We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novillito's Steak House

Novillito's Steak House
Highway 142 | 1 Mile West of the Downtown la Fortuna, Way to the Arenal Volcano, Wood Building Right Site, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
+506 2479 8606
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Family Fare, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We had diner here on our second night in La Fortuna. Restaurant is in downtown. The place is not fancy looking ( almost looks run down). But the food was incredible. I ordered the whole tilapia and my husband had the pepper steak . Everything was fresh, well seasoned and authentic. It is hard to find authentic Costa Rican dishes around tourist areas but this place really delivers. Definitely, visit this place for an authentic Costa Rican meal. You will find tons of locals dinning as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    72
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
191 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice Steaks and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It doesn't look like much from the outside but this open air restaurant is well worth eating at. Located on the northwestern edge of town, it serves up good quality steaks. I wouldn't go so far as saying it was one of the best steaks I've ever had but it was still quite good. Not inexpensive but fairly priced. Very relaxed, laid back place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great food! Best local food we had here! Service was top notch! Loved this place! This is a must while you are in La Fortuna! We had tilapia served whole, and chicharron! Both were great! Must stop here if you can! You won't regret it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great friendly service, excellent english, fresh beef specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stopped in, and had the tenderloin special for that day. We were there in low season but would expect this place could get crowded during high season. Everything as advertised, don't be afraid to ask for substitutions or variations. They were very accommodating for us and the table next to us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great food and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I live in New York City and dine out all the time, eating some of the best food in the world. My boyfriend and I decided to give Novillito's a try while vacationing in Costa Rica since it was rated #1 in the La Fortuna area on Tripadvisor and we are glad we did. I had the non fat sirloin - medium rare, the steak was cooked to perfection...probably one of the best steaks I have eaten in a long time. My boyfriend had the filet w/ pepper sauce and also really enjoyed his meal. The service was amazing... casual vibe and great place to try local flavors. I highly recommend eating here. Our waiter, Walter, was the best - such a friendly restaurant and country. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novillito's Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Novillito's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novillito's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.