We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Lodge to your Saves list
Arenal Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Rainforest Tour!
NJ
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Getaway Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great place to spend some quiet time and enjoy nature at its best. Not easy to reach, right now the bridge that takes you to the Lodge is down but the Lodge accommodates you by picking you up where the bridge collapsed. Rooms are great, food is good and the staff is outstanding. Highly recommend it. The rooms by the reception level will be the best in case of rain. Amazing views of the volcano.

Room Tip: The rooms at the reception and restaurant area are the best for when it rains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge.
We are working hard to build the new bridge, which will be ready in the next day or two.
In the meanwhile we are happy to pick you up and take you to the lodge.
Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you back sometime soon!

Your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    170
    83
    47
    35
See reviews for
158
214
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winter in FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Arenal Lodge primarily because of the breathtaking views of Arenal from the pool and restaurant area. Our family had two adjoining rooms surrounded by gorgeous gardens. An easy walking path behind the rooms gave us our first taste of the flora and even some fauna we would see during our stay. One pouring evening we even had room service deliver our dinner with no problem. And on a better night, our grandsons (11 and 14) enjoyed their meal seated at the bar in the pool.
Our only reservation is that taxis to town and to the National Park were very pricey:$10 to town and $30 to park entrance) given the relatively short distance from the hotel..

Room Tip: Ask for proximity to the restaurant/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We thank you very much for your nice comments!
Definitely, the views from Arenal Lodge are the best in the area! Due to our rmagnificent location you are able to experience volcano and lake views like no one else!!
We are located way out of the crowd, thats why a taxi will be a little more than the rest of the places, but this is what makes us special!!
Thanks again your friends at Arenal Lodge!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Costa Rica this summer (August 6-14), and stayed at the Arenal Lodge for three nights. We had a chalet room, on the upper floor, and were blown away by the magnificent view. The room was huge, had two large beds (one king, one queen/full), and even had a couch with a pull-out bed. There was a small kitchen area with a microwave, mini-fridge, and sink. The bathroom had a wonderful tiled shower, but no bath tub, which is fine by me.

The lodge itself is well-appointed and filled with gorgeous hand-carved wooden furniture and fixtures. There is a restaurant and a bar, and Arturro the bartender/server was AMAZING. We loved to talk to him about the lodge, local wildlife, and life in Costa Rica in general. The view from the lodge is gorgeous, with untouched forest spread out in front of you like a movie. The volcano is the star of the view, and was visible almost every day (except one very cloudy one).

The infinity pool is small, but does the trick - you can cool off and sip your beer while taking in the incredible view. Another activity we loved was going horseback riding, free of charge, on the vast property. Remember to tip your guide - he is a wealth of information!

I recommend paying more for the Chalet room, but know that it is UP A HILL. My husband and I joked that everything in Costa Rica is up a hill, and this was our introduction to the hilly climate. Bring your walking shoes and sense of adventure.

Also, we booked Canyoneering through Jessie at the trip desk, and it was quite possibly the best adventure we have ever taken on a vacation. Check out "La Roca Canyoneering Adventure" here on Trip Advisor for my review (hint: it's glowing!).

Overall, I recommend this hotel with a glowing YES! Be ready for an adventure, and don't expect beds and linens from the Four Seasons... just bring your good attitude!

Room Tip: Chalet rooms offer the best views in all of Arenal - but be ready to hike up the hill every time to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good afternoon dear friends!!

We thank you for stopping by and leaving your kind comments, we feel highly motivated that you enjoyed your stay here so much and we thank you again for your visit.
We feel your comments are the best compensation we can get for a job well done!!
Thank you again ,

Your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our room at Arenal was one of the nicest so far in our week in Costa Rica. We had a Junior Suite for a discounted price - I was quoted the official rate but after I asked if there was a cheaper option I offered a price that was around $30USD cheaper so it was a bargain. (This is showing up without a reservation in the low season)

The room was large and had a deck, two double beds and a table which is nice for using my laptop. Everything was wooden so it had a very mountain lodge feel to it. Shower was hot but you have to wait about 10 minutes for it to warm. We had a swim in the infinity pool which was lovely and had a excellent view of the volcano but it was a bit chilly (You can get towels from reception).

