We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cabanitas Resort

Save Saved
You added Las Cabanitas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Cabanitas Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Zone, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
CANADA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not very well located in La Fortuna, a good hike or short cab ride from town.

There was a large variance in the rooms offered here, so I would suggest that you request to see the room prior to check in. Our room was great, however some rooms had far less amenities, such as windows, mini fridge and Tv.

I would stay in town next time I am in La Fortuna to better make use of my time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    15
    12
    5
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of our EF Tour and found charming spacious Cabins with wooden floors air conditioning, comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. The room was spotlessly clean and the staff pleasant. The food was nothing fancy bit was fresh and satisfying. The grounds are very pretty. With a great view of Arenal Volcano. It is a little noisy in the morning from the roosters in the farm next door, but we had to be up early anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This "resort" consisting of nice cabins surrounded by pretty landscaping was OK. The room was attractive and comfortable...once we obtained a remote to operate the A/C (yes, wierd). The wifi didn't reach the room and our patio didn't have a chair let alone two. A bit of a walk to town but we didn't mind the exercise and it is a nice time of year. A limited breakfast menu but still very tasty. Staff was friendly and helpful. And yes the pool was less than attractive with exposed wiring nearby on the deck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at Las Cabanitas during a tour with gAdventures. The "resort" consists of cabins and a small, slightly dirty pool. Nobody in my tour group took a dip in there. The cabins are nice and spacious with A/C and fans. There is Wifi in the reception area which was pretty far from my cabin. I didn't like the fact that it was about a 15 minute walk from town and I didn't feel comfortable walking by myself after dark. I also had a lot of bugs in the room, potentially even bed bugs on the throw of my bed. It was fine for the three nights we stayed there, but I wouldn't have chosen the place myself and i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was gig enough for us. Cute cabins/bungalows with nice bathrooms. Nothing more than we expected for a three stars hotel. It raked about 15 min to walk to La Fortuna Centrum. Five min walk to the nearest supermarket and a gas station on the other side of the road. The hotel had a great and cheap laundry service and regular breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful little resort in La Fortuna, located on the outskirts of the town. Each room is a small cabin with its own bathroom and front decking area (with rocking chair). The cabins are all very clean and quaint. Theres also a swimming pool, bar and restaraunt located on site.

The only downside to this resort was the fact that is located a good 20-30 minute walk away from the main part of the town, although there is a small supermarket about 5 minutes away.

Other than that, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The hotel has chickens roaming the grounds. Be prepared to be woken up first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived and initially thought the cabins were cute, but they were not really well kept, nor clean. We found ants everywhere the next morning and we were not even keeping food inside. Looking back, that's probably why everyone had their wet clothes hanging outside, too. The breakfast was nothing special and there were no options for lunch or dinner or anything beyond soda. So, if you want something to actually eat, you need to hike about 15-20 minutes into town. Given this was about $100 a night, I think we could have done better - and so could you. This place has a lot of potential, but the cabins and beds need upgrading and the services do, too. The staff were friendly and the tour buses certainly knew where to find us, but I would not recommend staying here as a first or second choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Address: North Zone, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cabanitas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.