle service to and from the hot springs.

The concierge at Tabacon was extremely helpful and efficient. The sky tram and sky trek zipline tour, which the concierge booked, was a highlight of out trip and extremely organized.

We also had massages at the Tabacon Spa which were amazing. They were outside in a beautiful cabana with the sound of water flowing all around you.

Additionally, Tabacon arranged for ground transfers from San Jose to Tabacon and then from Tabacon to Manuel Antonio (about a 5 ½ hour drive). The transfers were amazing with really comfortable vans and knowledgeable and friendly drivers who spoke English. The drives were more of a tour than a transfer as our drivers were great about stopping at interesting spots and pointing out cool wildlife and nature.

We liked the food at the Tabacon restaurant[ (we only ate breakfast there though) which overlooks an amazing pool. Again, we found the people there to be more than helpful and very friendly.

Finally, Tabacon offers its own taxi service from the hotel. In other words, if you request a taxi to go into town, the taxi is there within
a minute or two and you can be on your way. Additionally, the town is only a 5-10 minute drive from Tabacon which is very convenient.

Our only complaint about the hotel is that the beds are not that comfortable. Our one suggestion to the hotel to make an incredible experience even more enjoyable would be to upgrade the mattresses.

On a final note, check-out and check-in could not have gone smoother and we made calls to the US and were charged only $1.70 per minute.

We truly enjoyed our experience at Tabacon and would recommend it to our friends and family. We hope to be back.

  • Liked — Incredible service
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,088
    503
    190
    84
    55
See reviews for
375
984
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Went here for 3 days of honeymoon. Booked a Volcano view room which was not a volcano view as could only see v top off volcano. When I asked to be moved the staff were initially rude but a senior member moved us to the view that they actually show on the website. The Tabacon is quite a rip off. The thermal spas which any one can use even if not staying at hotel is fantastic. The hotel room is insipid. You could be in a hotel room anywhere in the world. The staff are inpolite which is the complete opposite to what I have experienced in Costa Rica.

You CANNOT SEE THE LAVA FROM HERE. The lava reversed its flow several years ago and it can't be seen from Tabacon. Stay on the other side of Fortuna where you might see it at night.

Food in restaurant was poor and cost an absolute fortune, whereas a cheap meal in the town was delicious.

I used the telephones in the reception with my credit card. I phoned someone in th UK 3 times and got and answer machine which I hung up on immediatley. For this I was charged $200. Yes $200!!! Am in process of trying to retrieve. They are unbelivable.

  • Liked — gardens
  • Disliked — now lava view and ripp off
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We were informed a couple of days ago that our reservation, made in May of '07, was not being honored so that they could do some remodelling. Our stay at Tabacon was to begin on the 19th of Nov. When we said that this wasn't a good practice to treat customers this way, they said "We are always full". It sounds as if Tabacon takes its customers for granted...

I can't believe that a service oriented entity such as Tabacon would have so little regards for their customers...

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Tabacon. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we were looking for a comfortable resort to decompress. Tabacon did well.

Driving to LaFortuna (or any other place in Costa Rica) was a bit more trouble than we expected. This is why I would recommend not renting a car to get to Tabacon. Arrange for transportation from San Jose through the resort and let your Tico driver deal with the local conditions. You'll thank yourself for doing so.

The restaurant was decent, but pricy. That's mitigated by the fact that you are in a remote location on the planet. We enjoyed the food, the service was mostly friendly, however one of the waiters we had seemed miffed when we had menu questions/ food requests.

The hot springs were indeed hot and a very interesting experience. The thermal swim up bar was fun and the informal restaurant at the hot springs was nice for lunch.

While hot springs are nice, since the weather is warm and humid, a cool water pool would be a nice addition to the resort. The coolest water is in the main pool, next to the formal restaurant. It's the farthest away from the volcanic source, but the water is still warm.

