We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn good burittos! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delicatessen

Delicatessen
Z13 La Fortuna Rd | 2 Km west from the Catholic Church on the road to the valcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 27001, Costa Rica
+506 2479 7038
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Argentinean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Argentinian, Mexican , Italian , Costa Rican food at really good prices. A great Service "English spoken".
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Damn good burittos! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on tripadvisor, went once for a meal- it was great! Buritto was so huge that I ate half of it (ok, I'm a girl and drank the whole banana shake beforehand). Was a costarican buritto, with rice inside as well, damn good!
They even sold me bananas from their garden!
I met the dog as well :)
The waiter was very nice, just perfect service. Could also pay in dollars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie S, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Our burritos are Big! and hardly ever someone finishes it all! but your right you drinked a shake before so you finished very full!! :) see you next time your in costa rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    17
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solid breakfast, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We went here for breakfast one day and left quite satisfied. Even though it was a little pricier than I was expecting, my desayuno tipico came with generous portions of fruit, eggs, bacon, gallo pinto, and coffee. My boyfriend ordered the breakfast burrito which looked very satisfying. The staff was very friendly as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie S, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We always love comments like this, because our portions are large! doesnt matter if breakfast, lunch, or dinner, our guests always get what they ask for and thats a full tummy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, WI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The food was great, the service was fast, and the staff were bilingual and very accomodating. I ordered the empanadas and I loved them! I would definitely recommend this place for an excellent experience in La Fortuna.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie S, Owner at Delicatessen, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment and for recomending people to our restaurant! see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a good choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The food was great. I had the steak and my wide had the empanadas, both of which were filling and prefectly cooked. I would visit again and recommend that others do also. We will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Propietario at Delicatessen, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
thanks you so much you guys for the coment we are happy to read that you had a wonderful experience with us remember to stop by you are ever coming back to La Fortuna... warm hugs from the Delicatessen family. ☮
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very good food, and delicious when you want a break from the tico food. My husband and I both had lasagna and it was very good and homemade.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artupa1905, Propietario at Delicatessen, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
hello thanks a lot guys, for us is so good to hear a good review about our place. it will be super high help for us, we hope to have the opportunity to meet you again some time thanks Johnny ☮
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicatessen also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delicatessen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.