We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to eat!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novillito's Steak House

Novillito's Steak House
Highway 142 | 1 Mile West of the Downtown la Fortuna, Way to the Arenal Volcano, Wood Building Right Site, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
+506 2479 8606
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Costa Rican, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to eat!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is small and quant and just what we were looking for!!!! An amazing dinner!!!!! We had something off the menu- steak, sea bass, pork and chicken for 2 with beans and rice, tortillas, uka root (so good u must try it!), and a potato with garlic butter! It was a feast and only $36 for 2 people to eat all that food and 2 soft drinks!!! Tip well because they are such nice people and its a family owned business!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    62
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice place outside of La Fortuna. The meat is very nice and the portions are just right, not too big.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Local feel, open air steak house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Not cheap but delicious, lots of variety and very tasty, well cooked steaks. Recommend for fun feel and good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We decided to try Novillito's based on other reviews and we weren't disappointed at all. When we walked in there was only 1 other couple there so we decided to take a seat at the bar, which happens to be the best seat in the house. You're so close to the cooking / kitchen and it's amazing to watch the cook do her work. This is most definitely a home-cooking type of atmosphere. The mother is the cook, dad portions the meats and makes the chicharrones and the daughter helps waitress while the son helps in the kitchen. We tried the ceviche and can honestly say it's the best we've ever had. Super fresh and extra tasty! We also tried the half order of the chifrijo based on the recommendation of the chef. We weren't disappointed and this is truly an authentic dish. It's a mixture of rice, beans, chicharrones, pico de gallo and other great tasting, fresh ingredients. For dinner, we enjoyed the Novillito specialty. It's a sirloin steak seasoned and seared to perfection. The sides were extraordinary as well. If you can find any room in your stomach afterwards, you must try their pineapple dessert! It's a flambe'd pineapple with rum, caramel, orange juice and triple sec. It's sweet, but so well prepared. Don't let the outside appearance fool you, this is a great little hidden gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We just got a great novillito!
The steak was perfectly grilled.
All the side dishes were also amazing.
We really loved the atmosphere and kindness of the personnel. Tomorrow we're going back!!!
Thanks a lot!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novillito's Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Novillito's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novillito's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.