We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Lodge to your Saves list
Arenal Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam | Escazú, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing too special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at the JR suite, room 22, very rustic feel to the whole hotel. strong smell of wood, since the structure is built with wood. Toiletries were provided though we didn't use it, we've brought our own. Towels were clean and fresh. everything in the room was pretty old though. we didn't stay long at the hotel, mostly to eat breakfast/lunch and we'd head out and come back for dinner and then bed. The beds were pretty comfy, wouldn't say that it is luxurious, but it's good enough, the air-conditioning was good on humid days. It rained a lot and we had our own car, but to be honest, if you had no transportation of your own, it would be a challenge to get anywhere since there aren't many places nearby the lodge and the hotel rooms are 2miles away from the main gate (steep climb). The pool area and jacuzzi area gave a very nice view.

Room Tip: remember to close the windows and the doors at night to prevent the bugs from coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Alayna! Thanks for your review and for visiting us at Arenal Lodge. We're glad your stay was satisfactory and that the weather allowed you to enjoy the views from our pool and garden area. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    154
    71
    43
    32
See reviews for
140
192
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the arenal lodge for 3 nights in August 2014
We reserved a chalet, for 5 people 2 adults and 3 kids,
The room was spacious, 2 double beds and one sofa bed, very comfortable. The wall facing the volcano is glass and you can see a clear view of the volcano. Beautiful!!!!!!! Also the hotel is located on a hill in the jungle, driving to and from the hotel is an experience itself.
The room includes a kitchen w fridge.
The staff was super nice and and the price is a bargain for what you are getting.
The hotel restaurant is wonderful. prices very reasonable considering Costa Rica isn't a cheap country to travel. Breakfast is good, fresh.
Generally, we loved it, will defiantly recommend to friends and come back again in future


Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great! The room was clean and large enough for a family of four and the room had a superb view (when the clouds lifted). Balcony was lovely when it wasn't raining. Don't miss the tour with Miguel, it was very wet but so lovely and informative. They have a rainforest preserve on property, they should advertise the trails more, we didn't know it was there until we took the guided tour. The trails were really much nicer than the trails at the Observatory Lodge. Jessie at the tour desk is a wealth of information, take her advice if you need any suggestions! Stephanie the macaw is gorgeous and visited us on our balcony before we left today. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Costa Rica is a great place to visit, especially if you like "eco tourism." I recommend first time visitors consider staying at several places in order to get a good feel for this diverse country. The Arenal volcano area is definitely one of my favorite locations in the country.

Over the years, the area around the volcano and nearby La Fortuna have been significantly developed. Arenal Lodge, tucked away on a mountaintop away from the hustle-bustle, is a true gem among the many fine accommodations in the area. I've been there twice over the past 10 years, and continually look back with fondness of those times.

I have made it a point to investigate other hotels/resorts in the greater La Fortuna area while I have visited. And while you may find a few with more modern amenities, you will be hard pressed to find one that is more integrated with nature than Arenal Lodge.

I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a chalet each time. Highly recommended if your budget permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with an astonishing view. The "road" up from the main road is going straight up the mountain for 3 km and takes 10 minutes to drive. We stayed in a family suite, two bedroom and one living room. The room was great with new towel sculptures everyday done by the maids. We had a lot of rain so no volcano for us during our 4 nights. The food was good and service perfect. The staff was supporting and friendly. We enjoyed are days at the hotel. For activities as rappelling and rafting it's a bit far away but for us it was ok. We ca recommend this hotel to you.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you are looking for a big 5 star hotel, this isn't it. This hotel has beautiful views to relax and enjoy nature. There is a charm to this place with the wooden rooms, nature all around and super friendly staff. It is close to the volcano Arenal but away from the town LA Fortuna. It is perfect for those wanting solitude and nature.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The service was wonderful, and the view of the volcano was great. It rained a lot when we went so we only saw the volcano completely on our last day of our 5 night stay. The food was fantastic, and I suggest getting the Club sandwich that my family really liked. I also suggest that you take tours with Miguel rain or shine because either way my whole family had a lot of fun, and still saw a lot of wild life that we would not have seen without Miguel. I also suggest to take a horse back riding tour. It is very cheap, and even though I have never horse back rided before, it was very easy. It's a bumpy rode to it, but it is worth the ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam | Escazú, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is it's own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzi's, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game-room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access.Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.