We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wish we could see it during dry season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   23 Km West From la Fortuna Town, Located on the Base of the Arenal Volcano | Main road to Arenal National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place, wish we could see it during dry season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Pros: excellent grounds, many trails to explore, lots to do on property, food and drinks at the restaurant were a huge plus, breakfast buffet was our best breakfast on the trip, wildlife surrounds you, free morning tour was a nice introduction to the grounds, hot tub and pool were very relaxing, no shortage of adventure to be had here, great customer service at front (especially Carla).

Cons: Rain - not their fault but rainy season is as described - driving, consistent rain - it will be raining probably about 75% of the time (this was July 2014). Quite a ways from La Fortuna and road can to Arenal Lodge can be rough.

Bring very good rain jacket and extra shoes and also many changes of clothes. Also bring a flashlight for night walking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eluvity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

make no mistake, the lodge is isolated (we were the only one's who didn't get the rent your own car memo, but during our 3 night stay, we were hardly tempted to leave the enormous property. did the free morning tour with the lodge's guide, and were so happy that we hired him for a 4-7pm walk to the old lava flows to get both geological and biological satisfaction. unbelievable bird watching from everywhere on the property. comfortable, very nice rooms. esteban at the front desk is the master for helping you make the best plans while you're there

Room Tip: Smithsonian rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgg217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great place. We stayed in the Smithsonian rooms which were spacious and very comfortable. The whole place was clean and well organised, the staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced with great views of the volcano (weather dependent!) and wildlife from the deck. You can be as adventurous as you want as the grounds offer some great walks and the hike to the crater lake in Cerro Chatto is a healthy challenge. The free guided walks can be a bit hit or miss. Our guide was not a staff member and we had about 30 minutes of a sales pitch from him on his other freelance guiding activities that had nothing to do with the observatory. However, if you want to get close to nature whilst staying in a comfortable environment, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The rooms were spacious and clean. Nothing fancy but the view was awesome! We were fortunate to get in before it rained so we could see the volcano. After that it was not visible. We stayed one night and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The wildlife that you see from your room and on the deck is amazing. Loved listening to the animals at night. Definitely a place for nature lovers. I would recommend this place and I would stay again.

Room Tip: You want a room that faces the volcano. There are rooms that you need to go out on the balcony to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We didn't stay in the lodge, but the entire observatory area was beautiful. We took the trails to the hanging bridges and the waterfall and saw an anteater, monkeys, coatis, a cool walking stick, and plenty of birds. The forestry seen on the trails is unique. On one side of the trail is the rain forest while on the other you are surrounded by pine trees. We had a great day. This is also where half of our group began their hike to Cerro Chato. Unfortunately the volcano was covered in clouds the entire time but still worth it. Entrance fee is $8 per person.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lucerotcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We brought our kids this time and just as good as four years ago. We had continuous rain this time( how about an eight hour thunderstorm all night?)'but still got out and checked off every animal we wanted to see. Spent a lot of time in the hot tub and cold pool, too. Hiked up to Cherro Chato which was great but never saw the lake after a hard climb. Bring headlamps as we had lots of power outages. Food is so-so, but the kids loved it all!

Room Tip: Smithisonian rooms are great - by the pool. A bit of a walk to lodge if that is not your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed with two adults and two kids (8 and 10) in one of the Smithsonian rooms in June, 2014. We could not have been happier with the whole experience. If you're expecting a high-end luxury resort with marble baths, a mini-bar, and a five-star restaurant, you'll be disappointed. However, if you are expecting a well maintained, well-designed ecolodge with comfortable rooms, great views, and great wildlife, then this is your kind of place.

Beds were comfortable, and one entire wall of the room consisted of picture windows which looked out over a beautiful garden and a great view of the volcano. The room was very clean and well cared for, and we didn't have any problem with insects. Actually, we EXPECT insects in a rainforest ecolodge, so I was a bit surprised.

My wife and I are birdwatchers and general wildlife enthusiasts, and this place really delivered. We'd had over 25 bird species just from our patio (including both toucans, 3-4 hummingbirds, tanagers, etc.), and could see White-nosed Coatis and hear Howler Monkeys from there as well. The lodge restaurant has a great inside seating area and a deck, both of which have a panoramic view of the volcano. We saw three different kinds of monkeys, as well as an Ornate Hawk-Eagle, a Great Curassow, Montezuma Oropendolas, many hummers, etc. from the restaurant. The food (especially the breakfast) was good, but not great - but we didn't go there for the food.

The highlight for the kids was a 1.5 hours horseback ride around the property - quite the adventure for them, and the horses were appropriate for inexperience riders. The kids also loved the pool and hot tub, although the former was quite chilly. We'll definitely be back, and will probably try to bring the extended family.

Room Tip: Our room was a 10-15 minute walk through the gardens and a hanging bridge from the main lodge. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nighthawk2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 68 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,856 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,644 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa

Address: 23 Km West From la Fortuna Town, Located on the Base of the Arenal Volcano | Main road to Arenal National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 1.7 Miles from the majestic Arenal Volcano and with a spectacular view of Lake Arenal, the Arenal Observatory Lodge (AOL) offers guests the opportunity to DISCOVER, EXPLORE and RELAX. Located within the Arenal Conservation Area and surrounded by rainforests and nature, AOL sits on a 870 acres property, which consists of 400 acres of reforestation, 270 acres of natural forest and 200 acres of cultivated land. The hotel offers 48 comfortable rooms surrounded by gardens, the majority with a direct view of the volcano and/or the forest. The 7 miles of well-maintained trails for walking, horseback riding or biking running through the property provide good opportunities to observe a variety of flora and fauna. Approximately 400 species of birds live in the area making AOL a preferred destination for bird watchers. Activities at the hotel include hikes to the waterfall or to explore Cerro Chato (an extinct volcano with a small lake in the crater), horseback riding, bicycling through the trails, enjoying a refreshing swim in our pool, or simply relaxing with a massage in our SPA. The hotel is well located to serve as a base for a variety of excursions such as: Cano Negro Nature Refuge, hot springs, Venado Caves, Canopy Tours, Arenal Hanging Bridges, Fishing, White Water Rafting, Canyoning, Biking etc. It also serves as a very interesting stop before heading on to Monteverde Cloud Forest or to the beaches of the Pacific coast. Arenal Observatory Lodge is the perfect place for adventure lovers, families, and honeymooners. With its spectacular location, great service and friendly personnel you won't be disappointed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Observatory Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing