We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empanandas are to DIE for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rain Forest

Cafe Rain Forest
125 metros sur del parque, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
24797239
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Empanandas are to DIE for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was our best dining experience while in La Fortuna. My kids loved the smoothies and the coffee drinks were amazing. So close to the cooking that you can see all the ladies behind the counter fast at work

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    88
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is awesome... A must if you are at Arenal. Humberto the owner was great. The staff spoke great English. The empanadas were incredible as well as the coffee and deserts. It's tricky to find but don't give up its worth it. It's on a side street at the end of the park opposite to the church... South side.... Oh yeah, plenty of food for not a lot of cash.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Joisee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worth the hunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went to Rain Forest cafe for lunch, based on advise from other travelers in the area. Had a delicious lunch in the restaurant. Staff was attentive, and food well prepared, and the environment very enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a GREAT dinner at cafe rain forest! The cafe is peaceful and relaxing, having several tables. Our food was delicious and plentiful. We also LOVED the coffee drinks! The service was outstanding. We will be back!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor was right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to Cafe Rain Forest based upon reviews in TripAdvisor. They were right! It's a very small place and we were there for breakfast. We had delicious fresh squeezed orange juice. We both had coffee drinks that were finished off with barista flair. They were very, very good. While my husband had a traditional American style breakfast, I had the beef empanada with guacamole on the side. It was possibly my favorite meal of the entire trip! Great flavor, tender beef. Service was good, too. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rain Forest also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Cafe Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rain Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.