It started raining really hard in the evening so it was exciting listening to the sound of the rain (it does get VERY loud sometimes). Don't leave anything out on the deck over night, we left some clothes out and it was damp by morning, even through the roof extended well past the deck.
We had dinner at the hotel, not the cheapest but reasonable for hotel prices. The steak is really good. There is also a decent gym on site with the standard cardio machines as well as free weights and one or two weights machines.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Buenas tardes amigos

Thank you for leaving your comments, they are of great motivation for us to keep doing a good job.
Thats the idea when you travel, have a good time, in a charming place with a nice atmosphere and close to nature, thats what we are!!
Thanks again for your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

You're high on the mountains with a great view of the volcano and surrounding fauna. Secluded but close to attractions like Tabacon Spa and Lake Arenal. The food was excellent and breakfast is included with the room. Wi-Fi available but is slow. Pool is rather small and two jacuzzis are available outside. Friendly and attentive staff and service is good.

Room Tip: Its best to get a 4x4 vehicle if you drive anywhere in Costa Rica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Gracias amigos for your comments!!
We are happy to learn that you had a great time while staying with us. One of the main advantages of staying in Arenal Lodge s that you are far away from it all but yet close enough to take a few minutes and get there!!
Muchas gracias for your visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be away from it all in the splendor of a lush rainforest of C.R. With views of the volcano, this is a tremendous value.

The junior suites are all natural wood. open air, large porched oasis. The full suites looked cool up higher in a ridge but you might have a neighbor above or below you. Recommend these two room levels as the others don't offer the space, porch or views.

Beautiful, safe nature paths. Free horseback riding (contact ahead to schedule as schedule is limited). Also, the locals will tell you where to experience the hot springs for free with them about 5 km. toward Fortuna (a highlight for us and preferred over the pay-for tourist version if you enjoy hanging with welcoming folks). Paid for a river rafting trip that was another highlight if you're adventurous.

It rains a lot there but temps were in the 70's-80's when we were there and mostly rained at night. Clouds often don't allow full view of volcano but trips offered to it and all around the area for a fee. The symphony of frogs and whatever else is out there by night is wonderous! Exotic birds and butterflies are everywhere. Flora and fauna are unlike anything we've experienced anywhere. No bug bites in the daytime either, but you might wanna spray up in case.

You're not going to get 5-star pampering but you will get to experience Mother Nature at her finest at a great value The staff was genuinely kind and gracious, but they are naturally laid back. All part of the beauty.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We thank you very much for your kind comments, definitely Arenal Lodge is the place to experience wonderful views of the volcano and llake and and live immersed in nature as close as you can, either by hiking our trails or by taking our horsebackriding tour.
Thank you for letting us know you had a great time, it makes our day knowing that people left the lodge having enjoyed themselves by having a good time while staying here!!

Your friends in Arenal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family loved this place. It has such a rustic charm and you really feel like you are getting "our there." It is quite the remote drive but worth it. The staff is super friendly and attentive. The free guided rain forest tour with Miguel was AWESOME! It was probably the best tour we did the whole week and it was included in our hotel stay (of course we tipped him well, as he deserved it!). We could see arenal volcano from our balcony. We saw vipers, monkeys, frogs, butterflies, gorgeous birds...it was everything you expect from a trip to the Costa Rican rain forest. LOVED IT! If you aren't afraid of the drive, it will be the destination of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suites for a view...don't go all the way to this remote location and get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Buenas tardes amigos!!

We are very happy to learn that you had a great time at Arenal Lodge, especially with your kids, as this is a very familiar place.
Thank you for letting us know as this is the "fuel" that we need to keep doing our best so that people like you leave this place happy and wanting to come back.
All the best, your friends in Arenal!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.