We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Lodge to your Saves list
Arenal Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, as others have written, the views from the lodge are fabulous, and the grounds are lovely, but, overall, our stay was less than satisfactory. Our first experience after arriving at the lodge's gate was driving down a long, winding road at night. We were terrified, as we often could not see what was ahead. NEVER arrive at night! My husband and I spent three nights in a junior suite. Our toilet did not flush properly, and our safe was broken. The room was supposed to have a hair dryer but did not, and it took a day to finally get one. The staff was friendly and helpful, but it took time to get everything as it should have been; the toilet never was fixed properly. As one reviewer said, the room was quite dated, and the supplies were not the best--a few threadbare towels.The food was mediocre, at best, and pricy. I will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    185
    89
    49
    37
See reviews for
175
234
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a chalet room with a great view of the volcano. Being away from the hub bub of activity suited us just fine. Visiting with a blue and gold Macaw right outside out hotel room was great. The road to the hotel was fun during the day but a little dicey at night. The pool and hot tubs overlooking the volcano were tough to beat. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys unique lodging experiences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Best view of Arenal volcano, friendly staff..adequate breakfast. We were traveling with our 2 kids, ages 7 and 9 and stayed at the chalet for 3 nights, for better view and more space. But the room was very dated, dark, and not at all convenient for a longer stay. I wish the management could spruce these rooms up some...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Arenal for only one night (not sufficient). The Lodge was a great place to stay. Staff are super friendly; the restaurant is very good, with excellent wines. For hotels guests, breakfast is included. Trekkers and day hikers were "loading up." The dining room opens up onto wonderful gardens that were filled with gorgeous species of birds and plants. Fabulous way to start the day.

The Arenal Lodge is about one minute by car (after you've descended the infamous, rocky road between the Lodge and the main road towards La Fortuna) to the "hanging bridges" tourist walk. It's worth doing the 90 min or so walk for the wildlife.

My husband had a massage at the small spa -- he deemed it "good" but US$80/one hour is pretty high-priced for that part of Costa Rica.

Also: the front desk staff were very helpful. A young man (sorry I don't have his name!) suggested that we stop at a soda for home-made Costa Rican food on our way back to Guanacaste/Playa Hermosa. We found this place, by a footbridge, and indeed, the "lady of the house" prepared a massive spread -- on the spot -- for the 5 of us. By the way: she asked for US $40 and nearly exploded with joy when we handed her a $50 bill. We had enough food for dinner, too - she went up the road and found plastic dishes and packed up the massive amount of leftovers. Outstanding -- thanks to the man at the reception at Arenal Lodge.

Room Tip: Get chalet rooms if you want terrific view of the volcano. These are the premium priced rooms. The f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel had beautiful views of the lake and volcano. There was a nice hiking trail behind the hotel where we saw some monkeys in the trees. The lodge is quiet and secluded. If you want to be in a "down town" area, this is probably not the place for you. The driveway is long and steep, but the tour van and transportation shuttle were able to find us. I'm sure a taxi would be available to take you to down town La Fortuna. One review made reference to the rooms being outdated. The rooms may be a little outdated but they were clean, everything worked accordingly, the views were beautiful, and the price was extremely economical. The restaurant was excellent. Staff were very nice and helpful including the tour representatives in the lobby. As far as bug references in past reviews, you are in the middle of a rainforest, there will be some bugs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the chalets at the top of the property with a great view of both the volcano & lake. We only stayed one night & had dinner that night & breakfast the next morning. Service was fine and staff very helpful. Got to watch "Francsico" the coati at breakfast. The room had a coffee maker but no coffee! We even had an anteater come ambling by in the morning.

Room Tip: ask for a chalet. It may cost a little more but if it isn't foggy or raining, you have a million...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Even though I knew about the road going up from the gate to the hotel, we could never have imagined how it felt to climb up through all the lush greenery in the dark until, at what seemed the furthest outpost in this newly encountereded country - we were relieved to finally see lights, and the sign, "You made it!" Its remoteness makes Arenal Lodge an adventure, and its hospitality staff makes it a welcoming comfortable place to relax. My wife and I stayed three nights in January, and appreciated the worn-in tropical feel of our room just a few feet away from birds and flowers and tayras (look 'em up) in the yard, and from the vista out toward Volcan Arenal. Watching the clouds pass over the now-dormant volcano from our patio was reminiscent of staring languidly at a lava lamp. We agree with other reviewers that the nature walk on the huge forested grounds of the hotel with Miguel, included in the room price, was wonderfully low-key, interesting and more personally satisfying than most tours we have been on. And it was great to have Jesenia of Jacamar Tours on-site to help us line up some great activities off-site during our stay. The breakfasts, the sea bass and ceviches at lunch, and the pina coladas any time of day were delicious. The whole experience was an enjoyable escape from winter in Wisconsin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
7.8 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
5.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.