We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Lodge to your Saves list
Arenal Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam | Escazú, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nashville, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place has beautiful landscaping, acres of rain forest to roam, horses to ride, an expert guide to lead you on a journey of discovery, spotless and lovely rooms, a gorgeous lobby, restaurant and bar with miles of windows looking over the amazing gardens complete with a pool and jacuzzi, helpful and friendly staff, an absolutely incredible view of the Arenal volcano...with a nice breakfast included. This place is out of the way ( which I found perfect) and at the end of a long,bumpy curvy road (well worth it). The food is decent but not spectacular by any means. If you aren't planning on being out running around, I would suggest bringing some snacks and drinks along. And be sure to meet the resident Macaw, Stephanie.

Room Tip: While more costly (but still reasonable),the chalets are beautiful and offer stunning views of both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Buenosdias

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Arenal Lodge. Its of great motivation for a big team of people working here to learn that you had a good time while staying with us.
Hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    145
    71
    42
    29
See reviews for
136
183
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our favorite hotel during our trip to Costa Rica. The view from our room(number 7) was fantastic. The food at the restaurant was good and well priced. Miguel is an excellent and knowledgable tour guide, who obviously loves his job. The best part of the stay was the staff, who went above and beyond, and spoke good English. My friend broke her ankle on our trip, and it was well past midnight when we ruptured from the hospital, with no wheelchair or crutches. The nighttime security guys offered to help us carry her to our room. After asking several times if there was anything else they could do, they went into the kitchen ( which had been closed for a few hours) and made us dinner. My only complaint would be that the hot tubs aren't hot ( I found this at every hotel we stayed at) the staff tells you upon check in to give them 20 minutes to turn the tubs on before you go in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hola amigos,

Gracias for your nice comments, we really appreciate you letting us know details of your stay hjere. We were very tolearn about the broken ankle hoipe you are doing good now. The least we could do for you was to have a nice warm meal when you arrived from the doctor. If you are back to Costa Rica please como visit us again so you can see and do the other things you couldnt because of your ankle.
Warm regards hoping all is good now, your friends in Arenal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am up for adventure, and the ride up the mountain to get to the Lodge, is a bumpy adventure. We didn't mind but some folks may. Our room had a fantastic view of the volcano and we were lucky enough to get great views the whole time. The rooms had a nice deck from where to enjoy it. However the walls were very thin and we could hear every conversation and door slam from our neighbors. The waiters were very nice and food was ok. The horseback ride could have been more riding and less talking. We did the nature walk and it was easy to find and enjoy on our own. The lady who booked tours was very friendly and helpful. Overall, I loved the area and the views but they need to find solution to thin walls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good afternoon dear friends,

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your comments, we take guests comments very seriously and use them for learning what we do right and what can be done better in order to have happy returning guests.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge and would love to see you come back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Arenal lodge conjures images of Jurassic Park. The restaurant is expansive, with excellent open air views of the grounds and Arenal. Rooms are large, clean, with good water pressure and views. The grounds are very pleasant, with hot springs to enjoy

Room Tip: Must have a view of Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you much for stopping and leaving your comments, we are glad that you had a great time while staying at Arenal Lodge, it means we are doing our homework!
This motivates us even more to keep doing things better so more people can have a good time and enjoy our fantastic lodge.
A big hug from your friends in Arenal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for our first 3 nights in Costa Rica. The lodge is located on a 2000 acre property, that is part farm and part nature preserve. All of the staff were extremely friendly and made you feel right at home. We stayed in the junior suites. The room was very large, with 2 double beds. The walls are covered in dark wood paneling and there are only 2 lamps which made the room very dark. The upside is that one wall was all windows and a door that lead to a big porch with andarandak chairs which looked over the beautiful gardens and pastures with a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano! We visited in August and there was a downpour every night. It was great sitting on the deck enjoying the jungle sounds and the rain pounding on the roof.

Included in the room fee is a great nature hike with the Miguel, the resident naturalist, through the rainforest. He is quite knowledgeable about all of the flora and fauna, and has great personal stories. He also was our guide on the horseback ride that was also included.

They have a nice bar and restaurant. The wait staff are really friendly and eager to please. The included breakfast was very good, it is not a buffet.

There is a desk in the lobby with a representative that can book you for all manors of excursions where they pick you up at the door. We did the whitewater rafting, and it was a blast. The day included a great lunch at a local farm.

If you are looking for a luxury room, the junior suites are not for you. If you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience, then you should stay there. One note, the driveway to the place is all uphill on a mile long on a bumpy driveway. The nearest grocery is a 20 minute drive, so stock up before you get there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Buenos dias amigos!!

Thank you for leaving your kind comments, we are glad that you had a good time.
Definitely, Arenal Lodge is out of the way and far from the crowd of being in downtown La Fortuna, making our lodge a special place to comune with nature as close as you can.
Thanks to our chef de cuisine, our restaurant serves delicious homemade meals prepared with the best organic and natural ingredients found on the market today.
Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very peaceful and quite place with outstanding views. Food and drinks are fresh. Services are perfect. Personal is very friendly and helpful. We were in Juniors rooms and rooms were very big and nice with big balcony. We stayed for 3 days and I already dream to come back and stay there for a week at least. We rented a car and were driving around. Coming back at evening and having a good rest was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Junior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. We feel motivated as we like to know when we do our job right.
Please come back soon so you can experience the Arenal Lodge and its surroundings again!!
Your friends,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

During my recent 8 day stay, this Lodge was the first place we stayed. I enjoyed my time there, the mood, rooms, people were all great. It was also close to many of the excursions we went on. If you want actual rest and relaxation, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear friend,

We must say that we are very happy for your review, especially for having stayed 8 days.
Like you point out, this a perfect place for rest and relaxation, but also for adventure tours and outdoor activities, since there are beautiful hiking trails in the property as well as a butterfly garden and horsebackriding tours. If you prefer, our tour desk will find you a tailor made tour for and your family, as there are countless options for everyone to enjoy!!!
Thank you again and hope to see you back soon!!

your friends in Arenal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam | Escazú, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is it's own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzi's, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game-room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access.Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;