We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Lodge to your Saves list
Arenal Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam | Escazú, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views of volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel had beautiful views of the lake and volcano. There was a nice hiking trail behind the hotel where we saw some monkeys in the trees. The lodge is quiet and secluded. If you want to be in a "down town" area, this is probably not the place for you. The driveway is long and steep, but the tour van and transportation shuttle were able to find us. I'm sure a taxi would be available to take you to down town La Fortuna. One review made reference to the rooms being outdated. The rooms may be a little outdated but they were clean, everything worked accordingly, the views were beautiful, and the price was extremely economical. The restaurant was excellent. Staff were very nice and helpful including the tour representatives in the lobby. As far as bug references in past reviews, you are in the middle of a rainforest, there will be some bugs. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    154
    71
    43
    32
See reviews for
140
192
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in one of the chalets at the top of the property with a great view of both the volcano & lake. We only stayed one night & had dinner that night & breakfast the next morning. Service was fine and staff very helpful. Got to watch "Francsico" the coati at breakfast. The room had a coffee maker but no coffee! We even had an anteater come ambling by in the morning.

Room Tip: ask for a chalet. It may cost a little more but if it isn't foggy or raining, you have a million...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Even though I knew about the road going up from the gate to the hotel, we could never have imagined how it felt to climb up through all the lush greenery in the dark until, at what seemed the furthest outpost in this newly encountereded country - we were relieved to finally see lights, and the sign, "You made it!" Its remoteness makes Arenal Lodge an adventure, and its hospitality staff makes it a welcoming comfortable place to relax. My wife and I stayed three nights in January, and appreciated the worn-in tropical feel of our room just a few feet away from birds and flowers and tayras (look 'em up) in the yard, and from the vista out toward Volcan Arenal. Watching the clouds pass over the now-dormant volcano from our patio was reminiscent of staring languidly at a lava lamp. We agree with other reviewers that the nature walk on the huge forested grounds of the hotel with Miguel, included in the room price, was wonderfully low-key, interesting and more personally satisfying than most tours we have been on. And it was great to have Jesenia of Jacamar Tours on-site to help us line up some great activities off-site during our stay. The breakfasts, the sea bass and ceviches at lunch, and the pina coladas any time of day were delicious. The whole experience was an enjoyable escape from winter in Wisconsin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

So much to see and do all around Arenal Lodge and the staff are always so helpful and friendly. We have stayed many times but this time due to business and a very short trip we only drove up for the day. We were still greeted and graciously shown around the grounds even though we admitted we just stopped by and were not able to stay. Miguel gave a a few tips on places to visit on the grounds helped us glimpse a wild toucan in an apple tree right in the courtyard. The drive up the steep and winding mossy road is definitely an adventure but it is so worth the trouble. Prices are good and the resturant is great. The little gift shop has some nice photos and guide books as well as local artwork.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been driving by the sign advertising this hotel every time I've been to La Fortuna (many times over the years). A friend that booked a tour with 3 nights at the Arenal Lodge, so I wanted to spend some time with him and his significant other. So, we booked two nights at the lodge. On the way up the hill we were greeted by at least a group of 15 Coatimundis digging in the leaves for their next meal. I knew right then this would be a great trip. Well, this was right up my alley, I love nature and animals. When we got to the top I found the reception area to be charming. That night the dinning was just great with good food that filled me up. The next morning I was ready to hit the trail with a free guided tour. Well the tour blew me away. Our guide Manuel Jiminez explained all the detail with of the relationship by the vegetation, the insects, the animals and man. It was fascinating, best guide I ever had, he had my attention 100% of the time. The stay at Arenal Lodge will have many memories and I'll be back for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembury
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is superbly situated for walking, bird watching and other outdoor activities. The views are incredible. The staff are friendly and the food excellent. There is a good wifi and a small shop for snacks and souvenirs.

Room Tip: You need to be near the observatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We loved our staying here. Arenal Lodge is a magic and beautiful place. You drive to the top of the hill through the forest on a paved road and you feel like being in the fairy tale story. The view from the top is breathtaking. The lodge is in the middle of 1000 hectares of land and no other building is around. You are facing the majestic volcano Arenal. Staff at the resort was extremely nice and polite. We got a glass of champagne to welcome us. One night coming back from hot springs…. we were very hungry but the kitchen was already closed. They offered us to make a sandwich with no hesitation.
The lodge is a wood build construction having elegant colonial style. Rooms have French windows, large balcony with rocking chairs and a beautiful view to the luxury garden full of flowers and the Volcano. Our room was a junior suite. The standard rooms, didn’t have the view. We loved our tours with hotel guide Miguel. We went with him on horse back riding and hiking in the forest. He is an amazing person, passionate by his work and knowledgeable about the nature. We saw more wildlife here than in Cloud forest in Monteverde. We saw, learned and enjoyed our time with you Miguel. We had other tour guides during our trip, before and after meeting you, but you touched our hearts and made our memory unforgettable. Thank you Miguel!
If one would like to go hiking to the Volcano there are few centers you can start from. This time we went without guide. The information we found about volcano on the Internet was enough to us. The place is safe and you are not allowed to hike very high. It’s rather a short trail.
The activity to experience is a hot spring thermal station. There are many centers and for all budgets. We chose one witch was small with more privacy - Eco-Termales Hot Springs. We had a blast. We went also to visit the Baldi Hot Springs Centre and it was too big and too commercial.
We experienced also the laundry service in Fortuna. The way it works: You bring your laundry; the price is based on the weight + detergent and softener for dryer. There is an employee, who does everything. You just come back 1h later and you get fresh, perfumed and nicely folded clothes. The place was very clean and their machines where all new. We paid 12$ for 2 medium size bags.

Room Tip: junior suite with the view on Volcano Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam | Escazú, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is it's own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzi's, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game-room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access.Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.