We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint and Relaxing Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Las Cabanitas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Las Cabanitas Resort to your Saves list
Las Cabanitas Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   North Zone, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Quaint and Relaxing Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beautiful little resort in La Fortuna, located on the outskirts of the town. Each room is a small cabin with its own bathroom and front decking area (with rocking chair). The cabins are all very clean and quaint. Theres also a swimming pool, bar and restaraunt located on site.

The only downside to this resort was the fact that is located a good 20-30 minute walk away from the main part of the town, although there is a small supermarket about 5 minutes away.

Other than that, highly recommended!

Room Tip: The hotel has chickens roaming the grounds. Be prepared to be woken up first thing in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived and initially thought the cabins were cute, but they were not really well kept, nor clean. We found ants everywhere the next morning and we were not even keeping food inside. Looking back, that's probably why everyone had their wet clothes hanging outside, too. The breakfast was nothing special and there were no options for lunch or dinner or anything beyond soda. So, if you want something to actually eat, you need to hike about 15-20 minutes into town. Given this was about $100 a night, I think we could have done better - and so could you. This place has a lot of potential, but the cabins and beds need upgrading and the services do, too. The staff were friendly and the tour buses certainly knew where to find us, but I would not recommend staying here as a first or second choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 with a high school EF Tour. My cabinita was clean, comfortable & had good a/c once it was figured out. Poor water pressure and no hot water for the shower. No screens on the windows, so use care at night. I found huge insects in the bathroom when turning on the light. Pool was in poor shape and on site public telephone did not work. Food was good. Staff was pretty patient with our high schoolers. Not much to do at night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My first moments at this resort were spent on the pavement as we unloaded luggage in the driving rain at night. There is very poor lighting (true all over Costa Rica) and there was a rise in the pavement that I couldn't see so I ended up sprawled out and bleeding from a huge scrape on the knee. Scars are almost gone, two weeks later. Also, be prepared for the fact that the cabins make no numerical sense. We were in 206 - which is not anywhere near 205, which is at the end of a row. 206 is next to 170-something. Confused? Yeah, we were too. Especially in the dark and pouring rain.
Basically what I expected - damp, average cabin. There was a mounted AC, but it did nothing to dry any damp clothing so be prepared for that. The bathroom was alright. TV would not turn on though even though it was plugged in - not sure what was up with that. Disappointing, since we ended up missing the opening ceremonies of the Olympics. Oh well. Food was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Completely deceptive place. This place was supposed to have a pool, and AC for starters. In reality, the AC did not work, the pool was broken and there were bugs everywhere. For the price charged, this was completely unacceptable. From all accounts, this is standard business practice for the place. Don't ever stay here. If you find that your tour group plans to stay here, it would be wise to cancel your trip with them, since it doesn't speak too highly of them book you in a known "bad apple."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel is very misleading in price! They claim to only cost $105 per night however, they decide what exchange rate they will use (which is much higher than the national and local rate.) Plus there is no spa services so it is misleading to be called a spa resort! The service was excellent during our stay but upon check out we tried to argue the price b/c we were charged more than were quoted. They claimed they would reimburse us.... That never happened!!!! Should have known something was up when our driver from the airport tried to argue the management when we were checking in about the exchange rate!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Not sure why Lonely Planet chose this as an "our pick" for their most recent edition of the Costa Rica book. This place sucked! First, we were put in a cabin with faulty AC and tons of bugs...then we were grudgingly moved to a second cabin. The AC didn't work too great in the second place, either, but we discovered this too late and there was no chance of moving again. The location isn't super convenient to the town, the pool hadn't been cleaned in a while, the bar wasn't open when we were there. In sum, the whole place felt deserted and sketch. Way overpriced, as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Address: North Zone, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Cabanitas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.