We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't afford to stay here anymore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort to your Saves list
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Can't afford to stay here anymore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

Stayed here twice. Oct 06 and Oct 07. First time was amazing second time almost as good at twice the price. Rooms have gone up 50% or so this year. In a country where you can get a good multi course meal for $5, Tabacon charges $32 for a buffet and $10 for a 12 oz. mixed drink. They have built 7 new buildings and the result is a more cramped feel with a ton of traffic noise interupting your pura vida. Arenal's lava flow no longer faces the resort and you can't see eruptions from your room. The hot springs are still awesome and the staff is still top of the line but for what they are charging it's just not worth it anymore.

  • Liked — hot springs
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    525
    192
    85
    57
See reviews for
397
1,007
32
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

We just returned form our trip from Costa Rica. Our first destination in Costa Rica was Arenal; we stayed in the Junior Suite at Tabacon. Wow, what a beautiful place to stay! I traveled with my husband and two children (8 & 10). We really loved the waterfalls and all the paths to diffent parts of the resort. All the pools were fabulous. The landscaping/foliage was unbelievable. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

I wish we had stayed a few more days. It really was the highlight of our trip!

  • Liked — It was luxurious!! Truly beautiful!
  • Disliked — I have no complaints!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cruz
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

I stayed in Tabacon in Jan 2006, the hotel is not that well know out of Costa Rica but it has to be one of the best thermal waters spas out in the region. The hotel was recommended by some local friends and we booked via phone. The hotel rooms were clean and nicely decorated, our room had a view of the Volcano that feeds the thermal waters. The weather was cloudy so we didnt get to see the lava flows coming out of the peak, but in a clear day and with a little luck you should be able to see the lava coming out of the volcano. The hotel rate includes the daily pass to the thermal waters and breakfast, so overall it a pretty good deal. The thermal water facility is well maintained and very clean, it has beautiful gardens so you can walk around the thermal pools and just relax. The route to Tabacon from San Jose is a bit tricky if you rent a car but we found locals to be very helpful at the time of giving directions the 2 occasions we got lost.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

Look, here is the deal... It's a nice hotel, the room was clean (though the hot water was sometimes MIA). The view of the volcano is cool, but only if the clouds break do you get to see it. The front desk staff could not have cared less when we got there, we had to wait in line, then wait in a corner, then wait some more. Access to the hot springs was the only perk, but for the money spent on this place we did not get the service, attention, or amenities deserved. There are better places for less money.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This resort is unbelievable. So beautiful and relaxing. The spa treatments are top-notch and reasonably priced. I went here for the first 4 days of my honeymoon and I highly recommend it. The service was so great and the employees remembered our names and would greet us by name everytime we saw them. Food is quite pricey but delicious. The town of Fortuna is close by and the hotel has its own car/taxi service for only $8 each way and the food in town is very cheap and yummy. If you do not have breakfast included in your package I suggest room service because they give you enough for 2.

  • Liked — Spa and Hot Springs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

My boyfriend and i stayed here for 3 nights amonst our various travels in Costa Rica. We loved it here. For Costa Rican standards this is probably the nicest hotel outside of the Four Seasons. The location was beautiful, rooms were clean, HUGE bathroom even in the least expensive rooms, lovely tropical foliage everywhere, exercise room, 3 minutes away from the Hot Springs (which were truly romantic and magical), and great food! We loved it here and would recomend it to all our friends. Plus the Canopy tour is a MUST do. It is probably the most extreme canopy tour in Costa Rica, totally thrilling.

  • Disliked — You have to pay for internet
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

I went to Tabacon with my friends after a long month of traveling around Costa Rica. We were 3 in a room, and split the forest double, which was expensive but worth it after the rougher life we lived there. The room was really comfortable, and the forest view was so peaceful.
We hiked the Arenal Volcano, which was the most fun for me. The clouds blocked our view much of the time, but no worries, it was still quite a view from the restaurant and from the spa area.
We ended up staying 3 days and I got the Volcano Mud Wrap and a Deep Tissue Massage. I got the idea that all the treatments are great, since my friends really loved theirs, (Watsu and an Aroma exfoliation).
The Arenal area is beautiful. Don’t expect a crazy nightlife or boutique hotels or stores, but it’s all the energy that the mountains are known to give. We saw a lot of young couples there. We wanted to explore the town of La Fortuna one night, but the farthest we got was a Taxi driver recommending a local disco, that we weren’t really that keen on. So after a nice, simple but delicious fish dinner at a ranchito down the road from the hotel, we went back to the Thermal pools and had some drinks at the wet bar till it closed. It was a lot of fun! I would recommend it to anyone. Especially if you want to take a good book and enjoy the comfort, Tabacon is a great place to be.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.