The hotel was very good about setting up well run, guided activities, i.e. volcano hikes, canopy tours, etc. We made the mistake, however, of taking our tour book seriously about taking a day trip from LaFortuna to the Monteverde Cloud Forest region. The hotel did their best to recommend a LaFortuna canopy tour, but we wanted to go to Monteverde. It's quite an undertaking. Jeep ride to the lake...boat across the lake...then a long jeep ride over dirt roads to Monteverde...then back again by dark. In short, we spent way too much time trying to get there and back in a day. If you want to see Monteverde...stay in Monteverde.

If you have the budget, Tabacon is a good choice. I'm sure there are other nice places in LaFortuna as well. Shop around.

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with very nice people. The Ticos were very welcoming and we would return. But we wouldn't rent a car. The second half of our trip was to the Manuel Antonio National Park near Quepos. After the very long drive from LaFortuna, across two dilapidated bridges (which are being replaced as we speak, we arrived at Manuel Antonio only to find that there is frequent air service from San Jose (approx 20 minute flight). Usually we do better homework prior to a trip like this, but we've had very busy schedules due to some family illnesses and didn't consider transportation options other than a car rental. We travel extensively and have rented cars in other countries, but good roads in Costa Rica are still being constructed. Our trip back to San Jose for our flight home was nearly 8 hours long (should have been 3 hours). CR route 3 is a direct, but mountainous, route from Manuel Antonio area back to San Jose. The day we had to return to SJ, the entire country of Costa Rica was having a traffic jam. (yikes!!!) So if you don't need a car, don't rent one. There are many transit options available to you.

  • Liked — View of volcano from room
  • Disliked — No cool water swimming pool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnfernan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

I booked a 4 day/3 night hotel stay at Tabacon through Skyauction.com, for a price that was at least 50% off the regular rate. My girl friend and I took a trip to Costa Rica for 10 days for some R & R. Our first destination when we arrived was at Arenal. When we arrived at Tabacon, we were amazed at the expansiveness of the resort. It is truly deserving of the 5 star hotel and resort rating - apparently one of the "Leading Hotels in the World". The rooms are very comfortable - that you never want to leave your room. We had a large balcony that overlooked the Garden - so you can hear the tranquil and calming sounds at night. You can also have a Volcano view room. The restaurants on site had amazing seafood and spa cuisine selections. The hot springs and surrounding gardens were truly breathtaking. The Grand Spa offers a Volcanic mud massage - it is a must do! The spa experience was unlike anything I've ever had. You get your massage in the middle of an outdoor cabana close to the hot springs. You can hear the water rushing and the sounds of nature while I get a relaxing massage with exfoliating volcanic mud. You can then rinse off the volcanic mud in a private hot springs. We didn't want to leave after our 3rd night. Tabacon was the best choice we could have made for our "girls' getaway".

  • Liked — Hot Springs
  • Disliked — Remoteness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Stayed here twice. Oct 06 and Oct 07. First time was amazing second time almost as good at twice the price. Rooms have gone up 50% or so this year. In a country where you can get a good multi course meal for $5, Tabacon charges $32 for a buffet and $10 for a 12 oz. mixed drink. They have built 7 new buildings and the result is a more cramped feel with a ton of traffic noise interupting your pura vida. Arenal's lava flow no longer faces the resort and you can't see eruptions from your room. The hot springs are still awesome and the staff is still top of the line but for what they are charging it's just not worth it anymore.

  • Liked — hot springs
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

We just returned form our trip from Costa Rica. Our first destination in Costa Rica was Arenal; we stayed in the Junior Suite at Tabacon. Wow, what a beautiful place to stay! I traveled with my husband and two children (8 & 10). We really loved the waterfalls and all the paths to diffent parts of the resort. All the pools were fabulous. The landscaping/foliage was unbelievable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I wish we had stayed a few more days. It really was the highlight of our trip!

  • Liked — It was luxurious!! Truly beautiful!
  • Disliked — I have no complaints!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.